We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing TRC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Assenede, Belgium
1 review
“Amazing TRC”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Beautiful lodge, lots of wildlife, excellent food , the best guide ever , thank you for everything Paula !!!!!! I can recommend everyone to go there and see really beautiful and rare animals.
It's the closest thing to being in the middle of the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elsikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    63
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
122
191
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our group enjoyed the remote location, open air lodging, good food and close relationship with our guide. Getting to the site takes several hours of pleasant boat travel that in our case involved minor inconvenience with an overheating motor. I trust that there will be follow up on the maintenance.
Our guide was very tuned to our pace and desire to spend a lot of time on walks or watching which allowed us to see quite a number of animals. Plans to spend more time at night just enjoying the jungle noise never lasted long as I feel asleep so easily.
Food was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed the place. We loved the concept of being truly outdoors everywhere you went. The mosquito nets kept away the bugs while sleeping. Our guide Leny was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable and could spot animals that we would have walked right past. We saw Squirrel Monkeys, Red Howler Monkeys, Capuchin, Tamarinds, Wild Hogs (where were pretty scary), Spider Monkeys, Capybara, Agouti, Macaws, Parrots and to top it off a 24 foot Anaconda. What a trip. My only compliant is that the resort staff start work at 3am and from then on it is noisy. I am a light sleeper and with the open plan I woke up every morning when people walked by our room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but the further away from the bathrooms the better, otherwise people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I could not recommend this lodge or Rainforest Expeditions more. This was the most amazing, memorable trip of a lifetime. This is a very remote lodge so you get to see so many animals. We saw a jaguar, tons of monkeys, macaws, capybaras and an anaconda! There is electricity and wifi when the generator is running (a few hours everyday). The food is good, but watch out for the macaws because they love to steal it! :) Our guide was Oscar and he really knew his stuff. We were all amazed at how many animals he spotted and his deep knowledge of the rainforest. This was the best experience you can imagine in the Peruvian rainforest. Do some research about the time of year you go since that will determine the weather and the animals you're more likely to see.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Tambopata Research Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for recommending our lodge. We are very glad you enjoyed your time in TRC and the daily visit of the macaws. Oscar is a very good guide of ours from the local community. You can find more information about the wildlife sightings at our homepage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you decide to take a trip to the Amazon and your number priority is to see animals then Tambopata Research Center is the place to go. However, I would not recommend the TRC for those who have not spent anytime in the jungle and are not use to rugged conditions. A first time trip to the jungle might be better served if you went to a lodge closer to Puerto Maldonado or in Costa Rica. You have to take a 6 hour boat ride up the Tambopata River which is a rather large river (several hundred yards wide at certain points), and I would highly recommend very warm clothing for the early morning boat trips as it can be quite chilly in July (Peru's winter months).

We were very fortunate to have Paula as a guide, she is the best! She loves being in the jungle and gets very excited when we find animals. She is a guide during the busy season, and lives in Lima during most of the year as a cooking instructor. I would request her as your guide and you will not be disappointed. We saw a jaguar, 7 types of monkeys, red deer, capybara's, peccary, caimans, paca rodents, red Amazon squirrel, agouti, poison dart frog, gold crested toad, a 2 1/2 foot long golden tegu lizard, and many types of parrots and macaws. There are many scarlet macaws around the TRC compound and they are very entertaining and can be quite mischievous. Apparently many of these scarlet macaws were hatched at TRC in the 90's, and even though they were released into the jungle they still frequent TRC. The macaws have learned how to steal food from the guests (even though you are provided a locked food storage box in your room. As all rooms are open air at TRC ( no windows or ceilings), the macaws have learned how to walk across the beams above your room and look for food very quietly. In the room beside us,one macaw found a Power-bar and flew away with it to a nearby tree. He proceeded to neatly rip off the wrapper, drop it on the ground and then very calmly eat the Power bar. Also seeing the hundreds of parrots and macaws at the clay lick was truly amazing. During all our hikes we wore mud boots because all of the trails are very mud (actually many of the trails will mud over one foot deep in them). Generally we got up before 5 AM so as to be in the jungle before sunrise and on the late afternoon hike we stayed in the jungle until after dark. Since we were in the jungle during the winter months, which is the dry season and we had very muddy trails and one day when it got into the 80's the Mosquitos got quite challenging. ( everyone had mosquito spray and stay protected) but this made me wonder if we were in the jungle during the "dry" winter months, how muddy would this be in the summer and I can only speculate how bad the Mosquitos would be.

It was stressed to our party that we were very fortunate to see a jaguar as the odds are less than 1 in 20 , and I do not want to mislead anyone that seeing a jaguar is a common occurance.

Also the TRC innkeeper was excellent and very attentive to everyone's needs and the meals were excellent. At dinner you would have thought you were in a large city having a gourmet meal! The facility was kept very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

the trip of a lifetime - the Tambopata Research Centre is owned by the local Tribes and the majority of the prophets are fed back to the local communities with the aim of protecting a vast area of amazonian rain forest. In addition the staff running the lodge are also local.
There is a central dining area which serves the inclusive breakfast, lunch and dinner, a very well stocked bar and lecture facilities. there is also wifi and places to charge mobile phones, cameras etc.
The bedrooms are separate and reached by walkways. all bedrooms have en suite bathrooms but there is no electricity - oil lamps and candles are provided, but torches are needed. there are no walls, so that the jungle sounds are all around (they provide mosquito nets for the beds).
Animals, birds, reptiles and insects come to visit - there was a family of Tamarin monkeys in the trees by the lodge every morning.
Twice daily excursions got us closer to the wildlife - a guide is essential!!

Room Tip: Head torches to read at night and for night trips. DEET - absolutely essential to keep the mosquito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently went with our 17 year old son - what a once in a lifetime experience! Although you need to be prepared for remote and rugged - everything was comfortable and we felt very well cared for. Our guide was excellent, food good, very clean facilities and saw lots of wildlife. Can't recommend highly enough! All three ef us loved it!

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same. While I worried about being near the main living area, pretty much every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
22.5 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
19.5 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#7 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Property: Tambopata Research Center
Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing