We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Chateau Franc Mayne in May 2008. We stayed in the Black and White room and it was extremely clean and well decorated. The windows open directly into the courtyard and the bathroom is open to the room, but neither was an issue for us. The staff is extremely helpful (they speak perfect English which is a great help if your French is rusty like ours) and they made us feel welcome during every interaction. We enjoyed the family style breakfast with other guests and honestly, most of the time, it felt like we were the only ones staying there. We sipped our complimentary glass of wine out by the pool in the evening and even stayed up to play pool one night in one of the common rooms. I can only confirm what all the others have said in their reviews- this is a wonderful place to stay, relaxing, beautiful, clean, just perfect. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in St. Emillion. We were very happy with our choice and would go back and stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doof99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2009

FANTASTIC! The most beautiful setting in a gorgeous historic chateau that is a winery and small hotel. Beautiful rooms with heated towel racks and large bathrooms and the most comfortable beds. Walking distance to the magical town of St. Emilion and the setting is beyond an amazing experience in France. I stayed with a group of women in the wine industry from Napa Valley visiting our French counterparts who hosted us in Bordeaux and I will be back next time with my husband. I'm telling all my friends if they go to this area of Bordeaux this is the place to stay. Griet and her staff are the BEST. Merci Merci!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October and used it as a base for our travels in the Bordeaux region and the Dordogne Valley. Even though you can walk to St Emilion (as we did once) you should have a rental car or some other way of getting around.

The staff was courteous, the service impecable, the views incomparable, and the wine even better! We stayed in the British Landscape Room and were quite pleased. The public rooms (particularly the lounge and the outside pool area) were terrific. We often would order appetizers and sip their wine before dinner in the city.

We were fortunate enough to have the harvest start while we were there. That was a bonus we hadn't planned on.

One day we scheduled a private tour of the Medoc region, and the tour guide came to our hotel to pick us up--so being in what some might seem as a remote place to make a home base, worked for us.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Everything about this place was as advertised and was just lovely. The hotel has been recently decorated in a whimsical chateau kind of way. We arrived to be greated by sweet girls who spoke great English. First we were taken on a very informative tour of the winery. The back garden was a nice place to sit and read for a while. The walk to town was almost exactly the 20 minutes they said and it was a very easy, pleasant walk to town. We had had a big lunch so we asked the hotel to make us a plate of food for the evening. For 18 euros, they brought out the most lovely spread of quiche, cheeses, prosciutto, ham, lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, fruit, bread etc. We paired it with a bottle of their rose and had a really lovely evening in one of their very comfortable common rooms. Great computer set up for guests also. We stayed in the black and white room which was adorable and extremely clean. My only complaint was that in this particular room there was no door between the bathroom and the bedroom. Even though that was a little odd, I loved the place and would stay in the same room again. This hotel really is a little treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nsrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

This was a beautiful and friendly place to stay. We stayed there for my wife's birthday (with the kids) and we were made to feel welcome. The Chateau was spotless, breakfast was excellent and grounds outstanding. Only wished we had stayed for a week. Only negative was it is pricey but I believe well worth it. Also disappointed we ran out of time to do the wine tour!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Family-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at Chateau Franc Mayne, and even though we were hoping we'd love it, we can honestly say that it exceeded our expectations in every way.

The staff are genuinely friendly and were unobtrusive, so you almost felt as though you were staying with friends rather than in a hotel. Inside and out, the chateau is immaculate. The gardens are beautifully kept, we spent our first evening relaxing with a bottle of rose on the terrace in the ever-so-comfortable furniture watching the sunset. Breakfast is fresh bread, cheese, ham etc, or croissants and jam. There is fresh coffee, tea and orange juice on the table and boiled/scrambled/poached eggs are available on request.

There are only 9 rooms in the chateau, each individually styled. We stayed in Campagne Francaise which was huge, with a 6ft bed and two large windows looking out to the gardens and natural pool. The air conditioning meant that we could have our windows shut at night, keeping the mosquitos out. We had a flat screen TV and limited satellite channels, but you don't go to Franc Mayne to sit in your room watching the box!

The cost included a wine tour which you booked at your convenience, and was about an hour long. It gave us a good introduction to the production of Franc Mayne's wine, followed by wine tasting.

They don't do evening meals as such (unless it's pre-booked for parties of 8 or more), but if you order before 7.30pm, they will do an assortment of cheese with bread, or a plate of antipasti, which goes down a treat with a bottle of their rose!

All in all, we could not fault any part of our stay at Chateau Franc Mayne, which is a breath of fresh air. The staff, rooms, grounds, food, everything, was top class.

A truly fantastic hotel and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lolly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

The reason to come here is the location and the pool. The chateau is outside the main town, on a hill overlooking vineyards. They have a "natural" swimming pool, which is more like a structured, landscaped little lake, with lilly pads, a waterfall and the like. Just gorgeous and refreshing to dive into. Our room was nice, but not spectacular. We stayed in "Indian Fusion." Nicely decorated, but a bit cramped. The sitting room/lobby area is very nice, and they have free internet access in the pool room. Make sure you ask for the "back way" to walk into town - you go through paths winding through the vineyards, and on a warm summer night, nothing can beat it. We also rented bikes from the hotel and biked around the area, which is beautiful. We had a lovely stay and would go back.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank MarleenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais de Franc Mayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais de Franc Mayne

Address: 14 Lieu Dit la Gomerie | Route D243, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range: £158 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais de Franc Mayne 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of St-Emilion vineyard, the Relais de Franc Mayne provides 11 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with TV, wireless Internet access, mini bar, private safe. Enjoy a quiet place to stay, a natural swimming pool as well as great wines (Grand Cru Classé). Tours of the property 7 days a week upon booking (French and English). Free tours for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Relais de Franc Mayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De Franc Mayne Hotel Saint-Emilion
Chateau Franc Mayne Saint Emilion
Chateau Franc Mayne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing