We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior Conejo is a friend of us.....”
Review of Hostel Vermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Vermont
Ranked #4 of 25 Osorno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The house is a wooden construction in colonial style and the cat and the bunny (his name was conejo) became good friends of us although "el conejo" refused to eat Yoko's strawberries. "El gato" taught me quickly were his food is and that he needs lots of love.....the doggy is definitely a cat hunter (not the one from the hostel though).

A quiet place with friendly and helpful people and reasonable prices, we definitely recommend this hostel. There was always good recommendations for day activities on how to get to locations such as the national park Puyehue and the hot springs....

The first floor is for accommodation while he ground floor is kitchen and common space (very nice). There are one doorm, a single, a double and a tripple room what makes it 12 people when fully booked. We did not experience this, but it could be an issue that there is only one toilet.

Room Tip: The beds in the dorm have a good size, never saw such big beds in a hostel. We had the double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hostel is well equipped and caters for all a travellers needs. The host was very warm and welcoming and the kitchen was big and good for preparing meals. There isn't much to do town but we were using it as a stop over on the way to Santiago so didn't mind. The only negative is that the house was too cold for us, bedroom windows had a bad draft and the bathroom shower could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solarbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night here. It's about a 15 minute walk from the bus station. The owner is really friendly and I felt at home as soon as I arrived. The decor inside is fabulous - very New England / Rocky Mountains.
The shower like most showers in chile alternated between scorching and freezing cold. Otherwise top marks from me.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

There is nothing to do in Osorno but we ended up there for a night because of bus schedules. There aren't a ton of places to stay in town, esp. reasonably priced. Hostel Vermont fits the bill for 1 night - clean (though a little dusty and they have a cat and dog) and a kitchen you can use (which is important since no breakfast). The staff is nice and helpful. The place was FREEZING though - that was our biggest complaint - but the shower did have hot water. I'm glad we only had to stay there 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGTA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Nice hostel, about 6 blocks away from the bus station, in a quiet residential area (which is important because Osorno is a very noisy town). Very clean and comfortable and good value. They also rent out bikes

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank jimbob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Owned by a very charming couple, Sirce and Mike, who clearly enjoy meeting people, this small hostel is in a pleasant location, on a quiet residential street. There is a large colorful open market three blocks away, a good bakery and a good little restaurant walking distance. We had a room to ourselves, but it is a small hostel so inquire ahead. The hostel is simple, but thought and care and lots of hard work has been put into it. We felt very welcome!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanmoreAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We arrived at Osorno by bus and checked out a couple of the top recommendations from the LP – one of which was filthy, the other had a living room that looked like an old people’s care home, both were on busy, noisy roads by the bus station so we decided to call Mike and Sirce at Hostel Vermont to see what they had to offer.

Okay – so it’s a short walk out of town (10 mins) – but for that you do get peace and quiet and you share their recently renovated home with them. Hostel Vermont is their new business (we were their first guests) and Mike and Sirce are fun people, they’re in their late 20’s and early 30’s and offer comfortable rooms with free WIFI, full use of the kitchen, living room and dining room in a really relaxed atmosphere.

We were there to trek and wanted to use Osorno as a base and they were happy to store our stuff that we didn’t want to take with us – when we came back we were able to use their washing machine and hang the clothes out to dry in the garden – and you can call them to arrange pick-up to (they charge less than the cabs).

Mike’s from the US and Sirce speaks great English so no issues with communications and they’re happy to help with any travel plans and advice.

From what we’ve seen of the rest of the accommodation around town it’s a fantastic option.

Name: Hostel Vermont
Address: 2020 Toribo Medina.
Phone: (64) 42 11 94

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osorno hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Diego de Almagro Osorno
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Osorno
Sonesta Hotel Osorno
#1 of 9 in Osorno
776 reviews
1 mi away
Santuario Patagonia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa De Gio
Casa De Gio
#9 of 24 in Osorno
2 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hostal Kurileufu
Hostal Kurileufu
#15 of 24 in Osorno
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Flor
#12 of 24 in Osorno
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vermont

Address: Toribio Medina 2020, Osorno 5310741, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Osorno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Osorno
Price Range: £34 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Vermont is the cheapest, most artistic and laid back place to stay in Osorno, not only cheap, budget accommodation, but also a meeting point for backpackers, independent travelers and artists. Hostal Vermont is perfect for a backpacker looking for inexpensive long-term accommodation or the backpackers at large in search of a cheap youth hostel for just a couple of days. We offer our guests a safe and comfortable environment from which they can organize their adventures of Chile and South America.Owned by an outgoing Chilena, we like to say that staying here is much like staying at a friend's house where you have a comfortable place in which you can rest after a long trip.There are also two new cabins in the back of the Hostel up to four people for the ones that want more privacy.The Hostel has bikes and tents for rents and also offers pick up/drop off from/to the Bus Station and airport in a 1980 Volkswagen Kombi :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing