We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We saw the mixed reviews but this was the only available hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and showed us two rooms to choose from. One was a suite and the other was a small double. We chose the double which was very small but comfortable with a nice bathroom. They have very safe private parking! Our stay was pleasant but there were some points of attention. Free wifi but only downstairs and in that room the lights are constantly flickering and driving you mad. All it takes is someone to climb up and give the light a turn.

There is no reception at night and you come in with your own key in a darkish lobby.
All in all it was a good hotel, a good room and staff was very friendly the whole time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    58
    48
    25
    18
See reviews for
22
85
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

It is in a great location to explore St Emilion and has easily accessed secure parking. Stayed 2 nights in a Luxury room with A/C, which was a large room which had a sitting area with table, separate toilet & large well equiped bathroom, quite comforable but lighting was a little low and water pressure a little hit and miss. WiFi only in lobby area. We found the staff very helpful and pleasent to deal with, one girl seems to be jack of all trades, reception, makes coffee,organises breakfast buffet, concierge etc. Simple continental buffet breakfast was Ok but nothing flash. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Location is nice, but indeed, as others have said, the village of St-Emilion is so small that any hotel will be well situated. I haven’t had the chance to try the pool, as we only stayed one night (luckily). My room was very smelly, with all the old furniture and wallpaper. It didn’t have air conditioning, so I had to leave the window open. As it gave onto the road, it was a rude wake up call. Each car passing by on the pavements just below was like the sound of a subway passing right next to your ears. Very unpleasant.

Breakfast is supposedly open at 7:30, but at that time, the lady (Maria I believe) was still installing things and the coffee and tea were not ready. WiFi is only available in the reception area and is intermittent. They had to reset their Internet box, which apparently is « normal », but if nobody’s around to do it for you, then you can just wait until 7:30… I also overheard a group that reserved the conference room and were assured to have a video projector, only to find out that there was none… Terrible service !

Thankfully I only had to stay for a short night, and I will not return there !

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that's not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Emilion hotels

ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is comfortable, well located, has a secure garage and a nice pool. Its staff were very unfriendly and gave you the impression that they would rather be somewhere else. We paid 200 euros for a large, clean, nicely furnished room and two mediocre breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this small and convenient hotel in the centre of Saint-Emilion. The hotel is clean and has a nice pool and the location is second to none. Their was a grumpy staff member called Julie who was so unfriendly we thought it was a joke.

However Maria the front of house manager is exceptionally friendly and speaks excellent English, Spanish and French. She really made our stay worthwhile and has huge information on the area. Go stay at the Palais Cardinal and ask for Maria!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were slightly dubious about the hotel before going, based on the remarkably mixed tripadvisor reviews. However, I feel that 2/5 may be generous.

The location is great (although I think pretty much all the hotels in St Emilion are well-situated) and the building itself is pituresque. There is also a very nice little swimming pool. We had a room just above the front door. The room was so small you could only just walk around the bed and every time someone came through the hotel entrance beneath us, there was an annoying bell sound.

The staff at the hotel could not have been less friendly or attentive during our four day stay at Palais Cardinal. We chose not to eat at the restaurant as the staff seemed so miserable - as if checking in was a major inconvenience. One particular frustration was having received an email prior to our arrival telling us that they had taken a 30% deposit for the room which they actually hadn't taken - which got complicated when checking out. The lady behind the desk was painfully unhelpful at resolving the matter.

We definately won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ugm3ega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Palais Cardinal for one night in July 2011 and were very pleased. The room (de Luxe) was very comfortable and quite large, nicely decorated and overlooking the garden. The bathroom was very clean and nice, separate WC. The staff was friendley and one of the girls spoke English very well. It was also very comfortable with the garage for €10 across the street. It was a bit uncomfortable with the safetey box placed on the floor in one of the closets. We can recommend the Hotel Palais Cardinal, value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reseglad029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
#6 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palais Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palais Cardinal

Property: Hotel Palais Cardinal
Address: Place du 11 Novembre 1918 | 2 Rue Guadet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palais Cardinal 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palais Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Cardinal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing