We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in ages”
Review of Hostel de la Viuda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel de la Viuda
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hostel in ages”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Sebastian helps to make your stay great. He is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable.
The hostel itself has the best layout. The kitchen is big enough for multiple cookers, dinning area is spacious and inviting. The sitting area has loads of comfy couches and a TV with a big DVD selection if that's what you want, otherwise head outside and play a game of pool, relax in the bar, cook in the BBQ, lay in a hammock or swim in the pool.
Great place to meet others.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    73
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
123
111
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jena
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We only spent one night at the Hostel and regreted that we had already bought our bus ticket for the next day. We were there in low season when the village was very calm, not many people around, neither in the hostel.
The hostel is fantastic: A huge and common area including big kitchen, TV, books and an outdoor area with pool. A big garden which is perfect with good weather. Good wifi. Nice dogs that will walk with you to the beach.
The beds were comfortable, but the 6-bed dorm was more the size of a 4-bed actually. That's the only reason, I do not give five stars. It was small and I cannot imagine how it would be if completely booked. But as the common area is huge, you might just spend time in the room to sleep.
The service was absolutely magnificent!! Nothing that they could do better, honestly! (And I am quite picky :P ). They even pick you up from the bus stop (as it is quite outside the village and too long if carrying luggage) and drop you off when leaving (all included in the service).
All places were kept very clean.

Therefore, HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights during our stay in Punta del Diablo and it was the best hostel we've stayed at on our trip thus far. They are extremely accommodating and helpful. They will pick you up from the bus stop and drive you back to the hostel, as it's a little bit farther from downtown than some of the others. It's about a 15 minute walk from the center and they have signs posted all throughout the streets which makes it really easy to find your way back. The rooms are clean and the showers were hot and nice. They have a huge kitchen and common area which is a great place to hang out and relax. The staff and owners are super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel is too far from Beach and downtown, consider before going because there are better options downtown and closet to The beach. There are no mosquitos nets, so at night it is full of mosquitos.
The hostel facilities are good but expensive for service offered. Staff not helpful. Not worth going.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank simona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosteldelaViuda, Manager at Hostel de la Viuda, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Google Translation
Lamentamos hayas tenido tan mala experiencia.
El hostel se encuentra a 5 cuadras del mar y a 10 cuadras del centro, teniendo a 4 cuadras supermercados.
Desde el momento que reservas se te envía un mail donde se ofrece irte a buscar y llevarte el día de tu partida , siempre y cuando sea dentro de nuestro horario de recepción que es de 9 a 23 hs .
Hacemos todo lo posible para que te sientas cómoda y te facilitamos toda la información posible.
Recordamos que tu partida fue a las 5 am, se te explico por donde salir y como llegar a la parada que esta a 4 cuadras. También recordamos que cuando te fuiste no saliste por el lugar que se te explico y te fuiste gritando insultos.
Es importante que sepas que punta del diablo es un lugar agreste por lo que hay mosquitos e insectos y sabemos que faltan un montón de servicios en invierno, pero es por esto que tratamos de ayudar a nuestros huespedes todo lo posible.
Saludos
Guada y Sebas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After 4 and a half months and 7 countries this place ticked all the box'. We booked 1 night and ended up staying 5. Its a lovely place with perfect hot showers; a swimming pool; yummy breakfast, a little wooden tower you can watch the sunset from or see the stars come out; bikes for hire; a pool table room; a games room down the back; loads of hammocks; cupcakes, quiches and cheap alcohol available for purchase at any hour (you can bring your own too).... this place really has it all. And its cheaper then anywhere else in Uruguay we found. Sebastian is super friendly and will do anything to help, let him know when you're coming and he'll pick you up. The place is so relaxing, its easy to loose track of the days. The beach is about 10-15 mins away and my only note of warning - make plans to go to the beach/national park and stick to them. Its gorgeous out there but the hostel is so awesome it can be really hard to actually leave. :) truly the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hostel stands out. It has everything you can possibly ask for. A great atmosphere, super friendly staff, great common areas, nice backyard with a pool and alot of hammocs, a seperate building in the back if people want to party late, big and very well equiped kitchen for cooking.. I could go on forever. Its a quite big hostel with many rooms but the place never feels crowded because of the many areas to hang out at. The breakfast is one of the best I've had during my travels in southamerica, and the hostel also sell some food, beer & wine. I ended up staying here for 10 days, and would recommend anyone to go here. you wont regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaml86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This a really decent hostel. I was in the 4 bedroom female dorm, which was only just big enough, although, only had 3 lockers. There was no air conditioning in the dorm, just a ceiling fan. It was unusually cool whilst I was there, and I still only slept with a sheet, so I think this could be a problem if it had of been hot. It is a bit of a party hostel, but the activities were moved outside around 1am. The hostel was kept quite clean, and the breakfast was great by South American standards. Bread, jam, fresh fruit, drinking yoghurt, and cereal. It is definitely in an out of the way location, but this didn't bother me, as there isn't a great deal to do in Punta del Diablo, other than relax, wander around, and go to the beach. They offer a pick up, and drop off service from the bus station, which is a few km away. Just email the hostel and let them know what time your bus arrives. Couple of downers. The wi fi was only available in the common room, and was a bit patchy, but not too bad (I am being picky here). Lastly, and they lose a whole point for this, the flies were unfreaking believable. OMG! The doors are left open all the time, which is good for air flow. But they seriously need to invest in some fly screen doors, and a few bug zappers. You just could not sit in the common area comfortably. And for breakfast, they put the bread out in baskets on the table, and it would get covered in flies. Yuck.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Diablo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hostel La Casa de las Boyas
Hostel La Casa de las Boyas
#2 of 12 in Punta del Diablo
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel
El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel
#5 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Viuda del Diablo
La Viuda del Diablo
#1 of 12 in Punta del Diablo
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel de las Hadas
Hostel de las Hadas
#21 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pecados de la Viuda
Los Pecados de la Viuda
#2 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel el Indio
Hostel el Indio
#20 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel de la Viuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel de la Viuda

Property: Hostel de la Viuda
Address: Streets San Luis y Nueva Granada | Rocha, Punta del Diablo 27204, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Punta del Diablo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Punta del Diablo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel de la Viuda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel at 8" minutes walk from the Viuda beach, the most beautiful in town. With privated double rooms & shared dorms. Each room with private bath-room. Large shared kitchen, living-room, swimming pool hitted with solar panels (October to April), pool table, football table. 700 M2 yard with BBQs, many hammocks & wood tower with great view. Books and games, audio equipments, large clothesline, washing tables, safe box, parking included, breakfast, sheets, blankets and pillow. Opened in December 2009 Tickets to Brazil with EGA company. Be a volunteer in our Green House and enjoy our vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel de la Viuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing