We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Les Logis du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Logis du Roy
Ranked #9 of 24 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had been to St Emilion many years before and knew I wanted to return. It felt like a bit of a crap shoot when I booked this hotel (there are not a lot of choices within the town limits). What a pleasant surprise. The hotel is conveniently located near a main entrance to town so available parking is very close. The rooms were recently redone and were spacious, attractive and comfortable. The town is pretty quiet at night but even so, we could have our windows open and not hear people carousing at neighboring restaturants. I have family living in France and they had recommended a guide who in turn recommended restaurants, etc. We ended up eating at the Logis restaurant the 2nd night and were very happy (better than our guides recommendation). Pierre is a great host and he and my husband smoked cigars and drank wine together at an outside table. He was the right balance of making you feel he was a local friend and was interested and cared about you and your travels without inserting himself into your business. The fresh breakfast delivered outside your bedroom door was also pleasant. Pierre willingly brought ours early the day of our departure. The hotel is not large, 3 (?) rooms, which I found preferable. The restaurant downstairs catered to guests as well as the public. They also have a little wine shop (the first of the 3 businesses) run by his son and is where you check in. We didn't end up visiting it but looked as though he had a fine selection of wines.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    37
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was a nice little flat with a small kitchen and washing machine. The apartment is in the old Medieval old town so, parking is a problem. We were here on Sept 4 so I assume this was after tourist season because the business was handled as a distraction rather than something important. We settled our bill the evening before as no one was around in the morning and we did not have any time to spare as were catching a train in Bordeaux at 1330. Cannot say the same for the German couple that was in a panic about how to settle their account.

Getting back to the title of this saga - the bed was so hard my wide and I could not sleep. My wife stacked sofa cushions on the bed in able to sleep. I played games on my mini computer rather than sleep.

The floor has a floor covering of some woven straw rather than carpet. It hurt our feet to walk on it in bare feet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Les Logis du Roy is a little paradise inside a bigger one! Located a couple of minutes walk from the central square in St Emilion, it consists of rooms above a wine shop and tapas-style bar, all owned by the same friendly guy (who also makes some excellent wine). Our room had the best shower I've come across in France and the decor is very chic. There is a fridge in the room containing quality cheese and ham for breakfast and the fresh baguette, croissants and coffee are left on your doorstop in a basket every morning. Bliss.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ant_Zoe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wonderful place to stay! Newly renovated with a wonderful host, Pierre. They provide recommendations, wine tastings in their wineshop, nice and fresh breakfast, and good helpers in Clement and Sidney. Pierre helped us tremendously in boxing up our substantial wine purchases (including his wonderful wine). Very friendly and so welcoming! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at this property in May 2013. The unit was comfortable, clean and clearly newly rennovated. However, the unit below us was under major construction. When morning arrived, the smell and fumes from paint/turpentine products completely overwhelmed us and we had to vacate very quickly. My wife actually felt sick and became dizzy as we were rushing to check out. When we mentioned this problem to the owner, he simply shrugged and seemed completely disinterested. I believe this will be a very nice property in the future, but in the current state, they simply should not rent the unit with such toxicity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJF89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you are lucky enough to find yourself in St. Emillion, France the place to stay is Les Logis du Roy. The owner, Pierre, has created a wonderful space, at a reasonable price, right in the middle of this charming town. One suggestion to make life easier; do not try to find the hotel by car, as we did. Instead, park in the lot at the south end of town and walk. Find the hotel. Then make arrangements for your luggage. Everything is close.

Room Tip: If the mini-suite is available, book it.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank casey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Pierre, entrepreneur/host/owner/operator has made Les Logis a perfect base for exploring the region. Les Logis is centrally located in the lower town. The Jeraboam suite is light, airy, well appointed, and roomy. Bed is excellent, kitchen fully stocked and operable. No elevator, so that may be a limiting factor for some. Foreign language TV. Each morning, basket of croissant, baguette and cheese delivered outside door. Each day refrigerator replenished with eggs, milk, yogurt, juice. We stayed a week and were delighted. Great value in a great region.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Emilion hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison de la Commanderie
Maison de la Commanderie
#4 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Petite Madeleine
La Petite Madeleine
#3 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Logis du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Logis du Roy

Property: Les Logis du Roy
Address: 7 rue de la Porte Bouqueyre, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To the heart of the prestigious vineyard of Bordeaux, come to taste our wines with the barrel and remain in our rooms of host with Saint-Emilion, with the heart of the medieval city, in a building very out of stone of XVIII, 3 suites flat rooms of very great standing which can accomodate each one 4 people all the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Logis du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing