We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places we've ever been”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places we've ever been”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed at this Chateau for 4 nights during our last trip to France. This chateau is really close to the town of Saint Emilion which itself is a beautiful town. The hotel is really unique, both the rooms and the surroundings, vineyards all around, natural pool (which we sadly couldn't enjoy because of the weather), beautiful gardens. We stayed at the African Lodge room, which was quite fun, having an African decor in the middle of wine country. The hotel's staff was extremely helpful, they made reservations for us in local vineyards and restaurants and recommended us tours and restaurants in surrounding towns. This hotel is not cheap, even for France, but you definitely get your money's worth. We would definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    43
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
96
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed a couple of nights in Chateau France Mayne when visiting the St. Emilion village and wine area. First and foremost - St. Emilion is a superb place and it's advisable to stay nearby as you don't want to drive a lot after having a bottle of Grand Cru...
The chateau is actually a wine estate, rated Grand Cru Classe (highest tier of approx 5% of the St. Emilion vinyards) which turned into a fine botique hotel. The place is not cheap - we paid 240 Eu per night plus 15 each for breakfast and had the Asian Mood room (each room has a theme) - which was really nice. However you really have tons of feature in this place - an outside pool created by a natural stream, a billiard/pool room, a reading room and more. It's 1 km from the village so access is no brainer, and we got a tour of the wine making in the estate which was very professional. Service was just great, all tips and help needed were promptly given, so for an upscale place near St. Emilion it's a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Having just reread some of the reviews for this property I wonder if we stayed in the same place.
We loved this small hotel of 9 rooms. We satyed in the Champagne Francoise room which was enormous with a king size bed and glorious view over the pool/garden area and vineyard beyond. We loved the traditional decor of our room, did not even turn on the T.V but did make use of the free wi fi access.
We spent part of our time relaxing on the terrace and talked to so many guests that time had got away from us and it was too late to order dinner. But on asking at reception the staff were happy to oblidge and set up a simple dinner on the terrace which we enjoyed while watching the sun set. We finished the bottle of Franc Mayne wine in the large and comfortable lounge.
The wine tour included in the room rate was interesting and the staff also booked appointments with other chateaus as they did for other guests.The staff wre very friendly and obliging.
We walked into St.Emillion through the wineries a leisurely 15 mintes away.
I could not recommend this place highly enough. I am dreaming about how I could pursuade 8 of my friends to come with me and turn it into a house party-a perfect venue with the biilard room and large common areas!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed in the Asian Mood room which was well-themed, spacious, and overlooked the natural pool (a pond) and the ubiquitous vineyards. The hotel is a tad modern, in light of the age-old surroundings and centuries-old chateaus. I wish there would have been a more comprehensive menu and perhaps a small gym (running on the small intra-chateau roads is challenging if not a little perilous). The service was excellent, and the place clean, close to St. Emilion, and entirely pleasant. Free and painless WiFi was a plus. Our room, with the shutters closed, became perfectly dark, allowing for a deep sleep. Of note: good air-conditioning and a well-intentioned if useless Cable television set-up. I would award a fifth star if the Franc Mayne would have sacrificed some of the modern affects for more traditional european hotel standards. The price, however, was a plus.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This hotel, described by all who visit as perfect, was not for me. It certainly was perfect and everything was just so, but I just didn't connect with it. I have travelled all over the world as well as France for many years and perhaps that was the problem. I asked my husband how he felt about the hotel and he said "it has no soul". Most of the guests could have been my children and I really felt like there was a generation gap so if you are in your 20s it may be for you. The hotel is extremely small, maybe 6 rooms but when people walked by you they never said hello. I could have been staying at a large hotel with all the lack of personal connection. Even the staff were like that, if you ever saw a staff member. From all the internet blurbs I would have thought that I was staying in someone's house the way they go on about the couple who run the place. We never saw them or any evidence of them. The staff, like the place, were personality less and perfect. When we were leaving I asked if I could have a bag of ice for our cooler. I was directed to the reception where I waited while the staff called someone. They told me I couldn't have one, I guess all the other guests never need ice, they are cold and cool enough. For Euro 240 a night, I would have liked more.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed in Chateau Franc Mayne for one night and loved it so much came back again
for a second night before we went home. Fantastic hotel, fantastic location and
excellent staff. First night we stayed in Stella Mare room and second night in Pop Rock.
We were given a very good tour of the estate. Could walk to Saint Emilion from the hotel
through all the local vineyards. Lovely outside seating area and pool. Would highly
recommend and will be back !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

All the friendly staff all other reviewers write about must have been away, on holidays or gone from the hotel. From the moment we arrived we were ignored; not even the 'emergency contact' number was contactable when we needed him most. What small touches? the room was gaudy and not even a combe was in sight (a proper shower must be assumed surely comes with a 240quid a night price tag?) nice setting yes; a good stay, most definitely not. Having to walk out of the new wing, by the reception in your bikini is not what I consider "privacy". Better money for value everywhere else in St Emilion for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
1.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Le Relais de Franc Mayne

Property: Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Address: 14 Lieu Dit la Gomerie | Route D243, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais de Franc Mayne 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of St-Emilion vineyard, the Relais de Franc Mayne provides 11 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with TV, wireless Internet access, mini bar, private safe. Enjoy a quiet place to stay, a natural swimming pool as well as great wines (Grand Cru Classé). Tours of the property 7 days a week upon booking (French and English). Free tours for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Relais de Franc Mayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De Franc Mayne Hotel Saint-Emilion
Chateau Franc Mayne Saint Emilion
Chateau Franc Mayne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing