We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, restaurant - wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This definitely is THE hotel to stay at in St. Emilion - great location, fantastic service, lovely rooms and an incredible restaurant. We only had one night in town and we're so glad we chose this hotel.

We stayed in the Monbousquet room - If you like rooms with nice balconies and views, this is the room. It was a very classy, well appointed, comfortable room. The hotel is very centrally located - makes it easy to explore the town.

Of course, their restaurant is famous and for good reason. We were in town to celebrate our 25th anniversary and my 50th birthday - I could not have imagined a more incredible meal. It was the best meal of our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monbousquet room. It's one of their more expensive rooms, but it has a great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La-Direction H, Directeur général at Hostellerie de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We wish to thank you very much for your message and your time. It is always a pleasure to receive very nice comments from our guests.
We pass on to the all team all your positive feelings which are a source of encouragement to always progress and satisfy our guests.
We are all very pleased that you had a good time in our hotel and restaurant and also to be part of a memorable moment for your birthday and Anniversary.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Hostellerie de Plaisance.

Best Regards,

Cédric Béchade
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a very fine hotel in the lovely town of Saint Emilion. it was a pleasure to stay here and to enjoy the great views of the town and surrounding countryside from its elegantly decorated rooms. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was generally excellent. Dinner in the dining room was particularly good. My only reservation is that at these room prices (€500+) and restaurant prices (€300-400 for two for dinner without going crazy with the wine list) it needs to be pretty well faultless and that wasn't the case - the housekeeping and inadequate hot water supply were examples of this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La-Direction H, Directeur général at Hostellerie de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We thank you very much for your time and for sharing your souvenir about the Hostellerie de Plaisance.
We sincerely apologize for any technical problem in the room. We are very attentive to all the guests' feelings and we always try to progress to satisfy our guests.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Saint-Emilion and we hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Cédric Béchade
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is the kind of place you go to if you want to experience food. Beautifully presented, you dont even want to eat it. Wonderful flavors, exceptional wine list. Excellent service.

Cant wait to go back :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank synthiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fantastic location - in the heart of St Emilion - gorgeous hotel in the middle of wine country.

The rooms are lovely, most have really good views over the town. We ate one night in the restaurant as a treat - food was superb and the service was impeccable although it was all a bit formal. The wine list read more like a novel and I nearly fell off the chair at some of the prices .. but managed to find a reasonably priced bottle eventually.

Recommended for a luxury break in the heart of wine country.

PS - we stayed over 5 years ago so check recent reviews but I can't imagine it will have lost its timeless charm

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Went here for a pre-dinner drink and the view was just spectacular, the sun was setting and it looked like a picture. Everything is done to a very high, classic standard and it had a special feel about the place but after paying £40 for two glasses of not very nice white wine I thought it was a tad expensive, but I didn’t look at the wine menu so that's maybe where I went wrong I just asked the waiter for a white wine looking at the place I assumed that they would all be good but not the case, but then I guess you are paying for the most amazing view.
I Would recommend to go here for a drink but look at the wine list!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel.

It has been totally renovated with due respect for its past. The architects, interior designers, landscape designers and the artisans who made it happen deserve an enthusiastic bravo!

Our room, not a suite, was spacious, comfortable and perfectly appointed. The bathroom was large and luxurious -- fitted with a glass enclosed American sized shower. The bed was most comfortable and we slept like babies.

The staff was friendly, approachable and helpful with any request. We enjoyed walking the cobbled and steep! streets of St. Emilion (bring your walkin' shoes!) and visiting some of the omnipresent wine shops that line the medieval streets of the village.

We were fortunate to be able to visit and tour Les Couvants des Jacobins, a lovely winery located in the center of the village dating back several centuries.

The village can be seen in a day. If you love wine, plan a visit to a winery, or two or three and indulge yourself in a wine tasting at ETS Martin, a beautiful wine shop located near Hostellerie de Plaisance. Ask for Cedric!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent 3 nights in this special hotel. The rooms are quite big, very well decorated and specially cozy. My suggestion: 2 nights are enough to know the city and all attractions around. I recommend to book a table at the gastronomy restaurant in the hotel. It is a 2 star michelin and deserves it. Only one disappointment: we thought there was a SPA or something like this in the hotel, but there isn't. It is the best hotel in the region. I recommend it. Flavio Maia

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flavio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Emilion
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
184 reviews
21.2 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 177 in Bordeaux
409 reviews
5.6 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Plaisance

Address: Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: £200 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie de Plaisance 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hostellerie de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Plaisance Hotel Saint-Emilion
Hostellerie De Plaisance Saint Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing