We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Amazon experience.”
Review of Tambopata Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tambopata Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly and accommodating, the surroundings are fabulous, and everything about the place rocks. Rooms are so clean, food is amazingly delicious (best chili sauce in the world), and great excursions. Got to trek through the forest, feed piranha, and take a boat down the river at night to see caimans (and in the process see the amazing stars, as there is absolutely no light pollution). Only complaint is lack of insulation between rooms in the bungalows, your neighbors can hear you and you can hear your neighbors. Needs insulation.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameraroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Coming from just about anywhere in Peru, the first thing that hits you is the humidity. Down on the river ride into the lodge, the air is cool and damp but the minute you go up the bank and into the complex, it's steam city. The huts are screened and completely enclosed with an open ventilated area above you share with your duplex neighbor so no noise/conversation privacy. But critters don't fly in and hang out with you at night! Floors and baths are tiled for easy cleaning. Water pressure is fine if you are the only one taking a shower but as it works out, most people come back from an excursion and take showers at the same time so the pressure goes down to a heavy drip. Hot water is solar heated and there will be plenty provided the sun is shining. No electricity except lights lining the paths an at the stairs of each of the huts. Light at night is by candle. Linen is changed after 2 nights and it usually needs it. There is electricity for charging from 6-10 at night and for a couple of hrs at noon at a community station which gets looking like a birds nest of monofilament from an unruly fishing reel.

Food is good and plentiful with lots of fresh fruit, pork chops, chicken and the ever present arroz and potatoes. Breakfasts always have eggs and yogurt with some meat and cheese. There is a bar with cold beer and some ability to make mixed drinks but nothing exotic. With the heat and humidity, beer is the preferred beverage. Drinking water is taken from a nearby stream and treated with chlorine and iodine but there is bottled water to purchase.

The guides are what makes or breaks the experience and they have good ones on the staff. Your day starts with a boat ride to a local trail for a hike and you are back in time for lunch with the afternoon free to walk the local trails around the complex or go for a dip in the local stream to cool off. There is an optional pre dinner activity each night which might be a night walk down one of the trails of a ride out on the river to see what may be hanging out on the banks.

Things to consider for this type of trip...We got lucky and it only rained the last night. But, it really rains when it rains and the rive came up 5 feet by morning. When it rains, the roofs do leak. Not badly but you don't want all your dry clothes sitting under one of the drips. There is not much to do when it rains. Be prepared to stick to the sheets whether it rains or not. The hiking is done in gum boots on muddy trails which can get real slick and it would get to the point of having most of your attention focused on not doing a face plant in the mud rather than trying to spot wildlife. During certain times of the year, the mosquitoes can nearly carry you away in a vampiric frenzy so deet is a must. For our trip there were hardly any mosquitoes and no need to use the netting at night. Viewing wildlife is hit or miss. There are no guarantees you are going to see anything in particular. We hiked out to a bluff where there were blinds set up to view macaws only to find a hawk perched across from the cliff that the macaws use to get salt. So, no macaws that day. You most likely will see Caymans, agouti, racoons, monkeys, snakes, lots of creepy crawly bugs, macaws and parrots. An afternoon trip to the farm is worth it just to see the variety of plants that grow in the area and you get to sample a lot of fruits that may be new to you. This trip is about managing expectations and you can have a good time and experience some new things provided you don't set your comfort requirements too high.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave57966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The people here were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and we'll screened - we didn't feel the need to put down our mosquito nets at night. They were spacious too and biodegradable soap and shampoo was provided. You could have hot water showers during the day when the sun heated up the water tanks. The bungalows are lit by candlelight which was novel and kinda cool!

However, the ceiling is shared with he room next door so there is little privacy in the rooms with regards to noise. Wasn't a massive thing but not ideal certainly.

Food here was wonderful and is served buffet style. The yucca chips are amazing! There's always fresh juice and filtered water to drink. The bar is not too dear though. Beer is 15 soles and a bottle of fanta is 4 soles.

There are some trails that you can wander yourselves from the resort which was good. The swimming hole is literally a running creek and be careful of the mud there - I slipped down the ladder and it didn't seem that safe!

Only short walk from the river itself. Lots of wildlife. We saw a boa and hummingbirds just outside the lounge, as well as frogs, insects and birds, which we could literally watch from our beds!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After arriving at the airport we were picked up by bus and brought to a dock where we boarded a boat to take us up river to the lodge. Doing this, you know there are no roads where you are going which is pretty cool! You have to stop at the guard shack as you head up river to "check in" (our guide did this for us as we waited in the boat). We arrived and were shown to our room which was nice. There was no electricity in the rooms which was expected so make sure to have a flashlight with you. I went on several excursions which included hiking, taking a trip up the river to a working farm, night hiking in the rain forest and a boat tour on one of the oxbow lakes (which included fishing for piranha!) If you happen to catch a pirahna, they will even cook it for you for dinner. The guides were great and very accommodating. He had us climbing up the inside of trees and swinging out on vines and also "fishing for tarantula" with leaves on the night hikes (some really fun stuff!) My stay here was part of a trip I booked through G Adventures.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the bungalows are all pretty much the same. Some are just closer to the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place was the perfect closure for my trip in Peru. We stayed in a small, not very comfortable lodge, with muddy water in the bathroom, and 2 candles instead of electricity. But i loved it. Hearing the birds and the chimpanzees all day long was the best feature, along with the really good food. Our guide, -despite his craziness-, was nice and made us feel very safe in our amazon excursions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XeniaPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived at the airport unsure of our arrangements as we were on an extension to the Inca Trail trek and had no rep. Elvis, our local Guide met us at the airport and all arrangements for transportation were excellent.

The ride up river to the lodge was amazing with many animals being pointed out to us along the way was just a taste of what was to come. The lodge was clean, homely and extremely comfortable - hot drinks and water available 24/7 and although other guests can hear you if you are sharing a roof - it's not as bad as it first seems.

The food was amazing - plenty of energy for the treks provided and the surroundings were beautiful - watching the local Raccoon and Homero the Parrot were wonderful after a trek - I savoured every moment in the peace and quiet (especially with a nice cold beer!)

Elvis, our guide was absolutely fantastic - really knowledgeable and friendly and he made the treks an absolute pleasure.

Desperate now to return - was an amazing experience and I would fully recommend this lodge to anyone with an interest in wildlife.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stitchercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We went here with g adventures trip for 2 nights. The bungalows were comfortable with hot showers, big bed-it was our honeymoon so they designed the towels in heart shape& wrote 'I love you' in rose petals.

The guide Ronald was very good.he had good eye for spotting animals.nothing was too much for him.

Only downside was the food-cold & it was 1st come 1st serve.so had to be quick.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jsg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tambopata National Reserve hotels
4.9 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
196 reviews
25.6 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
565 reviews
7.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#3 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
90 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
14 reviews
20.3 mi away
Inotawa Lodge
Inotawa Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Ecolodge

Address: near Puerto Maldonado | Puerto Maldonado area, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: £188 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tambopata Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Eco Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Ecolodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing