We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decepção”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

O único ponto positivo foi a educação de todo o staff do hotel, desde o pessoal da recepção aos garçons, educados e prestativos. Fora essa questão, o hotel não apresentava condições à altura da fama. Quarto com alta umidade, cama desconfortável e banheiro aquém do nível divulgado. O excesso de mosquitos surpreendeu, durante a noite, o que nos dificultava dormir. Um dos pontos mais chocantes foi verificar que não havia camarões, nem caranguejos, em um hotel de praia do Nordeste brasileiro. Ademais, o café da manhã trazia alimentos com aspecto de terem sido resgatados do dia anterior, pães com aspecto de umidade ("molhados") e bolos com cobertura para disfarçar. Me desculpem, mas a gerência deve melhorar muito todos os aspectos para poder colocar esse hotel em um nível turisticamente aceitável.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boaventura83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Public Relations Manager at Karapitangui Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Caro hóspede,

Lamentamos que tenha se decepcionado com o nosso hotel - 74% dos hóspedes têm as suas expectativas atendidas e 8% vão além da expectativa, segundo pesquisas internas.
Em relação ao quarto, precisaríamos saber o nome do mesmo para averiguar o ocorrido, porque, qualquer solicitação feita por um cliente é imediatamente atendida. Quanto aos mosquitos, somos um hotel de praia, em plena Mata Atlântica e, a única forma que temos de amenizar o problema é oferecer repelente, o que, na maioria dos casos, é sanado.
O nosso cardápio vem passando por uma reformulação, mas, infelizmente, não pretendemos incluir carangueijo, por questões de logística.
No que se refere ao café da manhã, ficaremos mais atentos. Se houvesse procurado o gerente, certamente iríamos solucionar a questão na mesma hora.
Resta-nos agradecer sua hospedagem em nosso Hotel e somos gratos pelas críticas construtivas, que, com certeza, servirá de mais atenção da nossa parte, a fim de proporcionar a nossos hóspedes uma melhor estada .
Reiteramos nossas desculpas pelas falhas ocorridas.
Sua opinião é muito importante.
Esperamos contar com seu regresso ao Karapitangui, o mais breve possível.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

We found this particular hotel in morro to be excellent. we decided to fly in from the private airfield located next to the main airport. the flight was just 20 mins. we had amazing views of the island from the small 8 seater and our hotel looked amazing from that height. upon our arrival we were greeted by staff with big smiles which instantly put us in a relaxed state of mind. our room was good and spacious with nice design touches. also was very clean which obviously is of paramount importance. the the food and bar were great with an extensive menu.the pool was great to hangout at and mingle with some of the other guests. the landscaping was excellent as well all adding to that sense of being some where special. we found the location to be ideal rather than a hindrance as morro can be a bit rowdy at times and not once did we feel disturbed in any way. if you like a certain level of sophistication without the exorbitant prices then this place is ideal.

trevor trotman

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevor481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The really big downside about this hotel is the location. I would recommend the hotel only if you are willing to stay the whole time at the hotel and at the beach in front of it (which is pretty nice). However, most visitors will be interested on going frequently to the beautiful town of Morro de São Paulo.
It is located 30 minutes away from the town and the road is horrible – the van can’t go over 15 mph because of the poor condition of the road! We ended up doing the round trip once or twice per day, since there aren’t any restaurants and no activity whatsoever around the hotel.
The hotel's infrastructure and service were pretty good. The pool is amazing it was never overcrowded, even though the hotel was fully booked. The rooms were OK, although we could almost hear the conversations of our neighbors.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MateoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Public Relations Manager at Karapitangui Praia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you. As you said is not a horrible location. Must of our guests call it “paradise”. If you want an exclusive beach, relax and a 100% privacy Karapitangui Hotel is the right place for you. Besides that, as you said, we take our guest more then 5 times a day to the Village, but unfortunately the road is a city hall issue.
Any way, thank you very much and we will be very happy to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This year, I went to Karapitangui Hotel on Valentine´s Day and it was great. The staff are friendly (we got roses, chocolates and a special dinner), the hotel is beautiful and there were many options for leisure. It was unforgettable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The Karapitangui is located in Praia do Encanto, not in Quarta praia(4th beach) as advertised. In fact it is about 2km from the end of Quarta praia and nearly 6km from the beginning, where the main attractions –piscinas naturais(natural swimming pools)- are. Praia do Encanto is an incredible place, enormous, quiet and filled with coconut trees, ideal for walking or just relaxing. The landscape is almost unreal. It is not very good for bathing or swimming, however, because water has no depth and you´ll have to walk into the sea for a while until water reaches your knees. The hotel is 8km out of town, which take 20-30min by car due to bad road condition. They provide a complimentary shuttle service –an old, gas-smelling VW minivan- every two hours or so. If you miss the minivan or just don´t want to wait for next one, a taxi shift will cost R$40(USD 25). In the event the minivan gets broken –which happens all the time, according to drivers, and twice during our stay- the hotel will pay for your taxis. With the exception of a handful of hotels there is absolutely nothing else in the area, so you might expect to be able to buy some basic things in the hotel, but this is not the case.
The Karapitangui is beautiful everywhere, with lush gardens and a really nice pool area just over the beach. After visiting other hotels in the surroundings I wouldn´t hesitate to tell this one has the nicest facilities. The atmosphere is relaxing, with plenty of trees, flowers and birds. On occasion you may see small monkeys, too. Everything is sparkling clean, which is quite an achievement on these kind of environments. We stayed for 6 days in a “mesanino” luxury room, a two-level, very spacious apartment, with plenty of room for our family of four. The beds were very good, towels and linens OK too. However, the stairs to reach the upper level were quite dangerous due to excessive inclination. Although the hotel is new, we had an old window style A/C which was a bit noisy and located just above the bed header. We had a nice 32” LCD TV but due to some “wall plug connection problem” –never solved- we were just able to watch only two channels. There is very little furniture, no wardrobes or drawers, just a couple of shelves to accommodate your luggage and belongings. The “safety box” was a wood box on the wall.
Staff is very nice, always and willing to help with a smile on their face. However, they lack training and it shows. The water in the nice swimming pool was never clean enough and every morning you could see huge green spots in the bottom, no matter how long they try to clean it. The kids pool was even worse. At one side of the pool there is a Jacuzzi, which was out of service during our stay.
The restaurant was a big disappointment. With the exception of some appetizer, food was basic, expensive and tasteless. After taking your order waiters would vanish into the kitchen, so in the event you may need to change/add something you´ll have to get in there. They claim to have pizza every night, but during our stay that option was unavailable due to some staff issue. Luckily, a three minute beach walk took us to the Anima hotel, which has delicious food and excellent service for about the same price. Breakfast was well below standard, mainly consisting of puddings and cakes –which we mostly disliked-, little fruit, some cereal and maybe some sausage and cheese. Although there were some kinds of bread, there was just butter and no toaster. Eggs were prepared on request.
Before leaving I tried to reach the manager to make some comments about our experience, but it turned out that he lives in Salvador and works at the hotel periodically. All in all, this place has all the potential to be the best hotel in the area, but unfortunately it is not. For the price paid(R$505/USD 310 per night) we expected more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rickylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fernanda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: cerca de la pileta ...hermosas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#2 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
609 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
280 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
#11 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anima Hotel
Anima Hotel
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
433 reviews
2 mi away
Pousada Villa Marraro
Pousada Villa Marraro
#9 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karapitangui Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karapitangui Praia Hotel

Address: Quarta Praia S/N, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#8 Family Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karapitangui Praia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Karapitangui Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karapitangui Praia Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing