We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Grand Barrail
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Commanderie(Saint-Emilion)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Pierre de Lune(Saint-Emilion)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
US$539
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Les Logis du Roy(Saint-Emilion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Le Logis de la Cadene(Saint-Emilion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
593
294
100
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
294
100
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant staffdeluxe roombeautiful groundswine regionfabulous hotelstayed for nightsshort drivecouple of nightssurrounding vineyardsright banklarge bathroomperfect staybeautiful roommain buildingbordeaux areaglass of winebread
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Grand Barrail. It was convenient to St Emilion. The staff were friendly and competent. We were in room 121 which was well appointed and clean. The temperature was fine in our room but the other rooms on the second level above reception which were occupied by the group were very hot.
We had dinner which included a tuna steak which was a little dry. Service was slow since only 2 staff were serving a fairly full dining room. Breakfast was sumptuous with very fresh newly picked hazelnuts. The coffee served at the table was not hot but there is a Nespresso machine we used instead. We used the bicycles which are parked at the front of the hotel. We had coffee in the afternoon and a latte cost 6 Euros. In summary, like much of Europe the good hotels are overpriced. You just have to accept that this is the reality of today.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtlEdmontonAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel has a very professional team, which provides excellent service and ensures that things go well during the stay. We had a suite on the main (old) building, which had plenty of space, very comfortable bed & bathroom, and very quiet.

Although my wife and i are vegetarians, the chef proposed tasty and well prepared alternatives. Which is something rare to find in France.

The hotel is located close to the village, which can be reached by bikes available for rent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I must agree that the Chateau setting is quite remarkable and it's proximity to St. Emilion Old town is walkable.

The hotel has been extended and I found the add ons to be disjointed in both architecture and interior design. It is in need of a very good face lift. The only 'lounge' facilities are offered either by reception or at the bar - and that area is dark and dismal.

Our room was lovely but dark and, given the price, lacking in facilities. TV stations in English offer only a couple of choices which is very limiting.

Housekeeping leaves much to be desired and the complimentary products for the bathroom are not good.

The service at reception was somewhat haphazard. Given the cost of a nights stay I would have expected a little better but it is a captive market being on the doorstop of St. Emilion's old City.

My biggest complaint is the lack of 'snack' facilities. Hotels at this level need a coffee shop or a menu that allow a brief snack aside from lunch which is huge. I also noticed an American family asking for an early meal for their children. They were offered fruit or cheese. Not acceptable.

It is unlikely we would return in these circumstances.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a beautiful looking Chateau in lovely grounds, 3 kms outside of St. Emillion. Other than a very expensive Relais hotel in St. Emillion, this is probably the best choice to stay and visit this lovely town in one of the Bordeaux wine regions. Now the "buts", it is expensive, the rooms are great ( stay in the Chateau not the outside accomodation), the food is great but also expensive. Interestingly, after many years of exploring France and finding everyone absolutely wonderful, this was the first time we came across a bit too much "attitude" both in the hotel and in St. Emillion. I would like to think we could put this down to everyone being worn out towards the end of the tourist season?
St. Emillion is a beautiful town but it is FULL of day tourists ALL the time, waiters don't need to be nice as there will always be someone waiting to take the table and they are probably never likely to return. The town is empty at night with many restaurants closed.
Chateau Fonplegade just outside of town is worth a visit. Many of the "wine chateaus" in the area are difficult to visit or often closed.
One, maybe two nights are enough for the area. There is also nothing to see around the Dordogne river unless you move further east.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to stay in the Chateau, beautiful big rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The setting of this hotel is amazing - the chateau building really looks like you'd imagine a 'proper' chateau should.

The outside spaces are particularly pleasant - the gardens and the swimming pool were great (our 18 month old son was particularly entertained by / terrified of the overhead water jet in the pool).

Our room wasn't in the main bit of the chateau, but in the annex. The room itself was nothing particularly exciting, but was quite spacious and peaceful, and we were perfectly comfortable there.

We ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed it. I was a bit concerned at first when, because we were on the half board plan, we were presented with a very limited menu, full of things I wasn't very keen on. But when I asked if we could change to something else they brought an alternative set menu which was much more to my liking. I think they charged us a bit extra, but only €10 or so, which was well worth it as far as I was concerned. The food and wine were delicious, and the service was excellent.

I definitely recommend this as a base for exploring the beautiful town of Saint Emilion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews