We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”
Review of Posada de la Viuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada de la Viuda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights during our stay in Punta del Diablo and it was the best hostel we've stayed at on our trip thus far. They are extremely accommodating and helpful. They will pick you up from the bus stop and drive you back to the hostel, as it's a little bit farther from downtown than some of the others. It's about a 15 minute walk from the center and they have signs posted all throughout the streets which makes it really easy to find your way back. The rooms are clean and the showers were hot and nice. They have a huge kitchen and common area which is a great place to hang out and relax. The staff and owners are super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hostel is too far from Beach and downtown, consider before going because there are better options downtown and closet to The beach. There are no mosquitos nets, so at night it is full of mosquitos.
The hostel facilities are good but expensive for service offered. Staff not helpful. Not worth going.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank simona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosteldelaViuda, Manager at Posada de la Viuda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015
Google Translation

Lamentamos hayas tenido tan mala experiencia.
El hostel se encuentra a 5 cuadras del mar y a 10 cuadras del centro, teniendo a 4 cuadras supermercados.
Desde el momento que reservas se te envía un mail donde se ofrece irte a buscar y llevarte el día de tu partida , siempre y cuando sea dentro de nuestro horario de recepción que es de 9 a 23 hs .
Hacemos todo lo posible para que te sientas cómoda y te facilitamos toda la información posible.
Recordamos que tu partida fue a las 5 am, se te explico por donde salir y como llegar a la parada que esta a 4 cuadras. También recordamos que cuando te fuiste no saliste por el lugar que se te explico y te fuiste gritando insultos.
Es importante que sepas que punta del diablo es un lugar agreste por lo que hay mosquitos e insectos y sabemos que faltan un montón de servicios en invierno, pero es por esto que tratamos de ayudar a nuestros huespedes todo lo posible.
Saludos
Guada y Sebas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After 4 and a half months and 7 countries this place ticked all the box'. We booked 1 night and ended up staying 5. Its a lovely place with perfect hot showers; a swimming pool; yummy breakfast, a little wooden tower you can watch the sunset from or see the stars come out; bikes for hire; a pool table room; a games room down the back; loads of hammocks; cupcakes, quiches and cheap alcohol available for purchase at any hour (you can bring your own too).... this place really has it all. And its cheaper then anywhere else in Uruguay we found. Sebastian is super friendly and will do anything to help, let him know when you're coming and he'll pick you up. The place is so relaxing, its easy to loose track of the days. The beach is about 10-15 mins away and my only note of warning - make plans to go to the beach/national park and stick to them. Its gorgeous out there but the hostel is so awesome it can be really hard to actually leave. :) truly the best!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hostel stands out. It has everything you can possibly ask for. A great atmosphere, super friendly staff, great common areas, nice backyard with a pool and alot of hammocs, a seperate building in the back if people want to party late, big and very well equiped kitchen for cooking.. I could go on forever. Its a quite big hostel with many rooms but the place never feels crowded because of the many areas to hang out at. The breakfast is one of the best I've had during my travels in southamerica, and the hostel also sell some food, beer & wine. I ended up staying here for 10 days, and would recommend anyone to go here. you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaml86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This a really decent hostel. I was in the 4 bedroom female dorm, which was only just big enough, although, only had 3 lockers. There was no air conditioning in the dorm, just a ceiling fan. It was unusually cool whilst I was there, and I still only slept with a sheet, so I think this could be a problem if it had of been hot. It is a bit of a party hostel, but the activities were moved outside around 1am. The hostel was kept quite clean, and the breakfast was great by South American standards. Bread, jam, fresh fruit, drinking yoghurt, and cereal. It is definitely in an out of the way location, but this didn't bother me, as there isn't a great deal to do in Punta del Diablo, other than relax, wander around, and go to the beach. They offer a pick up, and drop off service from the bus station, which is a few km away. Just email the hostel and let them know what time your bus arrives. Couple of downers. The wi fi was only available in the common room, and was a bit patchy, but not too bad (I am being picky here). Lastly, and they lose a whole point for this, the flies were unfreaking believable. OMG! The doors are left open all the time, which is good for air flow. But they seriously need to invest in some fly screen doors, and a few bug zappers. You just could not sit in the common area comfortably. And for breakfast, they put the bread out in baskets on the table, and it would get covered in flies. Yuck.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We spent Almost 2 weeks there and enjoyed every Single moment. Great House with well equiped kitchen. Beautiful garden with Pool and hammocks. Adorable dogs and lovely owners who are doing a Great Job!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have been to 48 countries and hostels in almost every one but this is the first time I have gone out of my way to write a review for a hostel!

The staff there were amazing and always floating around and easy to find, All food and items were only the tiniest mark up from supermarket prices (70 pesos not 65 etc) and at 1am everybody gets sent to the new building at the back to party so people can get a good night sleep if they want!

Also the facilities were amazing - More than enough bathrooms for the number of beds, Swimming pool, Pool table, Big Kitchen, Soccer Table, TV room, Bicycles and soooo many Hammocks!! People complain about the distance to the beach....it's only an 8 minute walk!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob-Walps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Diablo hotels
0.2 mi away
El Diablo y El Mar
El Diablo y El Mar
#3 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquarella Hotel
Aquarella Hotel
#4 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Viuda del Diablo
La Viuda del Diablo
#2 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel
El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel
#4 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marisma Apart Hotel & Suites
Marisma Apart Hotel & Suites
#5 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrazas de la Viuda
Hotel Terrazas de la Viuda
#5 of 14 in Punta del Diablo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de la Viuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Viuda

Address: Streets San Luis y Nueva Granada | Rocha, Punta del Diablo 27204, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Punta del Diablo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Punta del Diablo
Price Range: £44 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada de la Viuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de la Viuda it is an amazing property! Each room has a private bath-room, with Tv cable, safe box, air condition and a cosy design. Common areas are also great. Large kitchen fully equipped, big living room with multi lingual books, yard with swimming pool (heated with solar panels), sun loungers, BBQ, wood oven, balcony where to enjoy nice views, many hammocks and a free pool table. Continental Breakfast it is included. Wifi and parking are free of charge. Posada de la Viuda it is located four blocks away from the bus stop number two, and two supermarkets. The Viuda beach it is the nicest in the area, and it is 9 minute walk away. The fishermen centre is 1.2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Posada de la Viuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing