We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

What an incredible place! We loved every minute of our time at TRC. The location, the staff, the trails, the guides...everything was perfect!

Keep in mind that you are staying in the rainforest at a place with no electricity or hot water. The bathrooms are shared and there's little to no privacy. The great thing is that absolutely none of that matters! Go with an open mind and a spirit of adventure and you will have an amazing time. The food is basic, but very delicious. The staff is incredibly helpful and the guides will make sure you have the time of your life. We saw more birds, monkeys, spiders, etc., than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardinalsFan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    65
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
123
195
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Tambopata Research Center was such a great experience, i would highly recommend it to anybody thinking of visiting the Amazon in Peru. Me and my husband took our 12-year old son on a two-week holiday to Peru booked through Dolatinamerica (who i would also recommend - very helpful and friendly staff). For the whole family, the highlight of the trip was Tambopata Research Center. The sense of being out in the middle of nowhere, and the beauty was amazing. And the lodging far passed our expectations. The food was tasty, the rooms clean, but the staff and guides are what made the experience what it was. The wildlife and excursions were top notch. My son absolutely loved the place. And to be able to join an Amazon trip with a visit to Machu Picchu was a dream come true.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We were greeted at the airport in Puerto Maldonado by our guide Oscar, he is fantastic! We took a 45 minute boat ride to Posada Amazonas. We started off by staying 2 days at Posada Amazonas. We went to the clay lick and were treated to 20 - 30 Greenwinged Macaws and a group of Howler monkeys. We then visited the parakeets clay lick no parakeets but a very rare daytime visit by a Tapir.

We then took off for Tambopata Research Center it was an incredible journey deep into the Amazon. The lodge is clean and rustic and very comfortable. This is the raining season and there were only 3 eco tourist, about 6 researchers and the staff. We basically had the place to ourselves. We did not have the good luck we had in Posada Amazonas at the clay lick. But we had several troops of spider monkeys, Titi Monkeys and Howler monkey around most of the time.

The best part is February is fledgling season and we went to one of the monitored Scarlet Macaw nest -- the only pair that had raise 3 chicks. We got to watch the researchers bring them down, take measurements and vitals. We were even allowed to hold one!

At night the researchers gave us a presentation of their work with Scarlet Macaws. This part of the Amazon is still left intact. You can experience a virgin world it is truly amazing.

On a sad note Brazil and Peru are building a major highway through the Amazon and it will come within 20k of the boarder of Tambopato National Reserve. Upriver from Puerto Maldonado they are going to build a Dam on one of the rivers that feeds the Amazon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grahamdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poway, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed at TRC for 6 days and 5 nights in November, 2010. I had wanted to go to the Amazon ever since I was a little boy growing up in New York City. We had a fantastic time. This is an authentic rainforest experience. We saw incredible amounts of wildlife -- macaws, parrots, parakeets, toucans, capybara, 6 different monkey species, trumpeters, caiman, huge tarantulas, snakes, giant river otters and even a jaguar!

Our guide, Fernando, was incredible. He knew the jungle like the back of his hand. He guided us gently, but firmly, and share his knowledge willingly. He even showed us around his hometown of Puerto Maldonado at the end of our stay in the rainforest.

This trip has whetted my appetite to return to the Amazon rainforest. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for an adventure, that is relatively safe, although a bit rugged (no hot water, no windows in rooms, limited privacy and electricity). The fact that we could have internet access -- even if just for an hour or two per day -- in the middle of nowhere, was a huge added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I have stayed at the Tambopata Research Center already 3 times (in 2005, 2009 and 2010) and I'm planning to go back again next year. I really love the place. The rainforest is just amazing. There are many trails to hike and the guides are excellent. This is very important as it is often difficult to discover animals in the jungle. The guides are very good at spotting animals. It's unbelievable how they find monkeys, birds and other animals. They have an excellent knowledge about the rainforest and its plants and animals.

Everything is organized extremely well, the food is very tasty and the rooms are fantastic. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lodge is situated in the middle of the rainforest close to the large claylick where you can observe many different species of parrots, parakeets and macaws.

The thing I like best about the TRC is that the "chicos" come back to the lodge and interact with the tourists. The "chicos" are a few macaws that were saved from starvation, hand-raised by the macaw project and then successfully re-introduced into the wild. They have wild mates and behave like wild macaws, but they come back to the lodge and sometimes try to steal food from the tourists. This gives the tourists fantastic opportunities to take photos (even close-ups) and interact with the birds.

Moreover, researchers who work for the Tambopata Macaw Project also stay at the TRC and give talks and presentations about their work and the macaws. During the breeding season (around December to February) tourists can watch the researchers climb nesting trees, lower the macaw chicks and check and weigh them. A very unique experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikiriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

A fantastic facility in a stunningly beautiful place, supporting the conservation of the Amazon's precious and ever-dwindling forests and inhabitants. The wildlife, our guides, the entire staff were first class, friendly and more than helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyroxMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I am a volunteer researcher at TRC and have been there six times since 2005. Granted I have not been a "tourist" there, I can still say that it is the best place I have ever been. I have worked with many of the tour guides, tasted all of the food, and basically lived at the lodge for many months during the past six years. The staff is wonderful and will do anything they can to make the guests comfortable and welcome. The guides have a true passion for their job and are extremely well informed. The food is great. And of course the biodiversity is the best! It's virtually impossible to go on a trail and NOT see something cool.

My suggestions to anyone thinking about this location:
This is a RAINFOREST lodge for people that LOVE the outdoors. You will not be staying in a fancy hotel. You will be experiencing nature- the whole time. You may find a gecko or hot-pink caterpillar crawling along the shelf in your room, a macaw at your table during breakfast, or a pink-toed tarantula living in the ceiling of the bathroom. However, the rooms are very nice and mosquito nets are provided. Nothing will crawl on you while you sleep if you tuck in your net. Do check your shoes if you get up at night to go to the bathroom though. I do agree with some of the other comments about ear plugs. The walls between the rooms are made of bamboo and you can hear other people. The power is usually on around 6-9 in the evening and when the lights go out everybody goes to bed, but you can hear howler monkeys and insects and people snoring. If you are a light sleeper, bring some ear plugs.

Make sure you bring long sleeves and pants as well as repellant. You will need "house clothes" and "trail clothes". Typically, two sets of each should be plenty unless you're staying a couple of weeks. I know it sounds strange, but you may want to bring one sweat shirt- especially if you are going in the dry season. They do occasionally get cold fronts and you won't have a heater available. It doesn't get super cold though so don't worry too much. Also bring some type of poncho or rain suit.

Somebody mentioned that you weren't allowed to wear shoes indoors; you aren't allowed to wear your MUDDY rubber boots or hiking boots indoors, but other shoes are fine (the staff isn't unrealistic). Bring some light weight tennis shoes, crocks, or flip flops for wearing while in the lodge. I find crocks to be the most convinient because they are waterproof, easy to travel in (slipping on and off in the airport), and you can comfortably wear them with socks at night. Speaking of socks- that is the one thing you definitely want to bring an extra pair or two of.

Most of the time you will have power at night to recharge batteries... And usually slow internet access is available when the power is on. There are times when the generator gets sick or the internet isn't so great and you have to do without the luxury of internet and instead enjoy a nice candlelight dinner. These times aren't common, but do exist so bring a flashlight and headlamp.

Other must haves: pepto, camera, extra camera battery and memory card, cash (as they do not take credit/debit cards at the lodge) and a good book or deck of cards in case it's raining all day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sescrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
22.5 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
807 reviews
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
846 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
19.5 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#8 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Property: Tambopata Research Center
Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing