We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hacienda Santa Ana is a magic place in a gorgeous landscape. It use to be a monastery a long time ago, and they managed to keep a feeling of tranquility and peace that you shouldn't miss. We had two beautiful rooms next to each other, creating a small private apartment. The fireplace area (common living room) is gorgeous. Dinner and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clotilde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    16
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I think my wife best described out stay at the Hacienda Santa Ana, when she said it was just "perfect". We actually just lucked into our stay at the Hacienda, as we were trying to stay up the road at a different location. All I can say is I am glad we happened to end up here. Although we only got to stay one night, it was truly magical. Miguel and Luis were unbelievably attentive hosts, and my daughter and her friend went on a sunrise horseback ride that was the highlight of their trip. Patricio was their guide, and he could not have been better. With only 6 rooms, the Hacienda is a truly personable experience. After staying in a variety of lodgings in Ecuador, from hostels to the Quito Sheraton, Santa Ana was the perfect mix. A really well appointed room in a fabulously beautiful location. If you are looking for a nice chain hotel with all the amenities, don't stay here, but if you are looking for a truly memorable experience in an truly unique setting then the hacienda Santa Ana is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We booked an overnight package through their website, which included a guided tour of Cotopaxi National Park, including a boxed lunch, and a hike the next morning.
We had to pay one-half of our package price up front by bank wire - which was the only challenging part of this entire adventure. The challenge was trying to wire funds from a Canadian bank, but eventually we got it worked out by email and all went as planned after that.
We were picked up at our hotel in Quito by the guide hired by the Hacienda. He was knowledgeable and shared a lot of information while he drove us to the park. Our tour included a hike at Cotopaxi from the parking lot to the refugee hut, which was beautiful and well worth the trek. The guide dropped us off at the Hacienda after our tour - the roads in and out of the Hacienda were very, very rough to say the least - but we considered it all part of the adventure.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Martin - who took wonderful care of us while we were there. We had a welcome drink and then he offered to take us on a short hike from the Hacienda with him and a local guide. Our hike was cut short as it started to rain quite hard - they were prepared with rain ponchos for us, but the footing was slippery. When we returned they took our wet shoes to dry them overnight for us. They made us the most amazing hot cocoa to warm up.
There was only one other couple at the hacienda that night - the dinner was excellent. During dinner hot-water bottles were placed in our beds to warm them up. The rooms were quite cool, so we spent a fair bit of time in the common area where a fire warmed us up.
The morning breakfast was excellent before we set out on the rest of our package, which was a hike. The guides brought snacks and rain ponchos for us. Upon return from the hike we had another hot cocoa to warm up, and then enjoyed a fabulous lunch, before we were driven back to Quito by one of the staff members.
We were impressed at how hard the staff work to make our stay very enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moe2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Hacienda Santa Ana is in a small agricultural community a bumpy ride from Machachi. It is an absolutely gorgeous spot, with long views over a broad agricultural valley surrounded by volcanoes. The hacienda itself is a beautiful stone and wood building whose main part was built by Jesuits in the early 18th century. You actually can't tell where the old construction ends and a new addition begins. As the previous reviewer said, old religious items are used on the walls as decor. The decor is minimal and tasteful. Lunch and dinner were delicious variations on Ecuadorean cuisine, the best we had in two weeks in the country. They were remarkably inexpensive for the quality ($16). We especially enjoyed going on several walks to waterfalls with Patricio, who has spent his entire life in the community. He does not speak English. Another staff member could have accompanied him to help translate, but we preferred to use our fairly minimal Spanish.

We arranged to get to Hacienda Santa Ana from Quito by first visiting the Sunday market in Pujili. Hacienda Santa Ana arranged for a driver for this, and was the least expensive of the alternatives I looked into. The market was a terrific experience---a large indigenous market with no tourists except us.

When friends ask for recommendations about a trip to Ecuador, I will recommend both Pujili and Hacienda Santa Ana.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hainault Road, Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was one of 2 bad nights in terms of accomodation in a 7 week swing thru the Caribbean, Galapagos, Equador and Peru.
This hacienda is well run by very pleasant staff and the two meals I had there were very good.
But the decor - this modern building is reputed to be the site of a Jesuit monastery and the entire interior is decorated in this theme. It is like a museum of clerical vestments and paraphanalia - there were at least 4 chasubles and numerous other religious items decorating the walls of the lounge. I found it high kitsch.
My bedroom carried on the monastic theme being a large cool cellar with little natural light, no view, bare walls undecorated apart from a large painting of a cross, a large comfortable bed but otherwise spartan furnishing.
The bathroom was poorly lit and the shower was unusable because of unpredictable surges of scalding water.
I had planned to stay 2 nights but, having injured my knee in a fall on a lunatic trek shortly after arrival, I was happy to curtail my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catholic123, Gerente at Hacienda Santa Ana, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are always open to receive suggestions from our guests. In your case, we just want to explain a little about your concerns. The largest and main part of the building was really a Monastery and was restored one year ago. The lobby is the newest part which gives a lot of light and you can feel the difference between dew and old. The rooms are beautiful with natural wood furniture decoration and a lot of light due to the large windows they have. The stone and porcelain decorated bathrooms give a soft and elegant decoration with high garden view windows. If somebody comes in the afternoon and leaves to a trip and comes back late in the afternoon, the rooms at that time have less light due to the sunset. Regarding the water point, there was an electricity problem in the town and it took 3 hours to come the light again to the house, this stopped the right function of the pumps, so the water runs but not with the great force and heat we usually have. We have a light generator which can be used when the electric problem can´t be solved in a short time.

Thanks again for letting us explain and hope this helps you understand how a Hotel at 10.000 feet high, can have such great accommodations with central heat, luxurious rooms and elegant decoration, which can be appreciated on the web pictures which show exactly how the Hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington,Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My two nine year old children and I travel to Hacienda Santa and spent three lovely days full of adventure and excitement. Upon arrival we were served "canelazos", a regional drink which was delicious and a perfect drink for a cold afternoon. The drink for the children was alcohol free and equally tasty, and they still talk about it. After getting settled we went with a guide for a very long walk through the hills surrounding the hacienda. The guide was a knowledgeable and patient man who explain to the kids all about the local crops and animals. We were also taken to a farm house where we saw vegetable gardens and guinea pigs. The evening was relaxing, and we had a delightful dinner followed by a game of "cuarenta" with our host, who could not have been more friendly. The following day we went fishing, explored the area, went horseback riding and had an exhilarating canopy experience. In the evening, we had great food. Additionally breakfasts were delicious and abundant!
This hacienda and its surrounding areas were beautiful. The rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable and the hot water bottle they places under our sheet in the evening were perfect to keep our feet warm.
We want to go back soon, and next time, I will make sure my husband will accompany us. Although my children and I had a fabulous time, I think this can be a very romantic place. So, if you are looking for a romantic place, I believe this is a place for you too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hacienda Santa Ana is a peaceful and beautiful haven near the Cotopaxi National Park, and we couldn't have asked for a more wonderfully warm place to stay. The hacienda is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the service is amazing, the food is delicious. Our host, Luis, could not have been more kind and helpful. As our young daughter was ill, he brought her specials teas and drinks and heated water bottles and everything else he could think to make her (and the rest of us) comfortable. He spoke inpeccable English, was very knowledgeable about the area's history, and organized Cotopaxi and canopy (zip line) tours for us. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotopaxi Province
1.0 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
20.0 mi away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Ana

Property: Hacienda Santa Ana
Address: Via Entrada norte Parque Nacional Cotopaxi, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cotopaxi Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hacienda from 16th century that belonged to the Jesuits, it has been completely remodeled keeping its original style. We have 6 spacious luxury rooms with private bathroom and amenities. We are located between the Andes Mountains of Pasochoa, Ruminahui and Sincholagua, just 10 minutes from Cotopaxi. The activities that we offer are: Horseback riding, Biking, Canopy and trekking. Our food is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing