We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent 5 days in Morro de São Paulo this past August and we choose Villa dos Corais following an adnvice from a friend who stayed there some years ago.

It certainly is the best place to stay in Morro, well located, about 1km from the town, so it's quiet and near the best beach, the 4th beach, but they have a transfer every hour to town if you want to go there and eat or shop. Rooms are ok, nothing special. Breakfast could be better, for brazilian standards. They have a small gym, although if you like to run, you have several kms to run in the beach. The pool is great and big. Service is slow, we wanted to have lunch one day at the pool, asked for the menu and they never came, so we went somewhere else.

We had a problem checking out, it was mainly our operator's problem, but the staff didn't acted correctly with us. Nevertheless it was not their fault.

I would recommend Villa dos Corais as the best place to stay in Morro de São Paulo.

Advices:
If you can afford it, get the flight from Salvador to Morro. We went by boat and bus and it took several hours, as it was winter in Brasil and the sea wouldn't let the boat cruise from Salvador to Morro.

We ate dinner always in Morro, best place was Casarão. Good sea fruit and service. Also try the caipirinhas at Joe in the square near Casarão. Yes, they are more expensive and the guy is a annoying, but the caipirinhas are really amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    180
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
137
321
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

After staying on the 3rd beach, my terrific future husband (he's talking now, I'm typing, BTW) found this place on a "long walk on the beach". He was greeted by Luis (highly recommended dude) who spoka da english and helped throughout our stay. It was a little outside of our price range, but after our first day, we stayed for another because we loved it so much. Some of the food was excellent (the croque madame, the fish with pureed peas, crispy banana and bernaise). Overall, awesome place, great location - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just ask Luis
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The journey to Morro was long.......had to get the slow ferry from Salvador as the fast one was not running due to high seas. We then had a 1.5 hr drive and a boat ride. Finally arrived at the pier and was met by the locals and their wheelbarrows. Allow them to take your bags as you have to walk about 10 mins to where the hotel car can collect you. It was worth the long journey though as the island is beautiful. White sands and no proper roads as such. To get around you walk up and down the beaches.

The loaction was the reason we picked this hotel and in my opinion it has the best location on the island. It is located on the 3rd beach (there are 5 beaches in total). The first is where the 'main street' is. The second has a good selection of beach bars and resturarants. The 4th and particurarly the 5th are quite a walk from the bars & resturarants so the 3rd was the perfect compromise......close enought to walk into town at night time while still offering peace and quiet.

Hotel: Nice grounds, restaurant and pool area which overlooks the sea. Lovely swim up bar in the pool. Rooms are 4 to a block. The upstairs rooms cost a little extra as you have a private balcony. Paid the extra but probably wasn't worth it as spend all my time sun-bathing down at the pool. The room itself had a large bed with a mosquito net. The standard was fine, nothing more but it was clean. Felt the rest of the property was finished nicely buy the rooms let it down a little.

Head up to the 2nd beach for a least 1 night to hear the live music and there is also an open air party up on the first beach that starts about midnight if you are looking for some fun one night. Just ask the locals and they will point you in the right direction.

Got the plane back to Salvador as I couldn't face the long boat trip again. Was worth the money!

Certainly not a 5 star hotel but overall a good option with a little added luxury compared with other hotels in the area and a great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My family stayed in the hotel over Christmas and had an amazing time. The rooms are big and stylish. The grounds are great and the pool area is beautiful - we especially liked the swim-up bar. The location is perfect - 5 minute walk to the center of the town in one direction and 5 minute walk to a tranquil, deserted beach in the other direction. It is also right next to the "airport" for Addey Air Taxi. This is a good (maybe the best) luxury option in Morro de Sao Paulo.

The only negatives were the mediocre food and the staff which spoke poor English.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshLiv715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

No doubt ,one of the best choices in Morro de Sao Paulo especially if you have children . Many recreative options, excelent position, well equipped and large rooms, very good breakfast and attentive staff. They can even reserve some boat tours as well as the Catamaran from Salvador to Morro.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at Villa Dos Corais for 3 nights in September 2011.

It is widely acknowledged as the best hotel in Morro de Sao Paolo, and is set in a fantastic spot on the corner of the third and fourth beaches.

Rooms are sizeable (although relatively basic given the cost), and the pool and bar are nice places to spend time. Service is also good - although not quite 'five star hotel' standard.

If you're going to Morro (which is highly recommended) then Villa Dos Corais is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for a few nights, and generally had a pleasant time. The hotel is situated outside the town, so when you get off the catamaran from Salvador it's a bit of a walk from the dock, up through the village, to where the hotel's jeep is waiting, then a short drive to the hotel itself. The staff at the hotel are reasonably friendly, but English is not widely spoken, so unless you speak Portuguese or Spanish, you may encounter difficulties.
The pool and public areas are reasonably comfortable, the breakfasts were good, and the food in the hotel restaurant and beach-cafe was good quality, though expensive. our room was very comfortable, reasonably clean, but looked slightly care-worn. The huge, comfortable bed did, however, have a wonderfully big mosquito-net hanging around it, and although insects were not an issue when we were there.
The best thing about this place, though, is it's proximity to the beach. 'Fourth Beach' is a two-minute stroll from reception, and is an incredible stretch of golden sand, lined by palm trees, and beautiful, clear warm sea, safe for swimming. The hotel has a cafe here, where you can use their deck-chairs and shades, and watch the comings and goings along the beach, idyllic!
We really enjoyed out stay, but had a big problem when we came to leave. Despite having mentioned our departure plans to the reception staff on at least three occassions, and getting our travel-agent in Salvador to call the hotel to confirm they'd understood, it was a fiasco! The receptionist, who'd been involved in the previous discussions regarding our early departure, feigned ignorance, and farted around ineffectually, trying to sort out our transfer to the dock to catch the boat! As it was, we ended up trotting along the beach, trying to do a 20 minute journey in 15 minutes, with a porter from the hotel behind us with our bags in a wheel-barrow! We made the boat, with minutes to spare, but we were sweating, stressed, and annoyed, not an ideal start to a long day's travelling!
So, to sum up, this place is perfect for beach-bums, but unless you 'speaka da lingo', anything more complicated than ordering 'cerveza and pastelinhos' might end in disaster!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff1Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
#1 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
526 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anima Hotel
Anima Hotel
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catavento Praia Hotel
Catavento Praia Hotel
#12 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
115 reviews
3.2 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#7 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dos Corais Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dos Corais Pousada

Property: Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Address: Rua Terceira Praia S/N, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#5 Family Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Dos Corais Pousada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Dos Corais Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dos Corais Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo
Hotel Dos Corais
Dos Corais Hotel
Villa Dos Corais Pousada Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing