We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully decorated and fully equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Emilion, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Harry B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautifully decorated and fully equipped”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished and comes fully equipped, everything has been thought of. The location is very peaceful, with your own garden and terrace, yet the nearest village is a genuine 10 minutes walk and has a very nice restaurant. The bakery is a genuine 5 minutes drive at another nice village which has more nice restaurant. Large supermarket is a 10 minutes drive away. The hosts are very friendly, extremely helpful and we believe it is extremely good value. We will certainly book again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
“Excellent cottage/apartment/gist near St. Emilion; we loved it.”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I are recently retired and decided that we would like to spend one to two months in the Bordeaux area of France. Impressed with the many favorable reviews for Vines and Roses, we decided that these cottages were worth a closer look. Fortunately, we were in Spain this past October (2016) and would have a chance spend a week at Vines and Roses after our Spain tour ended. This would give us a chance to check facility out personally, and we were glad we did because we had a marvelous stay.

We arrived late at night and a delicious meal awaited us including a lovely bottle of local wine, French bread, cheese, onion soup, and beef bourguignon. It was all delicious. We spent the next week getting to know as much as possible about the area. We found that there are so many things to see, we felt we only had time to scratch the surface in our one week stay. Moreover, Andy was extremely helpful from first to last with excellent local information and a fun sense of humor.

We could not have asked for more from our accommodations. The kitchen was well equipped, the bed was very comfortable, the guidebooks in the cottage were very helpful, and due to a late harvest, the grapes were hanging heavily on the vines only a stone’s throw from the front door. The cottage was well stocked with necessities including some laundry soap that my wife claimed got her clothes the brightest they have ever been. All in all we had a great time and are currently planning our return for a much longer stay.

My wife and I would give Vines and Roses six stars, but five stars is the highest allowed, so our rating will only show as a five. Vines and Roses truly exceeded our expectations.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Y
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderfully equipped property, stylishly decorated with a perfect private garden area. The pool area is pretty and well equipped with sun loungers and parasols. Surrounded by hectares of vines and many wine chateaux this is a peaceful retreat but only a 15 minute stroll from the nearest village. Larger towns are only 10 minutes by car. Lovely helpful owner, Andy, thoughtfully provided a comprehensive welcome pack and several delicious treats throughout our stay. I would thoroughly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location yet not isolated & the fact we could bring our dogs with us.
Liked least: Everything was wonderful!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilsond29
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, friendly relaxing stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

On arrival we were met by Sarah who is extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the chai apartment which is spacious, modern, comfortable and clean. Every part of our stay was fantastic. The pool area is lovely and well equpit and although we weren't travelling with children, it's clear there is plenty for them to do.

Sarah and Patrick gave information about the surrounding area and we're happy to help and provide recommendations for travel, restaurants and things to do.

Our only regret is not staying for longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Hi - thanks for the great review - sadly you did not stay with us! Regards - Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
2 reviews
“Great cottage, fantastic hosts and good location.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for 2 weeks in August with our 6 and 4 year old. The cottage is really well equipped with everything we needed to make the stay comfortable. The simple things like a washing machine, dishwasher, iron and Cbeebies on the TV made it great for us with the kids.

The location is really pretty, 15 mins out side of Saint emillion which is a lovely old town with restaurants and wine a plenty. There are plenty of tours as well which are good to keep the kids interested. We also went canoeing, to a local lake (lac de Gurson) which had a beach etc, bordeaux, aqua land and the actual beach (the last 2 were a bit of a drive 90min which was a pain but worth it). The pool was great for us and we spent a couple of days just relaxing around it.

We also had a meal on arrival prepared for us which was great, hit the spot and made day 1 nice and easy.

Overall great place, really generous hosts and a lovely part of the world.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naitre47
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself and my wife and another couple who are friends of ours stayed in Lavender Cottage for a week. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Andy was very informative and gave us all the information we needed for our stay including where the best places are to eat, swim and visit.
It took us about 2.5 hours to drive their from Limoges Airport and I would say you need a car otherwise it would be difficult to get out and see anything and there's not a lot close by....just field after field of vines (which was lovely!).
Andy dropped round some food twice during the week, cooked by his partner, which was delicious and much appreciated.
Andy had bikes that we could have borrowed but did not have the time to take this up.
Lavender Cottage was very well equipped including cleaning equipment as you have to give the cottage a quick clean before you leave.
Overall, the cottage and the whole experience surpassed my expectations. Hopefully will go back for another week in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benvheir
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing stay in charming gite with welcoming owners”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed for one week over Easter and were welcomed by a tasty meal waiting for us when we arrived. We found the gite well-positioned and close to the beautiful village of St Emilion. We liked the large sitting room and kitchen area which is ideal for a family and there are all the amenities to make it a home from home. There is also plenty of secluded space right outside for eating and relaxing in the sun, including a good-sized pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing