We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Morro de Sao Paulo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Natureza
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice place to stay in Morro de Sao Paulo”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Hotel Pousada Natureza is ideally located in Morro de Sao Paulo. It's in town but tucked away up the hillside so that it has a relaxed, calm ambience.

The grounds and pool area are all kept very nice. The gardeners and maintenance team clearly work very hard to keep the hotel looking beautiful and they do a good job.

Breakfast was good and varied every morning. We didn't eat in the restaurent in the evening so can't comment on that.

We stayed in one of the bungalows which was fantastic. It had a fantastic terrace which looked out over the town, a good sized bedroom, clean and relatively modern bathroom, and also a living room. Overall it was very comfortable.

The only slight negative was that on our first night we were given a different bungalow. It was smaller than the other one which was fine but the bathroom had a really bad smell. I don't know whether a drain was blocked or something but it wasn't good. However, when we told the reception about the problem they immediately offered to move us to the bigger bungalow at no extra cost which was brilliant customer service in our opinion.

Overall, I'd thoroughly recommend the Pousada de Natureza as a great place to stay in Morro.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    91
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
188
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenscliff, NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This place was a great choice for our stay during busy January in Morro de Sao Paulo. The pousada is located at the top of the big hill from where the boats arrive from Salvador and is far enough from the noise of restaurants and bars, but close enough that you don't even notice the walk.

The room was nice (if not a bit squashy), staff were very friendly and helpful, there's a nice swimming pool with ocean views and breakfast was good (lots of options, cakes etc).

Overall I would definitely recommend this to anyone heading to Morro de Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We originally booked to stay for 5 days on Morro de Sao Paulo at Hotel Pousada Natureza... we ended up staying for 2 weeks! The location, the views, the staff, the pousada itself, the food... they were all unbelievable. Paradise really does exist and we will definitely be back! A big thank you to Eliene, Horst, Eddie and the rest of the team for making our stay such a special one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blindheim
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Pousada Natureza was my favourite place to stay for four times now and we are actually planning the next trip to Morro in early 2011. There is no doubt about where we are going to stay - again! The reason is simply as that:
Everything called "service" (staff, breakfast, pool, areal, appartments) is at it s best !

Unfortunately this time (Christmas to New Years Eve) there was too much "quarrel" in the neighbourhood - some re-newed disco... Usually, "partytime" in Morro takes place on the 2nd beach - and not "uptown", close to the church and Morro´s old cemetery!
Definitely, this goes not to any account of Pousada Natureza. But it is just a pitty, that this causes deductions from "The Morro Feeling"...
May be, these sounds of "boom, boom, boom" techno features are part of these times - but "Morro" should keep these "modern noises" on 2nd beach. To me, these sounds have been "skyscrapers for my ears" - And who wants to spend holidays amongst sky-scrapers?

Anyhow, "Pousada Natureza" is 100% worth "to be there" - as "beimg there" is very close to paradise!
Reinhard and Lilly

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rothehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadanatureza, Owner at Hotel Pousada Natureza, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Thank you very much for your comment! We work all days for realize the “travel dream” of ours guests, and is so gratifying when it really works. We hope that you come again and we can still realizing you “travel dreams”. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

If you like the tropics and also like your comforts at the same time, this place is it.
Located on an island not too far from Salvador Bahia, Morro De Sao Paolo is an awsome place! No cars, everything can be accessed by foot, miles of sandy beaches, great food, dancing and live music. The owner has done a superb job of building and maintaning his hotel and restaurant. His other passion is sailing and if you're into sailing he has something for you too - His sailing club or clube de vela is located a short boatride from the hotel and offers catamaran rentals, lessons and tours. They even offer short flights around the island in an ultralite airplane. I have a great time each time I visit there.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tngbuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

After the choppy speedboat ride from Salvador to Morro de Sao Paulo followed by the extremely steep uphill climb from the dock, it was a welcome respite to be staying at Pousada Natureza. The grounds are beautifully manicured with various lavender, cream, and fuschia colored flowers in bloom everywhere. Our room had a balcony with a jacuzzi where we soaked at sunset overlooking the gorgeous view of the bay. Breakfast consisted of various fresh baked breads, pastries, and an array of delicious, fresh fruits native to Brazil. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful in offering tips on activities to do & dining on the island. I'm looking forward to my return.

  • Liked — The grounds, the room, the location, the staff, & the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofthenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2007

A lovely small hotel with separate bungalows varying in expense. The hotel was very clean and staff helpful, although English is limited to only a few members. The pool was very clean although a little on the small side. The reception is at the bottom of the hill that the apartments are built on and could prove difficult to access should you have mobility problems as getting to the upper apartments is via a stone staircase. It should be noted that the more expensive bungalows are at the top of the hill, however the views prove worth the effort and you will be able to view fantastic westerly sunsets from the balconies.

The hotel is situated very close to the harbour but again there is a large hill to climb tto the bottom of the hotel and the centre of the village where there are lots of restaurants and shops.

We only had one problem with staying in this hotel which concerned the linen provided by the hotel. The hotel information booklet does state that any linen which cannot be cleaned will incur charges which were not cheap. On our third day the reception staff approached us about some towels and bedding. Quite frankly the marks on these were barely visible and to be fair the receptionist was very embarrassed in mentioning it. Upon returning to our room we looked at the current linen and found it to have similar marks and therefore asked the receptionist up to the room to take a look. That was the last we heard about it and upon leaving the manager did apologise for the misunderstanding.

One very nice thing about the hotel was a receptionist who spoke excellent English and even helped us in contacting friends we had met in another hotel in another area of Brazil.

On the whole it was a lovely place to stay, not crowded at all. Breakfasts were buffet style with plenty of choice considering the size of the restaurant area.


  • Liked — Our room
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#2 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#6 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#8 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Bahia Bacana
Pousada Bahia Bacana
#2 of 123 in Morro de Sao Paulo
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Bahia 10
Pousada Bahia 10
#7 of 123 in Morro de Sao Paulo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Natureza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Natureza

Property: Hotel Pousada Natureza
Address: Vila Morro de Sao Paulo, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pousada Natureza 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natureza is an ideal alternative for those who prefer the local way without missing cosiness and comfort. Transmits a high quality of living with its privileged location, central and peaceful, the 3000 m2 of tropical garden complex offers breathtaking sea views and sunsets from almost all angles. For those who likes to practice ecological activities… sailing club with Tornados, Hobbie Cats, Tigers, A-Cats, lessons, trips and beach restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pousada Natureza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Natureza Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing