We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre value”
Review of Hacienda Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Ana
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre value”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I honestly don't understand all of the amazing reviews on tripdadvisor for Hacienda Santa Ana. There is tremendous history to the site, and the surrounding area is lovely, but in terms of amenities and comfort the hotel is respectfully lacking in my view. The hotel does not have adequate heating and our room was quite cold the entire night. The hotel tries to mitigate this by providing hot water bottles for the bed, but at $200+ a night guests shouldn't have to put up with this.

The food was fine and our concierge lovely (I wish I remembered his name), but someone also needs to tell the kitchen staff to turn down the volume on their music when serving meals. It's quite loud and dinner guests are left with an unenjoyable blend of the intended peaceful music in the dining area with the loud pop music in the kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    16
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Santa Ana Hacienda and it is one of the highlights of our six weeks in Ecuador.

Everything was excellent from devine accommodations, spectacular scenery, yummy meals but most of all the warm friendly staff that made it really special. Both Emile and Patrizio were fantastic. Emile looked after our check in and everything else plus other travel arrangements and even cooked the best chicken dinner on the second night when we were the only guests there. Patrizio made sure the fire was always roaring and was fantastic on our ride - along with Francisco. It was Steves first time ever on a horse and he loved it.

Patrizio later took us to our next destination in Banos via an authentic saddlery so I could purchase some llama chaps and spurs!

We now have the perfect souvenirs to remember our wonderful stay at Santa Ana Hacienda and Cotopaxi.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaceyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel lives up to its pictures and all the positive reviews on trip advisor. Our bed was the best of our trip! What surprised me the most is how out of the way it is for how luxurious it it. It was freezing outside but our room was warmed with heated floors and we were given hot water bottles for our feet by the staff. You don't necessarily need a 4x4 to get here, but the road is very bumpy. My only regret is that we arrived much later than expected and had to leave early in the morning so we weren't able to fully appreciate the surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a great stay at Santa Ana hacienda. Beautiful and well preserved 1700 house in the middle of the Ecuadorian andes. Service and food were excellent - thanks to our host Augusto! Day trips including trekking and Andes horseback riding are totally recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocioVillafane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I am writing this review during my 3 night stay at the Hacienda with my 2 teenage children. They want to be active so we are mountain biking and hiking and horseback riding in Cotopaxi National Park--but I require excellent food, good sheets and pillows, and great service. We are all very satisfied. The Hacienda is the restored Jesuit Monestary. The views of the surrounding mountains are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife, three adult children, and I had a great experience at Hacienda Santa Ana. We have lifetime positive memories from our visit, and we hope to return. The hacienda was beautiful, clean, and had wonderful views. The food was excellent; the service even better. If you have an opportunity, going to Santa Ana is a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Santa Ana as part of a two-week tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos. We were a group of three couples. Our travel agent had recommended Hacienda Hato Verde over Santa Ana but, as I am VERY particular when choosing lodging, I researched both properties extensively before going with Santa Ana. This choice was due to many of the reviews at Hato Verde mentioning how cold it was there. Not at Santa Ana, the fire was always going making it warm and cozy. Santa Ana is also a smaller property and seemed more remote which suited our tastes better. Our group was thrilled at the choice; Santa Ana would end up being our most favorite stay of the entire trip.

On arrival, the perfectly manicured grounds enveloped you in their beauty. As you check in and are escorted to your room, you get a feeling that you are in a special and exclusive place as there are only 6 rooms. Room #6 is the most spacious with two queen and one twin bed and a dresser for your things. I have also included photos of the other two rooms we had. The beds and pillows were heavenly which provided the best night's sleep for two in our group and the rooms are spotless which helped me (being a bit OCD) sleep like a baby.

Once settled in, we joined in the lounge by the fire to enjoy a welcome drink and hear the history of the property. The location is gorgeous, the views from the lounge area on a clear day or as the sunsets is glorious. Then to walk out on the lawn and look back at the hacienda while the sun is setting is a whole other experience. The location of the property is down a dirt road approximately 25 minutes from Cotopaxi National Park. The drive is beautiful, winding through the farmlands of Ecuador. We especially loved that if Cotopaxi is hidden behind clouds during your visit, as it was during our day excursion, Santa Ana is close enough that if you have a great guide, you can drive 10 minutes back towards the park and score amazing views of the massive volcano. Our guide took us back the next morning at sunrise in hopes of the clouds clearing and they did, those pictures of Cotopaxi are some of the best of our whole trip. We then decided to walk back to the hacienda, which was a wonderful walk through the countryside.

The staff were all lovely and attentive. We decided last minute to do the waterfall hike and they promptly had one of their own ready to guide us. I didn't think we would need a guide until I saw the trail or rather lack of. We decided to continue past the waterfall up over the hills looking down on the beautiful landscape below. Unfortunately, clouds rolled in and hid our views near the end. If you have the time and the legs, highly recommend this hike on a clear day. We made it back just in time for sunset, beautiful! I could have simply sat and soaked up the views from the lounge/living room and been quite content.

The food was delicious and served in their intimate dining room. Sadly, we only spent one night here; we all wished we had stayed longer. We especially loved the hot water bottles in our rooms at night. If you have the chance, stay at Hacienda Santa Ana, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Room #6 is the largest with two queen and one twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotopaxi Province
22.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
107 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
341 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Ana

Property: Hacienda Santa Ana
Address: Via Entrada norte Parque Nacional Cotopaxi, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cotopaxi Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hacienda from 16th century that belonged to the Jesuits, it has been completely remodeled keeping its original style. We have 6 spacious luxury rooms with private bathroom and amenities. We are located between the Andes Mountains of Pasochoa, Ruminahui and Sincholagua, just 10 minutes from Cotopaxi. The activities that we offer are: Horseback riding, Biking, Canopy and trekking. Our food is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing