We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison de la Commanderie
Ranked #4 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little boutique hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We put some of our friends in the Maison , putting them in the excellent care of Laurent the owner and was pleasantly surprised how lovely the rooms were and how nicely he has organised it all. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
86
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A very warm June and an overnight stay in St Emilion. This was one of the best places I have ever stayed. We had the fabulous suite on the top floor with stunning views and outside seating area that was just the best place for a glass of wine (or several), cheese and baguette. Just loved it, Beautifully decorated, relaxing and all you could want. When can I move in???? Thank you Laurent.

Room Tip: go for the top floor. sitting outside on a warm evening - we didn't get to bed till almost 2.00a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRaffles777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute due to air control strike and got best room on top floor with balcony. Amazing view and perfect place to enjoy and explore this fascinating town. Laurent was a wonderful, helpful and informative host. He recommended the perfect restaurants for each of our 2 nights. Very clean place, great bathrooms, tasty breakfast. Definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We enjoyed our one night at this B&B. We were on the second floor which could be difficult if one had lots of luggage. Great to find a Nespresso machine in the very colorful room. Large clean room, modern bathroom, mini bar and wine available for purchase. Great breakfast at a communal table. Would recommend this property, St. Emilion is such a lovely hilltop village but not many restaurants open for dinner (beginning of June).

Room Tip: Try a lower floor if you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMF1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is our second time staying here. We loved it! Laurent the owner, is so nice and accommodating. We were lucky enough to stay in the room on the top floor with the deck. It has a wonderful view of the town.
Great location, very clean, wonderful owner. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Commander Suite. Sit on the deck and sip on some wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anguilla, British West Indies
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This alleged 2* hotel - don't believe that rating - offers 5* views, spaces, location, parking, petite dejeuner. Our room, Le Chambre des Chevaliers, had 5 enormous windows providing spectacular city views plus 1 smaller window revealing serene, countryside landscapes. Filled with character this amazing historic building has been refitted so our slick, large, contemporary bathroom and fun and funky bedroom design were terrific. Our amazing breakfast adorned with fresh flowers and candlelight also included owner Laurent's spectacular homemade strawberry macaroons and fabulous little muffins with chocolate made by his mother who assisted. The entire petite dejeuner was bountiful and included much more than the standard bread and pastry. We LOVED staying here and regretted having only one night.

Owner Laurent not only provides a quiet, charming accommodation and breakfast but sells delightful jams, jellies, soaps. His big heart is evidenced by the outdoor cat - there may be two - who appears at the window knowing he/she will be treated with kindness and lots of delicious food.

This was a GREAT choice for our special, romantic, enlightening, pampered 3 week exploration of France.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, just our Chambre des Chevaliers with fabulous windows and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon,London.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Six of us stayed at the Maison de la Commanderie from March 13th to 16th , which accounted for three of the four rooms available . My wife and I stayed in the Chambre des Ecuyers which is basically as high as you can go . Room was very clean , mini bar was well stocked and very reasonably priced, the owners have a connection with one of the vineyards and the wine in the rooms comes from these vineyards . Storage space available was not generous but for two or three days it is no great problem . Remote control skylight is also a lot of fun !

St Emilion is a small place , so everywhere is walking distance but the views from the rooms in general were probably as good as you could get . The owner , Laurent , was a very charming host and we had breakfast here on two of the three days we stayed. The breakfast is good value and includes home made jams , available for purchase , as well as home made cookies and macaroons , equally enjoyable .

Bed was very comfortable , room was very quiet and having nobody above you or to the side
of you when you sleep is always a relaxing situation . Air conditioning worked fine but not really required at the time of year .

Laurent was very helpful when it came to leaving suitcases and meeting our taxi on the Sunday afternoon . Without doubt we would definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise.
St Emilion is a delightful and interesting place to spend two or three days and the following are places we tried during our visit :

- Les Belles Perdix du Troplong Mondot Restaurant . Beautiful setting and room and open around three years now , high quality cuisine , two set menus , 59 or 79 Euros , our bill came to around 98 Euros per head . Taxi ride from St.Emilion was 20 Euros .

- Le Medieval Restaurant , good value , traditional French fare but also a nice spot for a coffee or an early evening drink .

- O Trois Fontaines Restaurant , if you fancy a light bite , snack or a glass of wine on your walk around the town this is a pleasant and comfortable place to stop and relax .

- Laguiole En Aubrac , fascinating shop specialising in handcrafted knives . One of our group bought a knife as a present and the initials of the recipient were inscribed on the blade there and then . The knives are made on the premises .

- The Monolithic Church tour , around 1 hour is also worth the time .

- Chateau Guadet - If you are interested in a tour of a St Emilion vineyard and want one within easy reach then visit this one . Monsieur Guy Petrus Lignac was a wonderful host for a 75 minute tour including a trip down to his wonderful wine cellars and a tasting to finish . 15 Euros .

Needless to say we did not leave without ordering some delightful St Emilion wine to be sent !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank circa1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
#1 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Logis du Roy
Les Logis du Roy
#10 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Commanderie

Property: Maison de la Commanderie
Address: 3 B rue de la Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Maison de la Commanderie 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse in a 12th century house, in the heart of St Emilion.View over the city (Unesco Monuments)in the two luxury bedrooms. Home made breakfast.Home and conviviality, refined decoration. Table on reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing