We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hacienda in the middle of the Andes”
Review of Hacienda Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Ana
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a great stay at Santa Ana hacienda. Beautiful and well preserved 1700 house in the middle of the Ecuadorian andes. Service and food were excellent - thanks to our host Augusto! Day trips including trekking and Andes horseback riding are totally recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocioVillafane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

I am writing this review during my 3 night stay at the Hacienda with my 2 teenage children. They want to be active so we are mountain biking and hiking and horseback riding in Cotopaxi National Park--but I require excellent food, good sheets and pillows, and great service. We are all very satisfied. The Hacienda is the restored Jesuit Monestary. The views of the surrounding mountains are beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife, three adult children, and I had a great experience at Hacienda Santa Ana. We have lifetime positive memories from our visit, and we hope to return. The hacienda was beautiful, clean, and had wonderful views. The food was excellent; the service even better. If you have an opportunity, going to Santa Ana is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Santa Ana as part of a two-week tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos. We were a group of three couples. Our travel agent had recommended Hacienda Hato Verde over Santa Ana but, as I am VERY particular when choosing lodging, I researched both properties extensively before going with Santa Ana. This choice was due to many of the reviews at Hato Verde mentioning how cold it was there. Not at Santa Ana, the fire was always going making it warm and cozy. Santa Ana is also a smaller property and seemed more remote which suited our tastes better. Our group was thrilled at the choice; Santa Ana would end up being our most favorite stay of the entire trip.

On arrival, the perfectly manicured grounds enveloped you in their beauty. As you check in and are escorted to your room, you get a feeling that you are in a special and exclusive place as there are only 6 rooms. Room #6 is the most spacious with two queen and one twin bed and a dresser for your things. I have also included photos of the other two rooms we had. The beds and pillows were heavenly which provided the best night's sleep for two in our group and the rooms are spotless which helped me (being a bit OCD) sleep like a baby.

Once settled in, we joined in the lounge by the fire to enjoy a welcome drink and hear the history of the property. The location is gorgeous, the views from the lounge area on a clear day or as the sunsets is glorious. Then to walk out on the lawn and look back at the hacienda while the sun is setting is a whole other experience. The location of the property is down a dirt road approximately 25 minutes from Cotopaxi National Park. The drive is beautiful, winding through the farmlands of Ecuador. We especially loved that if Cotopaxi is hidden behind clouds during your visit, as it was during our day excursion, Santa Ana is close enough that if you have a great guide, you can drive 10 minutes back towards the park and score amazing views of the massive volcano. Our guide took us back the next morning at sunrise in hopes of the clouds clearing and they did, those pictures of Cotopaxi are some of the best of our whole trip. We then decided to walk back to the hacienda, which was a wonderful walk through the countryside.

The staff were all lovely and attentive. We decided last minute to do the waterfall hike and they promptly had one of their own ready to guide us. I didn't think we would need a guide until I saw the trail or rather lack of. We decided to continue past the waterfall up over the hills looking down on the beautiful landscape below. Unfortunately, clouds rolled in and hid our views near the end. If you have the time and the legs, highly recommend this hike on a clear day. We made it back just in time for sunset, beautiful! I could have simply sat and soaked up the views from the lounge/living room and been quite content.

The food was delicious and served in their intimate dining room. Sadly, we only spent one night here; we all wished we had stayed longer. We especially loved the hot water bottles in our rooms at night. If you have the chance, stay at Hacienda Santa Ana, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Room #6 is the largest with two queen and one twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A friend and I stayed at Hacienda Santa Ana while touring Ecuador. It was amazing! The attention to detail, and the service from the staff, was the best we received on our entire trip. Lorena and Miguel were wonderful hosts, and Patricio was the best! We were able to go to Cotopaxi and to also ride horses, with Patricio guiding us on both excursions. Excellent food, excellent people, and excellent views!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We loved your hacienda. It was the best place we stayed at in Ecuador. (And we stayed at several excellent hotels and spa resorts.) The staff at Hacienda Santa Ana were wonderful and very organized. Our room was amazing and all the meals were delicious. The environment was outstanding - the fireplaces, the garden, the dining room and lobby were so beautiful. We loved going to Cotopaxi early in the morning and then having breakfast afterwards at Santa Ana. It was magical and a peak experience of our travels in Ecuador. Lastly, the flannel covered hot water bottles were the best touch to put in our beds before bedtime. Amazing!
Kevin and Patti

Room Tip: We had a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The place was a Jesuit hacienda, very peacefull with a gorgeous landscape of the Andes. You can rent horses and go to the Cotopaxi vulcano, very recommended. The service was superb, the food was one of the best I´ve tried in a hacienda, even the chef came to make sure we didn´t have any complaints. The house has interesting decoration with religious themes, the rooms used to be used by the high rank priests so they are designed as such and offers that peaceful retiring feeling. The place can get cold but the chimmeneys were lit and hot coffe and tea or drinks were offered. I would recommend not to miss this place, even though it is little known and it is kind of hidden, it is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Take extra sweaters, the place can get cold and it is still nice to walk around in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerCit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotopaxi Province
2.4 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#2 of 29 in Cotopaxi Province
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 29 in Cotopaxi Province
269 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 12 in Machachi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
361 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tambopaxi
Tambopaxi
#9 of 35 in Cotopaxi Province
102 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
#2 of 12 in Machachi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Ana

Address: Via Entrada norte Parque Nacional Cotopaxi, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cotopaxi Province
Price Range: £107 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hacienda from 16th century that belonged to the Jesuits, it has been completely remodeled keeping its original style. We have 6 spacious luxury rooms with private bathroom and amenities. We are located between the Andes Mountains of Pasochoa, Ruminahui and Sincholagua, just 10 minutes from Cotopaxi. The activities that we offer are: Horseback riding, Biking, Canopy and trekking. Our food is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing