We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel on a beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My family stayed in the hotel over Christmas and had an amazing time. The rooms are big and stylish. The grounds are great and the pool area is beautiful - we especially liked the swim-up bar. The location is perfect - 5 minute walk to the center of the town in one direction and 5 minute walk to a tranquil, deserted beach in the other direction. It is also right next to the "airport" for Addey Air Taxi. This is a good (maybe the best) luxury option in Morro de Sao Paulo.

The only negatives were the mediocre food and the staff which spoke poor English.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank JoshLiv715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

No doubt ,one of the best choices in Morro de Sao Paulo especially if you have children . Many recreative options, excelent position, well equipped and large rooms, very good breakfast and attentive staff. They can even reserve some boat tours as well as the Catamaran from Salvador to Morro.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at Villa Dos Corais for 3 nights in September 2011.

It is widely acknowledged as the best hotel in Morro de Sao Paolo, and is set in a fantastic spot on the corner of the third and fourth beaches.

Rooms are sizeable (although relatively basic given the cost), and the pool and bar are nice places to spend time. Service is also good - although not quite 'five star hotel' standard.

If you're going to Morro (which is highly recommended) then Villa Dos Corais is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for a few nights, and generally had a pleasant time. The hotel is situated outside the town, so when you get off the catamaran from Salvador it's a bit of a walk from the dock, up through the village, to where the hotel's jeep is waiting, then a short drive to the hotel itself. The staff at the hotel are reasonably friendly, but English is not widely spoken, so unless you speak Portuguese or Spanish, you may encounter difficulties.
The pool and public areas are reasonably comfortable, the breakfasts were good, and the food in the hotel restaurant and beach-cafe was good quality, though expensive. our room was very comfortable, reasonably clean, but looked slightly care-worn. The huge, comfortable bed did, however, have a wonderfully big mosquito-net hanging around it, and although insects were not an issue when we were there.
The best thing about this place, though, is it's proximity to the beach. 'Fourth Beach' is a two-minute stroll from reception, and is an incredible stretch of golden sand, lined by palm trees, and beautiful, clear warm sea, safe for swimming. The hotel has a cafe here, where you can use their deck-chairs and shades, and watch the comings and goings along the beach, idyllic!
We really enjoyed out stay, but had a big problem when we came to leave. Despite having mentioned our departure plans to the reception staff on at least three occassions, and getting our travel-agent in Salvador to call the hotel to confirm they'd understood, it was a fiasco! The receptionist, who'd been involved in the previous discussions regarding our early departure, feigned ignorance, and farted around ineffectually, trying to sort out our transfer to the dock to catch the boat! As it was, we ended up trotting along the beach, trying to do a 20 minute journey in 15 minutes, with a porter from the hotel behind us with our bags in a wheel-barrow! We made the boat, with minutes to spare, but we were sweating, stressed, and annoyed, not an ideal start to a long day's travelling!
So, to sum up, this place is perfect for beach-bums, but unless you 'speaka da lingo', anything more complicated than ordering 'cerveza and pastelinhos' might end in disaster!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Just 10 minutes walk from the night life (but there are also transfers from the hotel by jeep, decreasing to 5 ', time to little "downtown" Morro). A luxuriously cozy inn or a resort? Both classifications are correct. Our stay was perfect, the attention was superb and both complimentary breakfast and dinner were delightful (feel free to have lunch and dinner in their restaurant and enjoy their snack-beach-bar on the "Quarta Praia" = Fourth Beach).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have stayed in the hotel during the Easter holiday. Very nice hotel with friendly staff on a good location (when it's low tide of the water) and with a nice big swimming pool. Rooms were well equiped though what we missed was the mosquito net for the children's beds. Although we kept the doors and windows closed when we were in the room, it was impossible to keep all mosquitos outside. Especially difficult to catch them because of the high ceilings of the rooms. Our youngest daughter had appr. 40 mosquito bites after 2 nights; then we decided to sleep all together (4) in the king bed, the only bed with a mosquito net. Not very romantic, but no more new bites! Always opt for a room on the first floor, great veranda and much more privacy then the rooms on the ground floor.

Breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. I did not like the dinner at night as all guests were forced to buy a package for the holiday. Not enough waiters to serve, not enough seats and quality of the food was so-so.

All in all a good choice when you stay at Morro de Sao Paulo, though we would never return to the island as you have to make a lot of effort to get there. We were really sick after the catamaran trip. Our advice: take the plane.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Nathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

By far the best hotel/beach resort we stayed at in Brazil. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Loved having hammocks to lie in on the veranda. The grounds were beautiful - great pool area, tennis courts, beach. It is a bit of a walk to get to the pick up point, but there was a car waiting to take us to the hotel once we got there. Was absolute bliss - so relaxing with all the comforts of home. Food was amazing there - the breakfasts were spectacular. A lot of the nicer wines on their list were not available though. Would definitely go back and wished we could stay there longer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
280 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
326 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
#1 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#7 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
#11 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
337 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anima Hotel
Anima Hotel
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dos Corais Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dos Corais Pousada

Address: Rua Terceira Praia S/N, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#4 Family Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range: £105 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Dos Corais Pousada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Dos Corais Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dos Corais Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo
Hotel Dos Corais
Dos Corais Hotel
Villa Dos Corais Pousada Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing