We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volunteering at Wasai!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Volunteering at Wasai!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My girlfriend and I visited Wasai Tambopata Lodge for 10 days at the beginning of September as volunteers. It was unreservedly one of the best things I have ever done!

Our "work" while we were involved walking most mornings to a small tree house overlooking a colpa (clay lick) and watching and waiting for animals to come after which we would record various details about them. We also helped the staff out around the lodge and demonstrated how weak we were trying to carry bits of wood around for a new research centre they are building...

In return we received discounted food and lodging and got to tag along with the tourist groups on all the tours. We went to the huge macaw clay lick, a waterfall, kayaking down the river, on guided walks through the jungle, caiman watching and on our last day, a visit to the Sandoval lake. During our time we saw monkeys, pecari (wild pigs), tarantulas, capybara, giant otters, agouti, bats, all manner of birds and many many others.

It was fantastic. The staff were so lovely and welcoming to us and included us in everything so we really felt like one of the team (despite our incompetence at most of our tasks!). I played football with them most evenings and most our time not spent doing other things we chatted and they helped us practise our spanish. Also, because we were joining up with different groups each day for the tours, we experienced lots of different guides, all of whom were brilliant, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about showing their guests what the jungle had to offer. Mario, the owner, was great. Really passionate about what he does and fantastically helpful about accommodating everything we wanted to do.

The food was basic but tasty, even for my girlfriend who is a vegetarian which was a real issue in other places we visited in Peru. We stayed in the same lodges as the tourists which were lovely and one of the nicest places we slept in our budget tour of the country!

Whether you stay as a tourist or a volunteer at Wasai, I can't recommend it enough. An experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leascl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    40
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
68
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were on a family trip to see as much of Peru as we could in 16 days and our first stop was Wasai Tambopata Lodge for a 3 day/2 night stay. The lodge consists of a main building with open sided lobby/bar/dining area and individual bungalows along two paths above the river. The bungalows are rustic but very pleasant. Picture dark tropical hardwoods, mosquito nets over comfortable beds and semi modern (no hot water) private bathrooms.

The food during our stay was tasty: Modest portions of mostly vegetarian fare with interesting sauces and the occasional outstanding meat entree. The bar was staffed intermittently - you could normally only get a drink in the evenings immediately before or after dinner. The generator operates only from 6p to 10p, otherwise there is no power and therefore no lights.

Our competent naturalist Juancarlo conducted us on spooky nightwalks thru the jungle; day hikes ditto and river trips including to clay licks for the macaws and caiman spotting at night.

Be advised that the lodge is built in the buffer zone around Tambopata National Reserve and is therefore bereft of monkeys and most other large animals. Patches of forest along this portion of the river have been cleared off and on over the decades and the jungle is not entirely pristine, though it is still impressive with many 500 year old trees and stately canopy.

If you book through a tour company as we did, get them to provide a voucher to bring with you so you don't have difficulty when checking out in Puerto Maldonado.

Room Tip: If given a choice, pick one of the newer bungalows. There were 16 at the time of our visit and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ras828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We loved this place! Fabulous main lodge, bar and dining area with lots of birds and a parrot visiting us in the dining room one day. The food and service was excellent. Don't miss the tree house lounging area above the dining room to watch birds building their nests, complete with hammocks. The bungalows are very basic and cool, mostly 4 rooms in one building (one on each corner), with only cold water in the private showers, netting to cover the pretty comfy bed, large deck area with hammocks and jungle chairs, our room looked over the Tambopata River, lots of flowers, fruit trees, lizards, insects, and great nature walks. Loved the clay lick with a rainbow of colorful parrots and mackaws, and even saw red howler monkeys. Looked for caimans and tarantulas at night - spooky but exciting. Our guide, Jorge, born and raised in Puerto Maldonado, was very knowledgeable and friendly. Three days was plenty of time in the hot, sweltery jungle, and we loved every minute. The boats with seats facing forward instead of to the side are the most comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Tambopata River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breckenridge_COKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Two of us stayed at Wasai Tambopata Lodge for a 2 night/ 3 day excursion in October. We had a wonderful time. Our guide, Victor, was knowledgeable and fun. We saw amazing wildlife and plants, and had lots of relaxation time as well.

I was a little worried about how rustic it would be, but was pleasantly surprised. It was like going to an overnight summer camp (the kind that kids in North America go to), except that the beds are more comfortable, you have a private bathroom, and you are in the middle of the Amazon! The rooms were simple, clean and well screened, but not very sound proof (hope for quiet neighbours!)

The food was fresh and tasty, and the portions were good. I wished that they served more fresh fruit – seeing as how there were trees right outside the main lodge! (Tip: bring snacks as you’ll probably get hungry between meals and with all the physical activity). Cold showers weren’t a problem (very refreshing!), and electricity only from 6-10pm was fine as well (just in time to charge batteries and get ready for bed).

There weren’t too many mosquitoes (apparently, not the time of year for them), but watch for other biting insects. DEET did a good job and I was bitten less than during a typical summer camping trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We did the 2 nights 3 days visit to the Amazon. The company were fantastic in their booking process and answering all my questions. The pick up at the airport was excellent and then taking us to the lodge before departing by boat down stream. We were asked our shoe size before we arrived but never received any boots or told that the booking was for just us to having our own personal guide for the whole was pretty amazing. The Tambopata lodge is just gorgeous, really well built and comfortable. The beds are comfy and they provide mosquito nets. There is no electricity and they run on a generator from 6pm-10pm. Also there is not hot water. We had a fantastic stay and thorougly enjoyed all the activities from kayaking, treking in the jungle, swimming in the river, zip line etc. I highly recommend it.

Our guide Jorge was excellent, really knew his stuff and was so enthusiastic and competent. The food is exceptional! So fresh and tasty!

The only downfall was knowing that it was going to be just us we could have made a flight we wanted to get but had to book a flight the following day as we didnt' think we would be back in time when in fact we were and as it was only us we could have asked for an earlier departure. But all in all amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandalShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We did the 3 night 4 day adventure package in august. It was colder
than normal when we did it (around 15-20 degrees c).

The guides from the company met us at the airport on time and took us
on the boat journey to the lodge. The lodge has a very homely feel.
The rooms are comfortable and kept very clean.

During our time there we did kayaking, zip wiring, tree climbing,
caiman searching, parrot clay lick and several walks. Our tour guide
Steven was very knowledgable and very friendly. He made some of the
activities (that I thought would not be as fun such as the walks)
extremely enjoyable and I felt that he has taught us a lot. He was our
tour guide for all activities and it was just us 2 and Steven doing
the activities together so it was very personal.

The owner of the lodge was extremely nice and went out of his way to
ensure that we could do all of our activities safely and enjoyably. He
gave us lots of encouragement with the tree climbing which was hard
but very satisfying. He timed it so that we could watch sunset 50m
high above all the trees. You can tell he cares a great deal about his
guests and his lodge.

Food was very good with incredible variety. There was a bar area where
we met a lot of other people doing different activities.

All in all I would definitely recommend it. Probably one of the best
lodges and staff there. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkhilStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My friends and I had reserved a stay at the lodge in August to do the Amazon Adventure 4 days/3 nights. First, I really appreciated their patience with answering all my questions over the several weeks I had been emailing them for detailed information. They almost always responded back in a very timely manner and it's what helped us make the decision to sign up! The eco-lodge was beautiful and I really appreciated the care that they displayed towards the environment by conserving electricity, water, and also by recycling as well as separating organic waste to compost.

The lodge was absolutely beautiful, the view of the river was amazing from our bungalow, and the place overall was nice. We loved the staff member, Juanita. She was so sweet, and we enjoyed having a dance party with her!

Every time I talk about our jungle experience, I can't help but speak very warmly about Paul, our jungle guide for the 4 days. We all agree that we were truly lucky to have had such an interesting, knowledgeable, and really fun guide to teach us about the rainforest. He grew up in the jungle and knows all the sights, scents, and sounds of the jungle. He spoke English very well, along with a few of other languages.

The activities were a lot of fun, we did not have a lot of free time to ourselves, just enough to rest a little or for a quick shower. I'm glad they had something for us to do all day! We went on a night walk, morning walk, swimming/kayaking, ziplining, night boat ride to search for caimans, tree climbing, fishing, and at our request a dance party (we were a silly group). We saw many different animals and bugs, and learned about various vegetation.

The accommodations were clean and quite nice, the bed had a mosquito net over it and the shower was clean and nice. Electricity only from 6pm to 10 pm which was fine since we were tired from the day and ready to sleep. They provide candles in the bungalow and a pitcher of filtered water. The boat ride from Puerto Maldonado was great, we saw a lot of animals on our way (macaws at the clay lick later in the afternoon!).

The food was great as well! I was very happy with all of my vegetarian meals (yes, they were even vegetarian friendly!). Nothing makes for a better experience than jungle food and fresh juice. They had cooked the fish that Paul had caught for those who wanted to eat it.

4 days was certainly not enough time for us, but we had such a memorable time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
15.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
807 reviews
24.4 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
845 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
11.0 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#8 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
64 reviews
43.6 mi away
Green Diamond Amazon Lodge
Green Diamond Amazon Lodge
#11 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasai Tambopata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasai Tambopata Lodge

Property: Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Address: | 50 Km. from Puerto Maldonado in a straight line, approximately 120 Km. up the river, Tambopata National Reserve, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wasai Tambopata Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WASAI Tambopata Lodge is located in the heart of the amazon, approximately 50 Km. Away from Puerto Maldonado in a straight line, and approximately 120 Km. Up the river, in the heart of the Tambopata Candamo National Reserve, surrounded by National parks There are 20km of protected forest trails around the lodge, which enhances possibilities to see amazon wildlife. We can visit the local community of Baltimore and share the way of life and the natural beauty such as . The El Gato Waterfalls, and parrots and mammals clay licks . Fishing is also possible. Up-river from the lodge there are no more dwellings. The lack of people and the closeness to the Andes create an habitat with abundance of flora and fauna not seen in other areas of the amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wasai Tambopata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wasai Tambopata Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Wasai Tambopata Lodge Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing