We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Tambopata Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tambopata National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tambopata Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were highly impressed with not only the cleanliness of the place but the over level of service was amazing. The guides were very knowledgable, helpful and interesting and the food was delicious!! It took a while to actually get there but it was well worth the travel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clm93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I traveled to the Lodge through G Adventures. There was a strike in the town of Puerto Maldonado so our tour guide met us at the airport and made arrangements to bring us directly to the lodge. We stayed for 3 nights. The accommodations were awesome, the food was tasty and plentiful and our guide (Josmell) was fantastic. He was well educated and excited to share his experience and knowledge about the local wildlife and agriculture. Even after the guided tours were done we didn't want to leave, it's beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a G package and would definitely stay again.

Our flight was delayed and we arrived just after sunset. We were taken to the main lounge and given some cold welcome drinks and filled out our registration forms then taken to our bungalows.

We had the choice of either having 2 bungalows which are in the same building and right next to each other or a family bungalow which was larger inside. We chose the 2 next to each other as it was closer to the main areas and we also had 2 showers rather than 1. Each of the beds had a mosquito net which was large enough to be able to be tucked in so we were completely covered.

There is no power to the bungalows but a number of candles lit up the room enough for us to get organised. They supply lighters also but we would strongly recommend that you take your torch as well. Mainly used it while we were having showers in the evening.

The showers were hot, however we had them cool as it was more refreshing after a day in the humidity. They also give you water in a jug for brushing your teeth. Drinking water is available in the main dining area and is filtered. You can purchase bottled water also. We found the filtered water fine for us and used this to fill drink bottles each day.

Meals were amazing and there was always enough. The lodge owns a farm not far away (you get a visit there depending on how long you stay) and they supply fresh fruit and vegetables each day. Mostly buffet style.

We had no phone coverage and there is no Wi-Fi which suited us. You can charge laptops, phones etc in the evening from about 5pm to 7pm while the generator is on in the main area.

We woke around 5am each morning from the noises of the jungle and the sun rise. It didn't bother us as this was why we were here.

On the first morning we were fitted out with wellington boots that we could use for the whole time we were there. We strongly recommend wearing them rather than your own walking boots and long socks. We were surprised at how comfortable they were to walk long distances in especially as we were there during the wet and had to walk through a lot of muddy areas.

DEET is a must if you don't want to get bitten by mosquitos. We also had our own bug spray which we sprayed each evening in our bungalow.

Drinks were fairly reasonable in price. A longneck beer was US 5.

Each evening while we were there, the guides and lodge staff played soccer at the back of the kitchen from 5 til 6. My 10 year old son was invited to play and it was a lot of fun to watch. The lodge has a resident green parrot called Homez/Homer and he sat on the goal posts laughing and mimicking the players.

During our stay we were lucky to see Capybara, Cayman, Macaws, Toucans, anaconda, vultures, Wolf Spider, Humming Birds, tarantula, bats, smelley bird, piranhas, owl butterfly, horned frog, red brocket deer, saddleback monkeys, tamarin monkeys, side neck turtle and many other butterflies, birds, bugs and monkeys.

At all times during our hikes we felt very safe. Our guide Hugo was very knowledgeable and spoke great English. Always happy to stop a bit longer at some places and move on at others from our requests.

We felt that the 4 nights was just enough to experience what the jungle had to offer and also gave us some down time. We would highly recommend it for active families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AdelaideFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This lodge was fantastic. We booked the 3 night package and felt the time was just right. The rooms are built on stilts and were clean and spacious. Mosquito nets were useful and the bathroom always had hot water. There were the occasional bugs but it is expected in the forest! Our guide, Julio Ceaser was excellent. Extremely knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. He spotted loads of animals, insects, etc for us on all the treks and ensured that we were all comfortable in the group while trekking. Our highlight was spotting a beautiful JAGUAR on the shore of the river while on night safari searching for caimans! That itself made our trip one to remember for life. The next day we also spotted an anaconda! 2 of the animals that are extremely rare to see and we managed both. Thrilled !!
The food in the lodge was delicious and they catered very well for both of us really well being vegetarian. The different juices every day were def a treat. We also got to taste some fresh Brasil nuts that Julio got for us from a tree at the lodge.
There is no electricity at the lodge but plenty of candles, and a charging station is available for mobiles although not much reception. Perfect for totally switching off from the world and having a peaceful relaxing break. The lounge us a nice place to chill, play board games, and enjoy a drink. It is very peaceful and there were times we would just spend on the hammock listening to all the forest sounds. Bliss :)
Some tips- pack really good insect repellent as there are loads of bugs! Do not forget waterproof clothes, sun screen, sun hat and hiking boots - a must!
We would highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting the Amazon and do ask to have Julio as your guide.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meera520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I loved my stay at Tambopata Eco Lodge. Was booked as part of a G Adventures package.

Rooms were clean and well-appointed for such a rural location.

Hammocks were lovely.

The swimming hole is clean, cold, and has fresh water with a strong current. Do not be afraid to swim in it. This was a highlight of my time there.

The day trips are excellent. Canoeing and cayman spotting were highlights. The guides are well-trained at spotting and it's clear that it is second nature to most of them at this point.

Food was tasty and plentiful. The juices at each meal were a highlight. The chicha morada, in particular, was delightful. Only minor detail was that dinner included MANY carbs. Second day dinner had rice, pasta, potatoes, and one other starch which I can't remember right now. The mains, however, were still delectable.

The beds and showers were excellent. Mosquito nets > adequate.

The onsite bar was very fun! Make sure to stop in for a game of Jenga after a long day in the jungle.

Wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked through Discover Adventures and after the Inca Trail we visited this amazing part of the world.

Elvis was our guide in the Amazon and he was brilliant! Funny, intelligent and spotted insects, plants and animals easily. He really made our trip one to remember.

The lodge itself was very peaceful. Hot showers, bug netting on windows and over the beds, no electricity in the rooms but plenty of candles were provided and the bar and restaurant area were extremely clean and bug free.

The food was fab too with plenty on offer and different sitting times for different groups so the dining room was never cramped.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Perfect for those who just want to chill out but also caters for those wanting to get out there and explore. The eco-lodge was well set-out, great guides (Julio & Hugo). I had a cockroach on my bed, but hey, it's the Amazon. The rooms were pretty nice actually, the food was great. They have a charging station for all your electronic devices, the bar looked pretty good, supply of games and books for your leisure. They also have a little pool, but I've heard that the water there is a bit dicey, enter at your own risk I guess. The guides we had were flexible and open to suggestions which is what you want. I wish I saw more wildlife, but, given the reality of the environment (primarily the climate and harsh downpour), it is what it is. We got to see caymans at night which was cool and also saw capybaras, spiders, and a porcupine on a tree (we were lucky!). I stayed 2 nights here, but to make the most of your stay I'd recommend staying longer if you can afford to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
23.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
553 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
194 reviews
8 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#8 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
22.4 mi away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
131 reviews
1 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Ecolodge

Address: near Puerto Maldonado | Puerto Maldonado area, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tambopata Eco Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Ecolodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing