We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de la Commanderie
Nearby Hotels
US$561
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Grand Barrail(Saint-Emilion)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palais Cardinal(Saint-Emilion)
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel De France(Libourne)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion(Libourne)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Kyriad Libourne - Saint Emilion(Libourne)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
77
108
41
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
108
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbreadfree parkingcroissantsdouble bedwash your handsboiled eggspriced hotelclean bathroomthe main hotelmedieval townspent four nightsquiet at nightold buildingthe air conditioningsituated rightwould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel itself is basic and clean (although the beds and linen could do with an upgrade). However I can only concur with the other reviewers regarding the manager.

We made an inquiry by phone and sent a mail afterwards to confirm our reservation (paid the first night in advance - two months before our stay). Today we were accosted by the manager who accused of sleeping in the same room as my wife and demanding I pay for two rooms (one for the e-mail and one for the phone call - because he had written down my number when I called). Obviously I refused indicating we only confirmed a single room (why else the entire pre-billing). He flat out accused us of fraud and called in the Gendarmerie (who after listening to our story and taking down our identity let us leave the hotel). The owner has threatened to sue and to be honest I'm looking forward to seeing him in court.

Left the hotel and now staying somewhere much more agreeable (Vignobles Fabris).

Whatever, enjoying the rest of our vacation in France :-)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank SebM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This classic hotel has a wonderful central location in this gorgeous old historic village.
You couldn't get any more central and it was easy to find by Navman GPS with a very handy free car park close by. (which is a real asset in a town where parking is very limited)
We were situated in the adjacent annexe which was in a similar old, but refurbished, stone building. It was very comfortable and clean and our room had a charming leadlight window with a some historic images of the town & its history.
Our hostess was most charming and extremely helpful with checking websites & printing a map - she 'went the extra mile'!
The bathroom was slightly basic with just a hand-held shower nozzle in the bath, no screen/curtain so a bit draughty & messy (but these seem common in Europe - so it may be my technique?) - a wall bracket would make a difference! No fridge or wi-fi in rooms.
So close to the array of wine cellars, cafes & artisans that grace this place!
The charming central square is but a 2 min. walk away

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of Saint Emilion .It is ideally located.It is quite difficult to find if you drive a car.Be careful if you drive a big car.The rooms are spacious ,with air conditioning and with nice bathrooms.There is a parking space not far fwhich is closed at night from 2300 to 7 in the morning so if have to leave early in the morning you should park the car elsewhere.They offer breakfast for 11 euros but you can get better deals in cafes nearby.The clercks at the hotel were very helpful except that they did not offer to help us(older people) with our luggage.But despite that we very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet at night even if they face the main street.Again be very careful if you drive a big car.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliezer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Beware - my confirmation e-mail stated: "Cancellation policy: deposit will be refunded (-15%) 1 month before estimated arrival date."

Two months before our trip, we unavoidably had to cancel. Per the policy, we expected the hotel to keep 15% of our deposit and refund 85%. But the hotel charged 15% of ***what the entire trip would have cost***. When I inquired about it, the hotel responded promptly and politely but did NOT give me the full refund and did not say they'd change the wording of the policy for future travelers. Sad because we were really looking forward to patronizing this hotel next year.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rosy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Perfect location.Room small but adequate.V box like although clean.Didnt have bfast at €11each but went to cafe over road and had coffee and croissant for €8 for the two of us! Receptionist was very helpful

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews