We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Eco Lodge but No Privacy”
Review of Tambopata Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tambopata National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tambopata Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Eco Lodge but No Privacy”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The people here were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and we'll screened - we didn't feel the need to put down our mosquito nets at night. They were spacious too and biodegradable soap and shampoo was provided. You could have hot water showers during the day when the sun heated up the water tanks. The bungalows are lit by candlelight which was novel and kinda cool!

However, the ceiling is shared with he room next door so there is little privacy in the rooms with regards to noise. Wasn't a massive thing but not ideal certainly.

Food here was wonderful and is served buffet style. The yucca chips are amazing! There's always fresh juice and filtered water to drink. The bar is not too dear though. Beer is 15 soles and a bottle of fanta is 4 soles.

There are some trails that you can wander yourselves from the resort which was good. The swimming hole is literally a running creek and be careful of the mud there - I slipped down the ladder and it didn't seem that safe!

Only short walk from the river itself. Lots of wildlife. We saw a boa and hummingbirds just outside the lounge, as well as frogs, insects and birds, which we could literally watch from our beds!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    53
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
69
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After arriving at the airport we were picked up by bus and brought to a dock where we boarded a boat to take us up river to the lodge. Doing this, you know there are no roads where you are going which is pretty cool! You have to stop at the guard shack as you head up river to "check in" (our guide did this for us as we waited in the boat). We arrived and were shown to our room which was nice. There was no electricity in the rooms which was expected so make sure to have a flashlight with you. I went on several excursions which included hiking, taking a trip up the river to a working farm, night hiking in the rain forest and a boat tour on one of the oxbow lakes (which included fishing for piranha!) If you happen to catch a pirahna, they will even cook it for you for dinner. The guides were great and very accommodating. He had us climbing up the inside of trees and swinging out on vines and also "fishing for tarantula" with leaves on the night hikes (some really fun stuff!) My stay here was part of a trip I booked through G Adventures.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the bungalows are all pretty much the same. Some are just closer to the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place was the perfect closure for my trip in Peru. We stayed in a small, not very comfortable lodge, with muddy water in the bathroom, and 2 candles instead of electricity. But i loved it. Hearing the birds and the chimpanzees all day long was the best feature, along with the really good food. Our guide, -despite his craziness-, was nice and made us feel very safe in our amazon excursions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XeniaPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived at the airport unsure of our arrangements as we were on an extension to the Inca Trail trek and had no rep. Elvis, our local Guide met us at the airport and all arrangements for transportation were excellent.

The ride up river to the lodge was amazing with many animals being pointed out to us along the way was just a taste of what was to come. The lodge was clean, homely and extremely comfortable - hot drinks and water available 24/7 and although other guests can hear you if you are sharing a roof - it's not as bad as it first seems.

The food was amazing - plenty of energy for the treks provided and the surroundings were beautiful - watching the local Raccoon and Homero the Parrot were wonderful after a trek - I savoured every moment in the peace and quiet (especially with a nice cold beer!)

Elvis, our guide was absolutely fantastic - really knowledgeable and friendly and he made the treks an absolute pleasure.

Desperate now to return - was an amazing experience and I would fully recommend this lodge to anyone with an interest in wildlife.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stitchercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We went here with g adventures trip for 2 nights. The bungalows were comfortable with hot showers, big bed-it was our honeymoon so they designed the towels in heart shape& wrote 'I love you' in rose petals.

The guide Ronald was very good.he had good eye for spotting animals.nothing was too much for him.

Only downside was the food-cold & it was 1st come 1st serve.so had to be quick.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jsg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here. Amazing guide, Ronald, showed us around the jungle. He also took us to a very remote lake to try and spot an anaconda. Found anaconda tracks but not the beast itself. Saw huge tarantulas, piranhas, caimans, capybara, emerald boa, sleeping kolibris and plenty other animals. Nights were magical!

Only big minus was the food: Same food goes around in cycles of two days (same lunch and dinner every other day) which is ok if you are there for less than 4 nights. Also you eat every 7-8h which can lead to you being famished a big part of the day. Only snacks available are Snickers bars, Pringles etc from the bar.. We are a fit couple in our twenties and this was a problem for us and another young couple who was there at the same time with us.. But at least the food was good :

Hint: Bring strong mosquito repellent!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gurumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not a bad place to stay, when you're checking out the Amazon rainforest. Comfy beds, good meals, and nice layout. You will "share" a roof with another guest(s) in each cabin. So be prepared to hear every move they make, and for them to hear you too!

Room Tip: Ask if there are any cabins where you will be the only guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
23.9 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
132 reviews
23.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
513 reviews
8.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
817 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#8 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
16.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Ecolodge

Property: Tambopata Ecolodge
Address: near Puerto Maldonado | Puerto Maldonado area, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tambopata Eco Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Ecolodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing