We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Tuesday market”
Review of Hotel Le Goelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Goelo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Paimpol
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for Tuesday market”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I often choose this hotel when I want to take a trip to the lovely Paimpol Tuesday market.
Its great location is ideal as it is on the right on the harbour. There is a free 1-hour parking in front of the hotel (enough time to unload your luggage and check in) and for later there is a free public parking in the street at the back of the hotel. The few things that let's it down are :
- the breakfast room is down in the basement, without view; but there are many cafés in the area to have your breakfast there.
- the towels in the bathroom are a little on the smallish side
- there is no coffee/tea making facility in the room (but then again, that is usual in France to not have that facility - so no surprise really).
All in all a good stay, came for the Tuesday market, had the hotel right there, perfect !

Room Tip: Prefer a room with harbour view, rather than city view. Then again, some people prefer the city vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    84
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
92
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We arrived early on a motorbike and the very nice man on reception let us leave all our bike gear and get changed in our room even though the room was not ready which was very kind of him. The hotel is on the harbour with all the bars around it. Sadly our room said it had a city view but seems as we was on the first floor the only view we had was of the roofs around us so no view at all. we did try to book a room at the front but they had already been booked up. The staff there spoke very little english and our french wasn't good at all but we managed. The staff was very helpful and the young man on reception seemed to be there from morning til late at night. The room was small but was clean and comfortable. As for the bathroom, it was very clean and had everything you needed but was very small. It had a sliding door which didn't close and had a inch gap down the side. This door was a foot away from the bed. Lets just say you could sit there and see your partner in bed and have a chat but if you was embarrassed about using the loo in front of someone then this hotel would not suit you lol
The breakfast was very good and you would not go hungry. There is a chinese around the corner from the hotel but the food was not very good and the service was awful. The only people in there getting any attention was the locals. Its the first time i have been to a chinese and left hungry. There is a pizza and pasta place just past the super market and the food here was very good and you got more than a plateful. Overall Paimpol is a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: book a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This hotel is right on Paimpol’s harbour in a building which is probably 30-50 years old. The receptionist was very friendly, but had no English at all. Our room was decorated in fresh colours, but rather small. The bathroom was tight, especially the shower cell (60*60 cm). The ample breakfast buffet is served in the basement. It even includes cheese and cold meat – rare in France. The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant, but that’s no problem considering the choice of restaurants around the harbour.

A very central location always leads to a risk of noise and that was definitely the case here. Our tour agent booked a room with harbour view for us which I consider a very bad idea – at least in the heart of the summer season. The ground floor of the hotel building is a bar with terrace and two similar bars are just around the corner. The road past the harbour is busier during the night than one might expect in a provincial town (fishermen?). The noise level was too high to sleep with an open window. Even with a lot of experimenting (opening the window halfway the night, sleeping pills, ear plugs…) we hardly slept here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andover
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Although this hotel overlooks the marina we were not troubled by the clinking of ropes and masts all night. It is easy to access the coastal footpath in both directions from here without moving the car and this makes an excellent day out. Plenty of good restaurants around and convenient also for visiting Treguier and the Ile de Brehat. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and provided a good breakfast in the basement dining room. Only small criticisms would be the size of the room, shortage of storage space – maybe most visitors have less luggage – and small shower.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paimpol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le K'Loys
Hotel Le K'Loys
#3 of 11 in Paimpol
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bocher
Hotel Restaurant Bocher
#3 of 5 in Ploubazlanec
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel les Agapanthes
Hotel les Agapanthes
#1 of 5 in Ploubazlanec
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Les Terrasses De Brehat
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Marne
Hotel de la Marne
#9 of 11 in Paimpol
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Relais de Launay
Le Relais de Launay
#5 of 5 in Ploubazlanec
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Goelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Goelo

Property: Hotel Le Goelo
Address: 4 quai Duguay Trouin, 22500, Paimpol, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Paimpol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Paimpol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Goelo 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Goelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing