We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Salto del Laja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Salto del Laja
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Los Angeles
Santiago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A room with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a great stop-over when traveling from Puerto Montt or somewhere around to Santiago, because it cuts the trip sort of in half. Although the hotel itself is nothing exceptional, the rooms are very big, pricing is fair and since the highway now bypasses the location by a few miles, it is very quiet at night.
Still, for us, the main reason to make the stop-over is to get this exceptional private view on the falls, which is priceless.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    40
    6
    11
See reviews for
64
37
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had one night here stopping off on our road trip before driving on to Pucón – we should have kept on driving.

Let us do the plus side first. The hotel is cabin style (it would be a motel in the US), and you can drive your car right up to your room. The bedroom was large with a high ceiling and exposed wooden beams. There was a fantastic view of the waterfall from our bedroom.

However, there is a general air of dilapidation about the whole hotel. Although we had booked a twin, after much discussion we ended up with a double, which was fine for one night – room 38. (Little or no English spoken here, although thank goodness, one of us is fluent in Spanish). Our bathroom had lots of mould in it and frankly needed ripping out and replacing. There was a patio with decking, but the decking was dangerous with many broken and rotting slats. We had no safety deposit which made us nervous as anyone can walk up to the sliding patio doors and look in, no fridge and no air conditioning. There was a fan, but it was very hot, only 1 hand towel.

The swimming pool water was dirty - a strange greenish, murky colour- and the ground around it extremely boggy even though it hadn’t rained for ages, so getting to it was quite a challenge. Why on earth can’t they put a proper pathway or boardwalk through to the pool?

Breakfast was no more than adequate, and the toaster didn’t work. We were also challenged by the head waitress who said that according to her list that we had only paid for 1 person (what?). We just ignored that as of course we had paid for 2 people in a double room and breakfast.

Although you check in at the lodge by the hotel, at checkout you have to drive down to the restaurant. The cashier tried to charge us more than our Booking.com receipt – comments were made, errors indicated (not sure by whom as we had our booking.com form), phone calls were made and the cashier wasn’t happy, but we stuck to our guns and all was resolved in the end and we paid the previously agreed price.

This is a completely dilapidated and almost abandoned hotel. It could be an amazing place, but it needs a massive financial investment to bring it up to scratch. It is described in the Rough Guide as ‘swish’. The writer must have been blind.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel has a number of cabins which directly face the falls and a very short walk will take you even dangerously close to the edge. The ground can be swampy in parts after rain so be careful where you step or your shoes will sink into smelly terrain.The cabins probably have been around for many years with little sign of recent upgrades so expect to not be overwhelmed. Nevertheless the twin bed room had two double beds which were very comfortable and the facilities were adequate for a short stay. Wi-Fi did not work in our cabin and we were advised to go to the lobby for a good signal. The restaurant looked good for the area although we did not dine there as we arrived late and left early. Breakfast was very average if not poor with the usual continental fare but powdered OJ, mal functioning toasters and limited variety. We made this an overnight stop when driving from Valdivia to Santiago and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfort,ky
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The rear of the rooms and cabins of this hotel/restaurant face magnificent waterfalls.
What could be more romantic or beautiful than this?
The rooms are spotless with wooden floors and are very pleasantly furnished.
The restaurant was good by Chilean standards.
The wine list was fine.
A very nice spot for a day or so to appreciate was nature has on offer!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank miamisaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
447 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice hotel near Del Laja Waterfall. Our large room had a patio overlooking a nice green area with the falls in the background. There is a short hiking trail to the base of the falls nearby. The town is small with few facilities but the restaurant in the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel is listed as an Ecological Resort. It is definitely an Ecological location, with a beautiful and natural environment, but not really a Resort. It is situated right by the Laja Waterfalls with a spectacular view of one of them. There is a golf course and they also offer horse-drawn carriages for rent to explore the area, but the roads are very rough and so we felt it would be too bumpy. We decided to walk instead. Good 2-3 kms of challenging (sometimes muddy) roads to see the deer farm, another waterfall (disappointing), the natural pool (very nice) and arriving at the river. This made the walk worthwhile. A peaceful and beautiful place.
Arriving to the hotel hotel itself can be tricky. There is a steep hill to climb and, unfortunately, the restaurant is down below, so a car is needed to get to and from there. Breakfast is served above, walking distance from the rooms.
The room was not very big but the view compensated. Bathroom was large but in need of better plumbing.
The staff was helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was good, with a variety of breads, jams, cereals, fruit and juices. Also scrambled eggs were available. Dinner was only fair and relatively expensive. My food was barely lukewarm so I had to have it reheated.(trout and mashed potatoes)
In general, nice but not worth the price ($135.00).

Room Tip: Take along mosquito repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristina_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

we used the hotel as stopover from Santiago to the south (and to see the salto). the location of the hotel is perfect. hotel itself nothing special and a bit old. the more expensive rooms look a bit more up to date than the one we were in, and had a veranda/outside part. room was spacious. the bathroom was very run down, but everything clean.
unfortunately we didn't have hot water in the morning to shower. when mentioning it at the reception while checking out, there was no reaction and she had no idea how to react or what to say...not even an excuse.
breakfast was very normal/basic.
we had dinner in the restaurant, which has nice views but is not as nice as atmosphere as appears on the pictures... quality of the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liesenrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
17.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles
17.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Los Angeles
Diego de Almagro Los Angeles
#2 of 4 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Parque Salto Del Laja
Cabanas Parque Salto Del Laja
#1 of 6 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cabrero
Hotel San Martin Cabrero
#3 of 6 in Cabrero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
8.5 mi away
Residencial El Rincon
Residencial El Rincon
#2 of 13 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Oceano
Hotel Oceano
#8 of 13 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salto del Laja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salto del Laja

Property: Hotel Salto del Laja
Address: Ruta 5 Sur, km 482, Salto del Laja, Los Angeles 562, Chile
Region: Chile > Biobio Region > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a private Island on Laja River, Hotel Salto is 50 metres from the Laja Waterfalls. If offers a 9-hole golf course, 35-hectares of park and horse-drawn carriages, bikes, swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Salto del Laja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Salto Del Laja Chile/Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing