We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to see animals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you want to see animals!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you decide to take a trip to the Amazon and your number priority is to see animals then Tambopata Research Center is the place to go. However, I would not recommend the TRC for those who have not spent anytime in the jungle and are not use to rugged conditions. A first time trip to the jungle might be better served if you went to a lodge closer to Puerto Maldonado or in Costa Rica. You have to take a 6 hour boat ride up the Tambopata River which is a rather large river (several hundred yards wide at certain points), and I would highly recommend very warm clothing for the early morning boat trips as it can be quite chilly in July (Peru's winter months).

We were very fortunate to have Paula as a guide, she is the best! She loves being in the jungle and gets very excited when we find animals. She is a guide during the busy season, and lives in Lima during most of the year as a cooking instructor. I would request her as your guide and you will not be disappointed. We saw a jaguar, 7 types of monkeys, red deer, capybara's, peccary, caimans, paca rodents, red Amazon squirrel, agouti, poison dart frog, gold crested toad, a 2 1/2 foot long golden tegu lizard, and many types of parrots and macaws. There are many scarlet macaws around the TRC compound and they are very entertaining and can be quite mischievous. Apparently many of these scarlet macaws were hatched at TRC in the 90's, and even though they were released into the jungle they still frequent TRC. The macaws have learned how to steal food from the guests (even though you are provided a locked food storage box in your room. As all rooms are open air at TRC ( no windows or ceilings), the macaws have learned how to walk across the beams above your room and look for food very quietly. In the room beside us,one macaw found a Power-bar and flew away with it to a nearby tree. He proceeded to neatly rip off the wrapper, drop it on the ground and then very calmly eat the Power bar. Also seeing the hundreds of parrots and macaws at the clay lick was truly amazing. During all our hikes we wore mud boots because all of the trails are very mud (actually many of the trails will mud over one foot deep in them). Generally we got up before 5 AM so as to be in the jungle before sunrise and on the late afternoon hike we stayed in the jungle until after dark. Since we were in the jungle during the winter months, which is the dry season and we had very muddy trails and one day when it got into the 80's the Mosquitos got quite challenging. ( everyone had mosquito spray and stay protected) but this made me wonder if we were in the jungle during the "dry" winter months, how muddy would this be in the summer and I can only speculate how bad the Mosquitos would be.

It was stressed to our party that we were very fortunate to see a jaguar as the odds are less than 1 in 20 , and I do not want to mislead anyone that seeing a jaguar is a common occurance.

Also the TRC innkeeper was excellent and very attentive to everyone's needs and the meals were excellent. At dinner you would have thought you were in a large city having a gourmet meal! The facility was kept very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    63
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
121
191
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

the trip of a lifetime - the Tambopata Research Centre is owned by the local Tribes and the majority of the prophets are fed back to the local communities with the aim of protecting a vast area of amazonian rain forest. In addition the staff running the lodge are also local.
There is a central dining area which serves the inclusive breakfast, lunch and dinner, a very well stocked bar and lecture facilities. there is also wifi and places to charge mobile phones, cameras etc.
The bedrooms are separate and reached by walkways. all bedrooms have en suite bathrooms but there is no electricity - oil lamps and candles are provided, but torches are needed. there are no walls, so that the jungle sounds are all around (they provide mosquito nets for the beds).
Animals, birds, reptiles and insects come to visit - there was a family of Tamarin monkeys in the trees by the lodge every morning.
Twice daily excursions got us closer to the wildlife - a guide is essential!!

Room Tip: Head torches to read at night and for night trips. DEET - absolutely essential to keep the mosquito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently went with our 17 year old son - what a once in a lifetime experience! Although you need to be prepared for remote and rugged - everything was comfortable and we felt very well cared for. Our guide was excellent, food good, very clean facilities and saw lots of wildlife. Can't recommend highly enough! All three ef us loved it!

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same. While I worried about being near the main living area, pretty much every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Amazing time at TRC. Really worth the extra time and money to go further up the river to this location because the wildlife was incredible and it was much more quiet and secluded. Macaws everywhere. The rooms are simple and there are no private bathrooms (i.e. no bathrooms in the rooms) but the lodge is gorgeous and the accommodation is extremely comfortable. Bar is super fun at night. Get the pisco sour; best I had in Peru.

Room Tip: Don't leave food in your room. There will be parrots in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Be prepared to fully experience the Amazon rainforest and the wildlife first hand. The guides are excellent and are willing to make your expedition the best available. This is not a five star hotel but a five star life experience. Priceless !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Fantastic location and excellent guides. The food was quite good. Of course, the bathroom facilities were limited but who could expect more at such a remote location. This is the place to go to see the most wildlife in the Tambopata region.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Skip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice words about TRC, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. TRC is indeed a paradise for nature lovers and birdwatchers too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I really didn't know what to expect. I knew the people would be friendly (they were and couldn't do enough to help). I also knew that the scenery would be unique (it was and the trip and adventure of getting there was loads of fun) but I didn't know the facilities would be so comfortable. In addition seeing the research that goes on and talking and interacting with the scientists was the biggest and most pleasant surprise. A great experience. By the way some of the ratings questions don't apply well as this is a comfortable but a bit rustic experience. You adjust somewhat to the vibe of the group (get up early go to bed rather early and walk to the bathrooms). Very clean, comfortable and a bit of an adventure

Room Tip: While rooms are a bit open and very thin bamboo walls, I would ask to be a distance away from the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JorgeCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
22.5 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
19.5 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#7 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Property: Tambopata Research Center
Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing