We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Grand Barrail
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palais Cardinal(Saint-Emilion)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De France(Libourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pourquoi Pas(Libourne)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
579
288
98
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
288
98
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant staffdeluxe roombeautiful groundswine regionfabulous hotelstayed for nightsshort drivecouple of nightssurrounding vineyardsright banklarge bathroomperfect staybeautiful roommain buildingbordeaux areaglass of winebread
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I must agree that the Chateau setting is quite remarkable and it's proximity to St. Emilion Old town is walkable.

The hotel has been extended and I found the add ons to be disjointed in both architecture and interior design. It is in need of a very good face lift. The only 'lounge' facilities are offered either by reception or at the bar - and that area is dark and dismal.

Our room was lovely but dark and, given the price, lacking in facilities. TV stations in English offer only a couple of choices which is very limiting.

Housekeeping leaves much to be desired and the complimentary products for the bathroom are not good.

The service at reception was somewhat haphazard. Given the cost of a nights stay I would have expected a little better but it is a captive market being on the doorstop of St. Emilion's old City.

My biggest complaint is the lack of 'snack' facilities. Hotels at this level need a coffee shop or a menu that allow a brief snack aside from lunch which is huge. I also noticed an American family asking for an early meal for their children. They were offered fruit or cheese. Not acceptable.

It is unlikely we would return in these circumstances.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a beautiful looking Chateau in lovely grounds, 3 kms outside of St. Emillion. Other than a very expensive Relais hotel in St. Emillion, this is probably the best choice to stay and visit this lovely town in one of the Bordeaux wine regions. Now the "buts", it is expensive, the rooms are great ( stay in the Chateau not the outside accomodation), the food is great but also expensive. Interestingly, after many years of exploring France and finding everyone absolutely wonderful, this was the first time we came across a bit too much "attitude" both in the hotel and in St. Emillion. I would like to think we could put this down to everyone being worn out towards the end of the tourist season?
St. Emillion is a beautiful town but it is FULL of day tourists ALL the time, waiters don't need to be nice as there will always be someone waiting to take the table and they are probably never likely to return. The town is empty at night with many restaurants closed.
Chateau Fonplegade just outside of town is worth a visit. Many of the "wine chateaus" in the area are difficult to visit or often closed.
One, maybe two nights are enough for the area. There is also nothing to see around the Dordogne river unless you move further east.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to stay in the Chateau, beautiful big rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The setting of this hotel is amazing - the chateau building really looks like you'd imagine a 'proper' chateau should.

The outside spaces are particularly pleasant - the gardens and the swimming pool were great (our 18 month old son was particularly entertained by / terrified of the overhead water jet in the pool).

Our room wasn't in the main bit of the chateau, but in the annex. The room itself was nothing particularly exciting, but was quite spacious and peaceful, and we were perfectly comfortable there.

We ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed it. I was a bit concerned at first when, because we were on the half board plan, we were presented with a very limited menu, full of things I wasn't very keen on. But when I asked if we could change to something else they brought an alternative set menu which was much more to my liking. I think they charged us a bit extra, but only €10 or so, which was well worth it as far as I was concerned. The food and wine were delicious, and the service was excellent.

I definitely recommend this as a base for exploring the beautiful town of Saint Emilion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked in the CGB for the Cercle Rive Gauche this April for a week of En Primeur Tasting for 2011 Vintage, A grandioso appearance to match superb service and attention to details of all aspects of our stay.

Our room was very luxurious and tastefully decorated, the spa area was a welcome bonus for a wee detox before the days tasting commenced. It was a shame that the pool was not open, however we were informed that it was out of season. A slight disappointment with the gym, no running machine and the free weights were rather sparse, other facilities did make up for this.

The restaurant setting was divine, which equally matched the exquisite dishes from the tasting menu.

Another minor downside was if dinning away from the hotel provision needs to be allowed for taxi fares which range between 20-25 euro one way into St Emillion.

I certainly would visit Chateau Grand Barrail again overall a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms do have the advantage of an outside terrace area, ideal for catching the morning sun rays
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineythomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had spent two nights up the road at Relais Franc Mayne, which was good, but this was better. It is true that it is a 20 euro taxi into town ( 25 coming back!), and that bikes have to be hired ( as they do at Franc Mayne). But neither inconvenience detracted from our stay. Whilst close to the main road, it does not interfere. The grounds are well maintained, and the heated pool was large and convenient. There is a view over the vineyards whilst eating dinner and breakfast, which was memorable. The quality of the dinner was certainly michelin star standard, though they don\t go for the service frills that would be expected of that establishment. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews