We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Les Logis du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Logis du Roy
Ranked #10 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We loved staying in the apartment. Pierre who owns it was really nice and helpful with recommending places to eat. Nextdoor they also have a place that serves wine and cold meats and cheeses. We got a plate from there twice which was not only very tasty but we got to have a nice chat with Sebastian who made us feel very welcome.
The apartment itself was very clean and had everything we wanted. There was milk, cheese, ham and juice in the fridge and fresh bread and croissants were left outside the door in the morning. This was a really nice touch as you can just get up and eat at the table without having to go anywhere.
St Emillion is an amazing place which medieval architecture is as much of a reason to go as the amzing wines and vineyards.
We will definitely be going back and will be booking at Les Logis du Roy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_etherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    38
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were delighted wih our stay in Saint Emillion. We recieved a warm and friendly welcome with excellent advise re dinner and site seeing options, a glass of wine made at the proprietors vineyard and significant help when faced with an injured ankle which required medical treatment. The location is fabulous, all sites within short walking distance. We would certainly recommend a visit to this beautiful area and a stay at this charming place.

Room Tip: We had the rooms (small self-contained apartment is a better description) on the first floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Turk
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived in the pooring rain on bikes and just before noon - so way before check in. Staff had not yet cleaned up from that day's check outs but kindly asked us to wait a few minutes as would prepare our room... we were so grateful as check in does state 4pm! We stayed in the Magnum on the 2nd floor, more than enough room for 3 people. Son slept on comfy sofa bed in the living room. Our bed also comfy and we slept well. It's in the center of town but very quiet. Free and fast Wifi provided. We stayed two nights, it rained the whole time and this apartment provided a wonderful refuge. Had thought of staying out of town but this was good as when it did not rain, we would pop out and also good for dinner as did not have to cycle back in the dark!!! Shower also strong and there's a washing machine though we never could figure out how the dryer worked.. but there was a heated towel rack so no problem!!! Breakfast was baguette and croissant plus yoghurt and orange juice in the fridge. My only complaint was could have had more bread and baguettes because that's why I visit France! But nice muesli type cereal as well. Coffee and hot chocolate and sugars etc provided. Pierre the owner came to see on the second day and gave us a glass of wine! We were easily able to store our bikes on site as well which when cycling overseas and staying in central city locations is a huge factor!

Room Tip: Le Tertre restaurant nearby is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent 3 nights here - and there are some real positives. There are three apartments - true apartments with ample space, large and good bathroom; kitchen. Top floor has great skylights. Proprietor is a fine fellow who greeted us with a glass of his wine - he makes very few bottles a year.
The fridge is stocked and the proprietor delivers a basket of baguette, croissants and bread each morning - excellent.
Now the problems: no housekeeping - you make your own bed and wash your own dishes. There are several "low bridges" in the third floor apartment - at inconvenient places (over the bed; over the toilet).
WiFi is erratic at best.
So where it's good, it's very, very good. Otherwise, not so much.
There's no one on site unless you're checking in or out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had a very good stay at the Logis du Roy in October 2011. Very well placed in the centre of St Emilion village within a short walk of all the facilities.

The rooms we hired provided a spacious living room / kitchen, a bathroom, a main bedroom and a small twin bed area on a converted mezanine space. The small kitchenette was quite well equipped with a fridge, dishwasher, 2 ring hob plus coffee maker and kettle.

The owner provided some limited breakfast items in the fridge on arrival and each morning supplied a very nice breakfast tray comprising french bread, croissants, pastries and orange juice.

The accommodation had wifi but as we were in the top room (3rd floor) and the property had quite thick stone walls we had to use our netbook in the groundfloor hallway to secure a strong signal.

The three rooms available to hire are situated up a tight and steep spiral staircase on floors 1, 2 and 3. I would not recommend them as being suitable for families with small children or for people with any form of walking disability or difficulty.

There is no parking with the accommodation and car access to the village centre is very limited. There is a public car park a short walk away (but quite expensive payant system during daytime hours). We parked on the street nearby during parts of the day and overnight despite it being a payant area as no checks were made given the low/mid season of our stay. This would probably not be possible in busier times. There is a free unlimited carpark some 5-10 minutes away.

For a couple the room we hired (the Imperial) was quite expensive despite what it had to offer. Had we been a family group of 4, using the mezanine sleeping area, then it may have represented better value. But we enjoyed the stay and would consider staying there again if visiting St Emilion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Trip advisor reviews led us to this set of rooms and once again reviews were correct. Not plush surroundings but above average and very comfortable. It's basically an apartment for the price of a hotel room and then a bit more. The personal service from Pierre the owner made us feel right at home. Breakfast brought fresh to us every day, you can make meals, eat out or relax there as well as sleeping!

Very central location with easy access to all the sights of St Emilion and easy access by road or train.

The owner was happy to accommodate not only our late arrival but to pop back to his shop so we could have a bottle of wine before we went to bed. Not many people would be this friendly and helpful.

His shop at the entrance to the lodgings was perfect for cheeses, meats, bread and wine and we took advantage of Sebastian's knowledge of all the fresh products on sale yet we felt no pressure to buy anything. Very happy to help us work out best way to get to Bordeaux and what to see etc.

We had a great stay and these little attention to details and good experiences all add to a relaxing break.

Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbarellaMaguerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Don’t expect polished interiors, fancy furnishings, soft lighting etc.

Do expect ancient bare limestone walls, completely unadorned – furnished with mostly wheat coloured tones that give the entire place a natural feel. The furnishing are comfortable but a little dated and twee.

The apartments, not rooms, are huge – and perfect if you want somewhere to chill after a long day’s driving.

The entire house is like a reverse wine cellar – with a limestone spiral staircase that twists up to the various suites. It even smells like a wine cellar (in a good way).

The proprietor is a real gent. We arrived late and forget to phone ahead – all was locked up when we arrived, but he was 3-4 minutes in coming after we called, and he could not have been more welcoming.

We really enjoyed out stay there – it was so private.

What’s more it is directly next door to a superb restaurant – ‘l’huitrier-pie’ (after a long day’s journey they offer first class food and wine at really fair prices).

We’ll definitely be back.

p.s. when you visit be sure that the proprietor lets you taste the excellent Grand Cru he handcrafts (just a few thousand bottles per annum)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deiricm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Logis du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Logis du Roy

Property: Les Logis du Roy
Address: 7 rue de la Porte Bouqueyre, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To the heart of the prestigious vineyard of Bordeaux, come to taste our wines with the barrel and remain in our rooms of host with Saint-Emilion, with the heart of the medieval city, in a building very out of stone of XVIII, 3 suites flat rooms of very great standing which can accomodate each one 4 people all the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Les Logis du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing