We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Pousada on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Guaiamu Hotel
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Pousada on the Island”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

As if the island of Morro de Sao Paulo wasn't heaven itself.....

This pousada is located between 3rd and 4th beach, a 5 min walk away from the hustle and bustle of 2nd beach. The little cabins (humble, yet functional - great water pressure!) are spread on a vast property of palm trees, beautiful fauna everywhere, and native island wildlife (birds, crabs and little lizzards). The little blue crabs are only a little part of the charm of the pousada - although I did take 253 pictures of the little crawlers myslef....just beautiful.

You can literally spend an entire day in the pousada, relaxing in your hammock and listening to the birds, and still be amused! The breakfast was fantastic - the best spread we had on our entire trip.

If you are in Salvador - you MUST pay a visit to Morro. If you are in Morro, you MUST stay at this Pousada (we were there for 5 days, and I could have still stayed for 5 more!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1ForTheLoveofTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Amidst fashionable and flashy new pousadas, that is a place to meet real life on the island. 10 minutes by foot from busy night life however, it is a perfect match between nature and pleasure. Protecting environment and wild life (crabs and trees), a friendly welcome, a gorgeous breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Breakfast and staff are great/ attentive.
It feels very nice to be surrounded by guaiamus (crabs)
The rooms have a very good size with lcd tv (didn't use) and split a/c.
But the bed and linen could be much better.
At night a lot of ants walking around, there could be a way of killing them.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

First, if you geta chance to visit Morro de Sao Paolo by all means jump at the chance. It is amazing.
The Guaiamu is on the third beach, Second beach is where all the action is but third beach is just a 5 minute stroll. Watch out for high tide though, it gets a bit tricky unless you just say what the heck and get wet. It is about a 20 minute walk from the dock. Definitely hire someone to carry your luggage, its only R$10/Bag.
The Pousada itself is set back from the beach in the jungle amongst the protected crabs which are everywhere and very fun to watch. We also spied a couple monkeys. Because it is in the jungle definitely buy or bring some insect repellent. After the first night I ran to the store. Judging by the number of mosquito carcasses on the walls I was not the only one that had this problem. With repellent everything was fine.
The jungle is an amazing setting for this Pousada. Just beautful. There are three rooms per building and each has its own hammock. They are all spread out so you get the feeling fo total isolation. Its wonderful.
The rooms are decent size, small by US standards, large by European. There is a tv, AC, mini bar. The bathroom is large and the entire thing feels very 'Fantasy Island'. There are no windows or screens, only shutters.
There is no wifi, no phone, and I didnt bother turning on the TV, it seemed sacreligious in this setting.
The ambience of this place was just breath taking. Totally worth it.
The part I had trouble with, and the reason I cannot in good faith rate the property higher is the bed and the linens. The bed was flat, firm and dirty. The linens were maybe 100 thread count and felt like gauze. I could literally see through them. The pillows had a 'musty' smell. I would encourage the property to invest in some new mattresses, pillows and linens. Also, in this humid environment I would suggest some heavy duty mattress pads and pillow protectors to ensure longevity. I am sure it is tough on them.
Other than that, I would encourage anyone to give it a shot, its a great property in a great locale.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We arrived at the Guaiamu during Ressaca after carnaval in Salvador. It was a perfect little hotel for us at the 3rd beach. If you don't know much about Morro, the 3rd beach is a bit further down from "the action" but it's a great location to get away from the mayhem but still close enough for a short walk into it when you're ready. Perfect location to be honest. Hotel was quiet and set back in the woods from the beach. breakfast was basic. The owner (I've forgotten his name unfortunately) is Chilean and very cool to talk to as well as being helpful on tips for the rest of our trip around South America. Would definitely stay here again. It was a bit pricey for what we got but it was during Ressaca which is probably their super high season. assuming the rates were lower outside of this period, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gethaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Morro de sao paulo is a natural paradise!
The Vila guaiamu hotel is located in a natural park on the beach.
The rooms are old but the breakfast is very good!
The daily rate is a little expensive but the location is perfect to visit morro.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We were very disappointed with this hotel. In August, the low-season has put its stamp on this hotel, and there was only very few other guests. The tv did only had four "snowy" channels, Air-condition was noisy. The terrace was unfit to use due to the many mosquitos and we had to close alle windows and the door to the room due to the mosquitos. Still, I had 51 mosquito bites during my visit! The rooms was cold and uncharmy. The pricing was low-value for money. Breakfast was poor. However, the staff was friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonDKCopenhagen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Fazenda Caeira
Pousada Fazenda Caeira
#10 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Village Paraiso Tropical
#11 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tranquila
Pousada Tranquila
#20 of 122 in Morro de Sao Paulo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Barra Vento
Pousada Barra Vento
#49 of 122 in Morro de Sao Paulo
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guria da Bahia Pousada
Guria da Bahia Pousada
#28 of 122 in Morro de Sao Paulo
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Borboleta
Pousada Borboleta
#7 of 122 in Morro de Sao Paulo
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Guaiamu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guaiamu Hotel

Property: Villa Guaiamu Hotel
Address: 3A Praia de Morro de Sao Paulo, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 59090-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Guaiamu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Guaiamú is located on the third beach of Morro de São Paulo, in the middle of the fresh, relaxing shade of an ancient coconut plantation. The hotel has 22 apartments all equipped with air conditioning, tv, minibar and a beautiful terrace with hammocks.WI-FI in the social area of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Guaiamu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Guaiamu Hotel Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing