We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at TRC is like going to heaven-if you like animals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tambopata Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staying at TRC is like going to heaven-if you like animals!”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I am a volunteer researcher at TRC and have been there six times since 2005. Granted I have not been a "tourist" there, I can still say that it is the best place I have ever been. I have worked with many of the tour guides, tasted all of the food, and basically lived at the lodge for many months during the past six years. The staff is wonderful and will do anything they can to make the guests comfortable and welcome. The guides have a true passion for their job and are extremely well informed. The food is great. And of course the biodiversity is the best! It's virtually impossible to go on a trail and NOT see something cool.

My suggestions to anyone thinking about this location:
This is a RAINFOREST lodge for people that LOVE the outdoors. You will not be staying in a fancy hotel. You will be experiencing nature- the whole time. You may find a gecko or hot-pink caterpillar crawling along the shelf in your room, a macaw at your table during breakfast, or a pink-toed tarantula living in the ceiling of the bathroom. However, the rooms are very nice and mosquito nets are provided. Nothing will crawl on you while you sleep if you tuck in your net. Do check your shoes if you get up at night to go to the bathroom though. I do agree with some of the other comments about ear plugs. The walls between the rooms are made of bamboo and you can hear other people. The power is usually on around 6-9 in the evening and when the lights go out everybody goes to bed, but you can hear howler monkeys and insects and people snoring. If you are a light sleeper, bring some ear plugs.

Make sure you bring long sleeves and pants as well as repellant. You will need "house clothes" and "trail clothes". Typically, two sets of each should be plenty unless you're staying a couple of weeks. I know it sounds strange, but you may want to bring one sweat shirt- especially if you are going in the dry season. They do occasionally get cold fronts and you won't have a heater available. It doesn't get super cold though so don't worry too much. Also bring some type of poncho or rain suit.

Somebody mentioned that you weren't allowed to wear shoes indoors; you aren't allowed to wear your MUDDY rubber boots or hiking boots indoors, but other shoes are fine (the staff isn't unrealistic). Bring some light weight tennis shoes, crocks, or flip flops for wearing while in the lodge. I find crocks to be the most convinient because they are waterproof, easy to travel in (slipping on and off in the airport), and you can comfortably wear them with socks at night. Speaking of socks- that is the one thing you definitely want to bring an extra pair or two of.

Most of the time you will have power at night to recharge batteries... And usually slow internet access is available when the power is on. There are times when the generator gets sick or the internet isn't so great and you have to do without the luxury of internet and instead enjoy a nice candlelight dinner. These times aren't common, but do exist so bring a flashlight and headlamp.

Other must haves: pepto, camera, extra camera battery and memory card, cash (as they do not take credit/debit cards at the lodge) and a good book or deck of cards in case it's raining all day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sescrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    63
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
121
191
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

A trip with Rainforest expeditions is a great way to get to learn about the Amazon and all it has to offer. Our guides were very accomodating to our needs and led us through some amazing cultural and natural learning experiences from the more rugged and off the path TRC lodge, throught the more modern and family oriented Refugio lodge, to the co-managed with the native community and wildlife rich Posada lodge. I highly recomment it! Do not forget to take good bug spray, long sleeved clothes, and good binoculars.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaToPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We had a great time. We were a family of 5 including 3 teenagers. We learned a lot about the rainforest, the flora and the fauna. The guide we had was smart, attentive and nice.

Just be aware that you are remote, the boat rides are very, very long to get to TRC, and that it is very hot, sticky and buggy. If you can live with that, it's a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were looking for an adventure to celebrate being married for 1/3 century. We found the perfect vacation. The accommodations, will primitive, we clean and appropriate to being in the middle of the Amazon rainforest. The staff was friendly, the food a novel and delightful experience, and the spectacular wonder of the rainforest was awe-inspiring.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallwmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at TRC, and found the staff and guides to be outstanding and very dedicated to a great experience for guests. We loved the meals, the macaws that came to visit, the trails, the clay lick and the river journey there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickPBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I really expected to be "roughing it" in such a surrounding, but I can honestly say that the set up at the TRC never once left me wishing for home comforts. The rooms are wonderfully laid out, and the combination of this, along with the amazingly knowledgable staff / guides, the number of activities / trails to follow, and incredible surroundings, made this a dream holiday for me!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

It is hard to believe that such comfort can be experienced so far from society. While we are not talking 5 star hotel, what do you want in the middle of the rainforest? Good food, cold drinks, superb, friendly, knowledgable staff, in that case go to TRC! The guides are phenomenal, their knowledge almost encyclopaedic and they are so friendly. Do as many of the activities as you can, this is not a place to sit around, get out and see it all!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
22.5 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
31.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
19.5 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#7 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
29.7 mi away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#5 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#6 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambopata Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambopata Research Center

Property: Tambopata Research Center
Address: Collpa Colorado, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambopata Research Center 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tambopata Research Center (TRC) is a spartan yet comfortable 18 bedroom lodge with 8 shared bathrooms. Because of its remote location in uninhabited wilderness, housing stable populations of endangered wildlife, the small scale of its infrastructure and operations and the presence of researchers and naturalist guides, Tambopata Research Center is an excellent headquarters for in depth explorations of Amazonian nature and wildlife. It is located in a half hectare clearing in the middle of the uninhabited portion of the Tambopata National Reserve, less than a kilometer from the world's largest and most diverse macaw claylick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tambopata Research Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambopata Research Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Tambopata Research Center Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing