We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on a good location”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have stayed in the hotel during the Easter holiday. Very nice hotel with friendly staff on a good location (when it's low tide of the water) and with a nice big swimming pool. Rooms were well equiped though what we missed was the mosquito net for the children's beds. Although we kept the doors and windows closed when we were in the room, it was impossible to keep all mosquitos outside. Especially difficult to catch them because of the high ceilings of the rooms. Our youngest daughter had appr. 40 mosquito bites after 2 nights; then we decided to sleep all together (4) in the king bed, the only bed with a mosquito net. Not very romantic, but no more new bites! Always opt for a room on the first floor, great veranda and much more privacy then the rooms on the ground floor.

Breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. I did not like the dinner at night as all guests were forced to buy a package for the holiday. Not enough waiters to serve, not enough seats and quality of the food was so-so.

All in all a good choice when you stay at Morro de Sao Paulo, though we would never return to the island as you have to make a lot of effort to get there. We were really sick after the catamaran trip. Our advice: take the plane.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Nathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    182
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
141
326
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

By far the best hotel/beach resort we stayed at in Brazil. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Loved having hammocks to lie in on the veranda. The grounds were beautiful - great pool area, tennis courts, beach. It is a bit of a walk to get to the pick up point, but there was a car waiting to take us to the hotel once we got there. Was absolute bliss - so relaxing with all the comforts of home. Food was amazing there - the breakfasts were spectacular. A lot of the nicer wines on their list were not available though. Would definitely go back and wished we could stay there longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Best location in morro. Just in front of the 4th beach natural swiming pools. And 200 meters from the local airport (2 small planes a day, better value than the boat trip).

You just have to go from the beach bar and the see natural swiming pools to the infinite swiming pool and bar (the bar is inside the pool and atends people inside and outside).

Wonderful gardens. Very nice large rooms. Nice bed. Very large balcony with 2 hamocks.

Very nice staff, breakfast, lounge and restaurant.
Nice guests from salvador, sao paulo and all over the world.

If you take the boat, take some pills before not to be sick. Dramin is a local favorite (works very well).

Morro is the best beach location in Brazil (i´ve visited every thing from sao paulo to jericoacoara and morro is still the best: best water (transparent and hot), no cars, the beach is the road (there is just one small road in the island, but there are less than 15 vehicles in the region). Paradise is not far from here.

We´ll be back frequently to villa dos corais, as it has everything we wish when we want to relax.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_luc_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

When you get off the boat at Morro you are met by the local 'taxis', a band of well organised and very fit guys who will take your luggage to your hotel in their wheelbarrows. Accept the help, the path up from the quay is steep and uneven, then down to the beach and across the sand. Halfway along the second beach a road comes down and there we were picked up by the 4WD from the Villa dos Corais, The villas are set in open meadows with trees and flowers close to the beach. Lots of birds, including humming birds. A large and welcoming reception area, though the lady on duty when we arrived did not speak much English, but she did her best and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely with a deck area or balcony and a elegant and comfortable hammock for daytime lounging.

Breakfast is part of the package with a wide range of fruit breads and cooked dishes prepared on request. Lunches and evening meals can be ordered from a wide menu.
The swimming pool is really lovely and it is easy to walk to all the beaches. We had a great day trip round the island on a boat which left from Third Beach.

We were there in the Brazilian winter so things were fairly quiet, and some of the nearby restaurants were closed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret_&_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Everything is fine in this small luxury resort, from architecture and decoration to service. The only minor point are the beaches. Although very much praised from other travellers, when coming from Greece and having seen the Greek waters (as well as the Carribean ones) we are just disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimitrisTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

This is the best hotel in Morro.
Location is great , the rooms are superb and the stuff is one of the best we ever hade.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloni-gadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

After deciding at the last minute to go for a week trip to Brazil, my wife suggested me to stay in Morro de São Paulo. After some online reviews and checking both the spot and the available “Pousadas”, how was certain that the best choice would be Villa dos Corais. And I’m glad we took it as it was one of the most amazing beach holiday weeks I’ve ever had (and I’ve been experiencing the most amazing exotic places like Maldives and French Polynesia over the past 3 years!).
The pousada is located on the perfect spot on the beaches of Morro de São Paulo. Sufficiently away to the most crowded and noisy 1st and 2nd beaches but still close enough to just walk by the beach and go to the small vila to have dinner or drink a late night caipirinha. Villa dos Corais, as you can see in the website, is located between the 3rd and 4th beach. It’s well designed, with about 36 rooms divided in just 9 small buildings. The surroundings are beautiful, in the middle of a typical Brazilian fazenda, with a marvelous beach right next to your rooms.
The rooms are great, having stayed in a superior room (second floor with a balcony), very spacious, clean and with the excellent opportunity of being surrounded by nature and waking every morning at the sound of little birds.
The pool is amazing, the service also great, the quality of food in both the beach restaurant and the pool one was very good. We usually went to the 4th beach in the morning, stay there until 1PM, have lunch at the beach and then use some of the quietness of the pool surroundings to relax during the afternoon.
I would really recommend this place to a quiet relaxing beach holiday…both with or without children. The coral beaches are amazing with their natural pools where you can just lay down for ours and watch the beauty and quietness all around.

PS - wifi free in the bedrooms is a +++

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunofelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
264 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
#1 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
531 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anima Hotel
Anima Hotel
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
#11 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
325 reviews
3.2 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#7 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dos Corais Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dos Corais Pousada

Property: Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Address: Rua Terceira Praia S/N, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#5 Family Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Dos Corais Pousada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Dos Corais Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dos Corais Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo
Hotel Dos Corais
Dos Corais Hotel
Villa Dos Corais Pousada Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing