We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect romantic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vila dos Orixas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect romantic place”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

this hotel really surprised me. great service. great rooms, not very expensive and great location. a dream for 05 days with my boyfriend. i am dying to go back. i am very picky with hotels especially if they are clean. this was very very good. truly recommend it.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gaenslyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    108
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
65
373
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My wife and I travelled all the way from the US to the north-east area in Brazil. One of our stops was Morro de Sao Paulo and we stayed in Vila dos Orixas. We had the greatest time for the few nights we were there. Yes, the hotel is far away from town, but that is exactly what we were looking for, some remote place to spent a few days away from our stressful lives. Food was out of this world. I mean, breakfast was superb, as people know breakfast in Brazil is always a feast, and in Vila dos Orixas it was not different. We were always very well attended. We were extremely satisfied with all the staff, which was helpful and very nice all the time. We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2010

After having been in several "so-called" paradise islands, we happen to try the famous Morro de Sao Paulo.

After a nice drive through the wildness, an exotic way through the island to enjoy the exhuberant jungle in this tropical aradise, one arrives at the hotel and the frist thought is:
I'm not going back to civilization until this vacation is over.

You literally feel away from the world and everything you need is at your disposal within the hotel facilities, so it makes easier to just stay and relax, forget about the real world and just spend a week indulgin yourself.

With nice young management, and a customer oriented service mentality, the kitchen offers a delicately selected fusion of native food combined with the influences of the owners which satisfied all our needs during the one week stay...

Helpful staff made our excursions worthwile and well organized to discover the best of the island

Definetely a worthwhile recommended destination for a wonderful relaxing vacation

salvador

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalvadorNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We were 5 travelling, on our arrival the water was broken and no one had told us about this "incident", nor the reception when we checked in nor the manager. It's when we called that they said they were aware of it and it should be fixed within an hour. Before dinner, still nothing. Around 11 pm it was back but was as salty as the sea and there was just a little "filet" running, not enough to take a proper shower, and of course it was cold. there are just 10 bungalows on this charming at first sight little boutique hotel.
Although the hotel is 11 km away from the town where the restaurants are and there are no real roads, so if you're subject to back aches I strongly advise you stay in!
As for the restaurant, the food is not good, but that's ok compared to the time you have to wait to get your food! You'd better order, then go for your shower etc and come back, about an hour or an hour and half later.
The scenery is very poor, the gardens haven't finished growing and it's not very clean.
The manager is awful and nt helpful at all, i think he just doesn't care.
A positive point is that the rooms are nice and big - the "upper" bungalows number 9 and 10 are a little bit more expensive but don't really have much more than the other ones except from a mezzanine and a mosquito net.
I didn't have a good time at all in this hotel, I am used to getting good service for the money I pay and it clearly wasn't the case here - I wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone unless they are extremly patient o if they get a really good rate.

PS. None of the staff speks english except from 1 guy at the reception whos hours are from 11am through 4 pm

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tissiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The Hotel is excelent. Very calm, quiet and reserved. Surounded by native Atlantic Forrest makes you feel very isolated. Also because there are only 10 bangalows, even with the hotel full, you feel like your the only guest most of the time. It´s a hotel mostly for couples who wants to rest and be just for themselves.
The services where all very efficient even being in Bahia, state with a fame of having a very slow service. Rooms and restaurant where always clean. Waiters were always very sympathetic and helpful, but without interfeering. Food was also very good. Great breakfast, seemed all home made breads and cakes.
The bangalows where very spacious and the wood floor and ceiling made it´s atmosphere very cozy.
The distance to the 2nd Beach, where all the excitement happens is the only negative point. Not because it´s extremelly far, but because the road is very bumpy, what makes it a 25 minutes trip.
The driver is the best. Always in a good temper even after several rounds every day.
What impressed me the most was that all employees where always very polite.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopburi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Do you want a honest opinion on the Orixas? Nice place, bad management! The village is located far away from the centre of Morro.
You take 35 minutes by bus to go from the resort to the centre, on a bumpy road. They are organized with a shuttle bus going to Morro 5-6 times a day. When you get to Morro by catamaran, please be aware that you will have to walk for about 1 km in the sand to reach the Tourist Office (the only place reached by private transport - taxies and hotel/resort buses). Our welcome to Orixas was waiting their old shuttle bus for about 30 minutes after we called to inform them we arrived. Both driver and co-pilot were quite excited (probably drunk?). They did not even say a word of welcome. They just made us get on the bus and go. Additionally no-one in the hotel told us about the available services. I would suggest you to go on the second beach if you want to have a proper swim. In front of the hotel the see is very shallow. You can walk for hundred meters and the water will be at your knees level. The place is nice, but the hotel management will often make you feel disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lopbuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viladosorixas, owners at Hotel Vila dos Orixas, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Dear Sir,

We regret their bad experience at our hotel.
As owners and managers, we always try to give the best service to our guests.
Vila dos Orixás is a hotel for those wanting to relax in a peaceful and paradise beach, and not for those who want to holiday in the midst of the agitation and the party of the second beach.
We regret having chosen the wrong hotel. On our website that explained the type of hotel and the distance to the center of Morro.
Vila dos Orixás has a semi Olympic pool for those wanting to swim, because in Brazil there is a natural phenomenon of the tides, and is certain that when the tide is low, the beach is very shallow.

In relation to the transfer have fourteen hours during the day ( 7 g / 7 b) to make the course Vila dos Orixás - Morro Sao Paulo, apart from the transports added in case the guests have to do an activity or times to check in check out.

The route is used for a Land Rover 4x4. Which we believe is in very good condition.

Finally (reiterating that we regret his bad experience in our home) to say that strongly doubt that our driver (we not have a copilot) was drunk. Adailson not drink, but you are right in the smiles. He's very smiley and friendly. Typical characteristic of the Bahian people.
With nothing more to add, we hope that in your next visit to Morro de Sao Paulo, staying at another hotel, best suited to your preferences.
The second beach and the center have very good options too, but walking in the sand is something inevitable about this destination.

King regards,

Jordi & Silvia

PD. Sorry but we found no reservation of September with your profile to apologize personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We spent 2 nights at Vila dos Orixas. From the beginning, staff was very helpful as we had no reservation: so they came and caught us with the hotel's land rover to the tourist center next to the second beach of Morro de Sao Paolo (30 min bumpy ride).
This hotel is really for couples looking for a quiet and relaxing area as it is almost the last property along the coast and beaches of Morro de Sao Paolo. If you are planning for a few days of sunbeds and baths, this is the place as management tries to preserve the quiet atmosphere of the area. At low tide, the sea is too far for a short bath but this is the occasion to go and test the 25m long pool.
Pictures on the website are fully in line with the current status of the hotel, so no bad surprises to be expected.
No crazy parties and bars in the area, but that is the point: there are so many other places in the Island if you are looking for that...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
3.5 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#3 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anima Hotel
Anima Hotel
#2 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.1 mi away
Catavento Praia Hotel
Catavento Praia Hotel
#12 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
Karapitangui Praia Hotel
#7 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Portalo
Hotel Portalo
#5 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Porto do Zimbo
Hotel Porto do Zimbo
#16 of 22 in Morro de Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila dos Orixas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila dos Orixas

Property: Hotel Vila dos Orixas
Address: Praia do Encanto s/n, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45420-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
#7 Family Hotel in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vila dos Orixas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Praia do Encanto (Encanto´s Beach), one of the most serene beaches of Morro de São Paulo, the Hotel Vila dos Orixás is notable for being the most exclusive hotel on the island, a place where the palm trees, the sun and the tranquility predominate.The hotel includes a semi-Olympic pool, an excellent restaurant with Fusion, Regional and International cuisine, pool bar and a beachfront massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Vila dos Orixas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Dos Orixas Hotel
Hotel Vila Dos Orixas Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing