We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,539 results
Traveller rating
913
375
142
76
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
913
375
142
76
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room short drive spacious rooms wine list jacuzzi chateau saint town bordeaux bikes grandeur figeac pomerol vines sommelier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,539 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2019

We just spent a bit more than week in this fabulous hotel! The hotel itself, staff, services are really great. The room is spacious and the aircon worked well even we there during a hot weather.

Breakfast is great and the restaurant as well. Only remark for the restaurant was that it had a limited menu, which didn't change. This was not good if you stayed longer as us, but it seemed that most stayed 1-3 nights only. And the good thing is that this area is full of gourmet restaurants you can visit.

Hotel has a nicely secluded pool, where you can order room service - that works well. Also spa area is great and the treatments are top class! We really enjoyed!

We had our own car to explore, but you can manage also without (at least shorter stays).

I definitely recommend this hotel as a luxury/romantic getaway!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminRobic, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this pleasant commentary. When you write that you spent “a luxury escape in fabulous hotel”, it is the finest compliment we could receive. Be certified that the most importance to us is that each guest receives a tailored service you experienced during your long stay. It is a huge pleasure to learn that our services left you a spectacular memory, as the swimming pool or our restaurant.
Indeed, our guests’ satisfaction encourage us in the pursuit of making each visit a memorable one.
Also, I took on consideration your remark regarding the menu.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Saint-Emilion for new discoveries.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

Gorgeous Château in the heart of the region. Conveniently located next to the town - this hotel offers a shuttle bus to and from the town.
The staff and food were both amazing. Rooms were clean and the views were great. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Kalypso7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminRobic, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for posting your commentary after your trip in Saint-Emilion.
I am very pleased to hear that you were fully satisfied with our services provided at Grand Barrail hotel.
All our team is look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Our room was not ready on arrival and check in took too long as we were waiting for some time to be given access to our room. Room was nice but not 5 star quality. Hotel was lovely and pool area great. Couldn’t get treatment in spa so definitely book ahead. Breakfast was great. Service throughout stay was ok, at times very slow. Great location to travel into St Emilion. Hotel booked a Segway tour of local vineyard St Reminee with wine tasting session. This was brilliant and definitely worth it. Would return to hotel but not 5 star.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminRobic, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Madam Davey,
First of all thank you for your detailed observation which is an encouragement to improuve our quality of service. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the stay.
Please accept my sincere apologizes regarding the situation that ocurred during your check-in.
On behalf of all our team we do hope to see you again in Grand Barrail in order to make you discover all our enjoyable activities all around.
Kindly yours,
Benjamin ROBIC – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

If you are a frequent traveler and know the difference between a 4 and 5 Star hotel, you will take interest in this feedback. My sense is that many of these reviews lack context on what 5 star looks and acts like

This is a borderline 4 star hotel dressed up as a 5 star. Yes, it is set on a lovey vineyard, yes it has some nice sights, and yes it has a spa and pool. So, what is the problem? 1) Service is very poor. It took 10 minutes to order a cocktail at the very small bar when it was slow, two vodka sodas were fifty euro! We asked the concierge to make a dinner reservation, one hour later she called to tell us we needed to be at dinner in 10 minutes... we are 10 minutes from town... and thus we missed the reservation. The place they sent us to instead was a Yelp 3.5 star tourist trap (the kind with pictures of the plates outside the door). We ended up finding something suitable by walking around but we do not recommend doing the same. Make reservations for dinner well in advance of your visit. Also, hotel guests are not guaranteed dinner reservations so again, expect little.

We stayed in a deluxe room, it was nice but a little worn down. The bed was not very comfortable, probably more than 10 years old, definitely not like a Softel or Intercontinental quality. The pro grade Nespresso was nice but there was only one of each pod. Also, we are in the wine capital of France - no wine glasses in the room!

Finally, Saint Emilion is all of a 5-8 minute ride from the hotel. However, the hotel shuttle is on a very light schedule and can not be called on demand. It seemed like every 2-hour service, but it was not clear. Getting a taxi to the hotel was twenty-two euro... the hotel seems to think this is acceptable 5 star service.

In a nutshell, borderline 4 star service, paying for location. It’s worth a night or two purely for convenience but i’m sure there are better options.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminRobic, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for sharing your thorough commentary following your stay in our hotel.
Also, I am sincerely sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our services and that we didn’t reach your full expectations. Be ensured that I have taken good note of all your comments and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With all my very best regards,
Benjamin ROBIC - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

Favorite hotel in Bordeaux area. Truly a five star. Service is excellent, facilities such as gym, spa restaurant all exceeded expectations. The rooms are spacious with balconies, and the bathrooms stunning with modern amenities. We are extending our stay and would return again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LoveTravel813639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminRobic, Directeur général at Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Firstly, our whole team was extremely delighted to welcome you in Saint-Emilion for your stay in Grand Barrail hotel. I am delighted to learn your fully satisfaction regarding our customized services brought for your holidays.
Be ensured that I will personally be present to welcome you back for your next trip in our beautiful region.
Sincerely yours,
Benjamin ROBIC – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews