We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de la Commanderie
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Cannot fault our experience from arrival to check out. Coming to Saint Emilion as a surprise for my husbands 40th on our family holiday I didn't want to break the bank on a room with two children in tow. Our expections were exceeded! Amazing price, location was outstanding and staff helpful and welcoming...not to mention the free wifi and parking.
A
We will visit again with everything Saint Emilion has to offer being a very short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the vines for a real hint at Saint Emilion at it's best
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sarahbowers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Auberge de la Commanderie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at Auberge de la Commanderie at a recommendation of friends and it proved to be a pleasant stay. Location is fantastic, virtually in the centre of town, and they provide a free car park that is a 10 min walk from the hotel along with free wifi. The staff are quite rude and show no acknowledgement of you at all when you walk through the entrance. Breakfast is a Ripoff, 10 Euros for a Small bowl of fruit, a small tub of yoghurt an egg and two pieces of French bread. The kitchen lady is rather rude and impatient impatient if any issues arise. Overall, well located but staff, as well as the owner need learn to be more polite.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Retnuac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were driving through Saint-Emilion & decided to overnight . We stopped for lunch & made use of the restaurants wifi to look at hotels available in the area. The Auberge came up so we popped along to have a look at it. We were offered a double room at a cheaper rate than was being offered online so booked it straight away. The hotel is in a great location just across the road from the pedestrianised streets . Numerous restaurants & wine merchants on your doorstep. Free car parking & wifi. The only downside of our stay was a generator like humming noise & then what sounded like someone's mobile phone alarm going of repeatedly all night. So not much sleep was had. Friendly check in staff. Room was also quite small & unusual but adequate for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: I think the room next door to ours looked quite spacious was a twin but beds pushed together. So may...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our group had four rooms at the hotel for our three night stay in St. E., and I was able to see rooms in both buildings. The rooms are basic but completely adequate, clean and comfortable. The hotel's wifi worked great (much better than in some more expensive hotels we stayed at in other places in France) and the location was fabulous. We were within easy walking distance of EVERYTHING the town offered. In sum, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel has a nice location on the top of the valley in Saint Emilion. The rooms are basic but comfortable and have a certain historic feeling. We had one across the street from the main building with a view of the clocher.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbag12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a busy little town when we arrived. We received several suggestions for a hotel or B and B from Tourist Information. We like to be able to walk to dinner so we wanted to stay right in the village. There were quite a few places that were wineries that offered accommodations but that meant staying outside the village. We chose the Auberge de la Commanderie because of the reasonable room rate and the cleanliness and newness of the room. Very comfortable bed and linens. They had a nice lounge/lobby area where you could read or play games. The hotel offered a breakfast for an extra fee which we declined. The hotel had a private, gated parking area about a 5 minute walk away. This was convenient as most other parking was pay parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Auberge De La Commanderie is a two star hotel located in Rue Des Cordeliers in Saint Emilion.
It is within easy walking distance of the town centre and many tourist attractions such as the Cordeliers cloister, the market hall, the monolithic church and its bell tower and the steep cobblestone streets of this charming medieval town.

Unusually for a hotel in St Emilion the Commanderie has its own private parking in a site a short walk from the hotel. Parking is free with the 12 parking bays operating on a “first come, first served” basis. However with many one way streets in the town a sat nav system we used had difficulty in directing us to the hotel and car park. We parked in a public car park, walked to the hotel where we were given a map of the town and shown the best way to drive to the hotel and to the hotel car park. It is worth pointing out that the car park is accessed by a narrow road which passes through La Porte de Brunet an entrance to the previously walled town.

The receptionist gave us a warm welcome and checked us in without any fuss. The hotel has rooms in the main building and in a building across the narrow cobblestone road from the main building, formerly we understand, a Templar building. We were given a room in this building. We could not fault it. It seemed to be recently refurbished and had the original sandstone walls in places. The window shutters were painted with scenes from St Emilion. A novel and attractive decoration.

Our room for two had twin beds, an air conditioner, a flat screen wall mounted TV, telephone handsets, a bathroom with a bath tub and separate toilet facilities. The bathroom had sparkling white fluffy towels, two bars of soap and two packets of shower gel and tissues.

There was plenty of storage space for clothes and one cupboard was lockable, perhaps making up for the absence of an in-room safe. There was no mini bar but drinks could be purchased from a vending machine in the reception area.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate but could be purchased for an additional charge of 11 Euros per person. It was a typical continental breakfast served to you on an individual tray in the dining room. The quantity of food was sufficient and its quality was excellent.

Surrounding the hotel are numerous restaurants, however at peak times it might be necessary to book in advance at the more popular restaurants.

To our mind this hotel is worthy of more stars than the two it has. All of the staff we had contact with where friendly and helpful, the room was spotlessly clean and the location of the hotel could not be faulted. We were so impressed with the hotel that we made an unplanned stay at it a week later and again found no fault with the hotel.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as an ideal place to stay in this delightful medieval town.

Room Tip: Ask for room in annex. Fantastic!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Commanderie

Address: 2 rue de la Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: £92 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Commanderie 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Commanderie Hotel Saint-Emilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing