We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tambopata RC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tambopata Research Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tambopata RC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We spent our last week of Peru in Tambopata RC with one night stop to the Refugio Amazonas. These lodges share some architectural elements and their rooms are very similar. My wife and my 14year old daughter liked it very much. We walked a lot in the forests.
Two nights out of five we heard from our beds rain downpours but during the days we were luckily - we did not use once the rain jackets. The boots provided by the lodges also proved to be a very good idea.
Our guide was Yuri, with great experience identifying the jungle sounds and then locating their source. We were able to see dozens of mammals, birds and insects. We did not see a jaguar but saw ocelot tracks. The birds density was quite shocking for us. Yuri provided context for a lot of amazonian activities. I believe he worked in the past with gold mining operations, Brazil nut collection and some local forms of agriculture before becoming a guide. His English was really good (he probably spends more time per year guiding tourists than with his family). I was also quite impressed with guides speaking German.
The most memorable moments were the night walks. I highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xergiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    63
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
120
190
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at Refugio Amazonas for one night before travelling up river to the smaller Tambopata RC which we slightly preferred although it was a longer walk to the toliets and the showers were just as cold (remember to shower at lunchtime!).
Our guide Yuri was great company as well as being very good at his job. We stayed for 3 nights and the food was good throughout, watchout for the macaws at breakfast and don't leave your food unattended!
Yuri and Jorge sorted us out with Kayaks and we then travelled back down river in them supported by a boat and driver, camping overnight in the jungle, this was an absolutely brilliant experience, we thought we had got close to nature already but we could virtually touch it in the quiet of the kayaks. I can't quite believe we have kayaked and swam in the Tambopata!
We saw an abundance of wildlife on the boat trip, walks and kayaking including the elusive Jaguar - good spot Yuri!
All the staff are friendly and helpful.
The beds are comfortable and everytihing is clean and well run.
My only suggestion would be to set up a charging system which you could charge drinks etc to and pay at the office in Porto Maldonado at the end of your trip. but then other people probably took enough cash with them!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScaryMarySouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Hi
I´ve been in Tambopata Research Center and for me, it was the best thing of my travel in Peru. I´ve visited too Cuzco and Machu Picchu, National Park Huascarán and Tambopata was the best for me. The forest, the calm, the animal, the nature... you can forget of the rest of the world and the staff is very nice and the lodgement too.
Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mreyes39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

When one goes for a 'Jungle Experience' , you prepare yourself knowing it will be hot and lots of 'critters'. Well, it was all of that, which is what the 'experience' was all about and we absolutely loved it. Accommodations and personnel can also be important.
The lodges, Refugio and Tampobata were 'Top Notch' Clean, well run with VERY hospitable staff. The part that impressed me the most was how they treated their environment, with respect. I can't begin to say how happy we were with our guide, Ivan. Absolutely a wonderful person that took great pains to be sure we had a great time. He took pride in his knowledge and his job. 'Hats Off' to Ivan.

Room Tip: Best Room?! IT's The Jungle! They are all good and OPEN to the whole experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SignGuy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I loved my tambopata jungle excursion. The stuff I saw in Tambopata, especially at the Tambopata Research Center, was amazing. I personally saw over 100 species of birds, all species of monkeys in the area, tree climbing ant eaters, giant tarantulas, and of course, the coolest thing.... a jaguar.

Rainforest Expeditions was, by far, the nicest outfit in Tambopata. Their guides are all great, speak perfect English (and you can practice your spanish with them too) and the lodging is very comfortable considering your in the middle of nowhere in the jungle. The company has very eco-friendly practices and their business model is something to admire, to say the least.

When you go, I would recommend staying at all 3 lodges on the same trip - minimum 5 days. You'll get a different perspective and see tons of wildlife. A trip to the Tambopata Research Center lodge is long, but TOTALLY worth the effort. Don't forget, good binoculars are a must on this type of trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and equally nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_Travels_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Awesome, well worth the additional trip up river. Refugio is very good but Tambopata offers a unique experience and I can't recommend it highly enough. I am a bit of a softy, not mad on insects, mud is not my thing and I hate anything that resembles camping but Tambopata to me was perfect. Yes there are insects but we have worse mozzies in NZ, nothing in the room despite being open to the jungle, they give you wellies so who cares about a bit of mud and the rooms - well sleeping in a room open to the jungle is incredible. Waking to the sound of howler monkeys is something I will always remember.
The guides all seemed great but of course we thought ours (Ruben) was best, they are incredibly knowledgeable and its all so very well organised. Our guide was a biologist and clearly loves the jungle and Tambopata, he went the extra mile to ensure we made the most of our time. There is also time to relax in a hammock and take in the sounds of the jungle.
No electricity except for a couple of hours a day but this adds to the experience, just take a good head torch. Food is excellent considering where you are, just watch the Macaws don't pinch your breakfast.
If you have the time make the extra effort to get to Tambopata, support this worthy organisation and you will come home like us with memories that will last.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at TRC for 6 days and 5 nights. We booked our stay directly with Rainforest Expeditions and saved $$$. We flew into Puerto Maldonado and was met by one of their best guides, Ivan. He was with us every day. He was enjoyable, knowledgeable and very personable. Each day he would give us the plan of what we would be doing during the day and prepare us for the next day activities. Rainforest Expeditions keep their tours to a maximum of 3 or 4 people for TRC. We had Ivan to ourselves. As a guide, he maximized our experience to its fulliest while staying at TRC. He was able to spot and hear monkeys, birds and other wildlife long before we knew it was there.

TRC is an intimate lodge. While we were there, there were no more than 12 people at the lodge. We are able to mingle and get to know the other guests as well as their guides. The staff at TRC were friendly and personable.

The rooms were quaint. Three sides were covered with cane and the 4th wall was exposed to the jungle. You could hear the howler monkeys (my favorite) calling in the morning. The sound of dew dripping from the trees and the call of the "chicos". It was heaven. The beds were comfortable. TRC provided mosquito nets.

The bathrooms are shared in one area and very clean TRC provides biogradeable shampoo and soap. Bathrooms have standing showers with cool water, which was nice after a sweaty day in the jungle.

The lodge, amazingly, provided WIFi when the generator was turned on to power up batteries for camera and video equipment. Otherwise, kerosene lanterns and candles provided light. TRC also asks that you bring sandals or flip flops to walk around the lodge. Hiking boots are not permitted to protect the flooring. It also keeps the noise down, if you are one of those lucky few who wakeup at 4:30 to visit the Macaw/Parrot Clay lick.

Breakfast is served after the Clay Lick visits each morning. The food is prepared in their local kitchen and it is hot and tasty. Don't mind the local bred Macaws (chicos), they accompany you while having breakfast and lunch. They especially like the bread and butter. Guests and staff take turns being in charge to make sure no one's breakfast gets stolen. We had enjoyable conversations with staff, guests and guides. Usually talking about the activity plan for the day or what you saw during your hike.

Hiking is the main activity. The walks are fairly flat and easy. Ivan took his time and made sure we saw a monkey species or two for each hike. The wildlife is endless and available for you to enjoy if you are quiet and patient. Interactions with your guides makes it enjoyable for the guest and the guide. The night walk was a love/hate relationship. We saw tarantulas, spiders, insects, poison dart frog and a boa constrictor, which Ivan thought was the highlight of the walk.

As you can see we had an amazing time. We wish we could have stayed longer. We would do this again. If you happen to have Ivan as your guide, you will be blessed.

Room Tip: Ask for Ivan as your guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Doreen_Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
22.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
19.6 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#4 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#8 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#6 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Property: Tambopata Research Center
Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing