We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Grand Barrail
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Travelled to the Chateau Grand Barrail for a 1 night stay - for the price we paid I expected more, but it was a nice hotel, very clean and the staff were very helpful - I just expected the rooms to be larger and more comfortable.

I dont think i'd stay again as I think it is overpriced.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jameshayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    222
    69
    26
    17
See reviews for
85
527
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My wife and I booked the is hotel for ourselves and another couple for our final night together in France. We booked it because of their new two-star chef. When we arrived our dining reservation was refused order to accommodate a group of 45. We showed them a written confirmation from Small Luxury Hotels, a confirmation number and the name of the receptionist who confirmed the booking. They still denied us. Most dishonorable hotel experience ever. Many problems with the rooms as well. NEVER AGAIN!
Numerous problems with our room

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winetraveler446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I am reading the reviews on the second day of our stay and must note that I have now a different perspective than I had when reading them a few days ago, before we arrived. One huge problem is that about 18 months ago the hotel was completely renovated, so immediately any review before that date should be completely ignored. I would also say that people who cannot appreciate that in France they speak French and that dinning in France can be a way to spend the evening, that 3 hours in a restaurant is a luxury not something to be complained about should stay at home or at least only travel somewhere that culturally is similar. If you can't appreciate the differences don't go somewhere different. We are having a excellent stay and I can find nothing to complain about. The staff have been fantastic and a bit of broken French has resulting is more than enough English to get by with. I am am also enjoying not being told that they need the table back in 2 hours.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxing39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We had a late arrival 22.00 and were quite hungry, but were informed that the kitchen had already closed and it was impossible to get as much as a snack (room service only operates when the restaurant is open), we ended up taking all our meals in Saint-Emilion therefor, never tried the restaurant in the hotel. Beware that it can be difficult to get a taxi back from town during late evening. My partner and I had a junior suite with a fantastic view over the vineyards and a dream of a bathroom, the only downside with the room was that the air conditioning was not functioning and it became very hot since the room was directly under the roof. Our friends stayed in a standard room, which was spacious, modern and had a large terrace facing the vineyards (perfect to relax on with a glass of good wine in the evening). We rented bicycles directly from the hotel who also organized the visits to the vineyards. The small roads leading through he different wine estates have very little traffic so its excellent for biking. The spa and wellness area was nice, including the outdoor pool. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing 3 day stay, but do not get hungry during the wrong times :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibertyGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Lovely hotel and friendly staff.
Stayed in a nice room overlooking the surrounding vineyards.
Breakfast was poor however.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This hotel is not an old musty castle. It is all brand new with a wonderful restaurant and attentive staff. If you want a romantic room with quality bedding and baths, this is the place. It is a short drive from Saint Emilion. GPS had a tough time finding it. Wineries abound in all directions. Great location to tour wine country and have quality lodging. I did try the wine from the vineyard next door and wasn't impressed. Skip the Chateau La Marzelle Grand Cru (2003?) wine at dinner. Wasn't worth the price. Past its prime if it ever had one, fruit was gone, weak, and lots of sediments.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vailite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Very disappointing. The spa gets crowded with only 8 persons, that is very small for about 100 guests in the hotel. The room is noisy, we could hear speaking and coughing next door, all night long. Service at the restaurant was unacceptable, we got seats and just waited about 30 minutes without anyone getting to us nor giving us the menu. They were passing in front of us, serving a group of japanese guests, simply ignoring us. So we complained, got no apologies, and then went downtown to have dinner. At check-out, we got no more apologies nor reward. Definetly not four stars. Go elsewhere !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper_advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Emilion
2.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
19.3 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Grand Barrail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Grand Barrail

Property: Chateau Grand Barrail
Address: Route de Libourne, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Grand Barrail 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Grand Barrail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel Saint-Emilion
Chateau Grand Barrail Saint Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing