We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Nearby Hotels
US$559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$78
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Commanderie(Saint-Emilion)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Grand Barrail(Saint-Emilion)
US$392
US$323
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De France(Libourne)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion(Libourne)(Great Value!)
US$92
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Kyriad Libourne - Saint Emilion(Libourne)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
22
64
51
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
64
51
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice pooloverlooking the gardenroom was clean and comfortableeuros per nightfrench hotelcontinental breakfastdouble roomstayed here for one nightreception staffold buildingbreadsaintwinevillagewardrobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Tiny rooms and poor service, especially from Manager/receptionist Maria who apparently is in the wrong business. She is disrespectful and argues openly with customers. Location is the only thing that saves this hotel from closing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zetour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

i stayed in the suite here. it was very spacious, the bathroom very modern and clean and the little patio was a great sun trap. i thought the price for st. emilion at the height of summer was very good. i didnt eat here but i did spend some time by the pool. all in all a very nice hotel. very well located for wine tasting and macaroons

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pistacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hi.

We want to leave a recommendation for the very beautiful Hotel Palais Cardinal.

We stopped in Saint Emilion for one night and haven't anything booked. So we had to find a room for one night and checked with different places.

The Hotel Palais Cardinal is not only located perfectly in town, they offered a room very reasonably priced and is just lovely on top. We didn't have anything to discuss.
The room and private bathroom were tidy and clean. We had a little balcony to sit on out to the back and with it a view onto the beautiful very old ruins of a church. And the for me most amazing part was, there part of the hotel. So when you sit by the pool or relax for a while in the backyard you sit right behind that ancient wall. Just amazing. We loved it.

We can't say much about the service. Only that everybody was very friendly and polite from the receptionist to the housekeepers.

To cut a long story short: we really loved and can highly recommend the Hotel Palais Cardinal.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My girfriend and I stayed in the hotel for two nights in June and were perfectly comfortable. The room wasn't large, but adequate for our needs, with a fair-sized bathroom. We also enjoyed one breakfast at the hotel (which was excellent) and a lovely dinner in the hotel dining room on our first night.

The only suggestion I would have is to try for a room overlooking the garden. We were on the street side and so was a bit noisy in the morning. However, as we were out and about fairly early, this wasn't a problem.

We also appreciated the fact that there was secure parking right across from the hotel.

I would recommend if you want a nice (budget) hotel at a good rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden/pool size are likely quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Lovely quaint and clean hotel. Great for visiting st emillon, wine tasting, bike riding. Some superb restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet. If you want more room sign up for something other than standard. Building age restricts the size and amenities but worth it to be close to town.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethR157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews