We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very shabby and overpricced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Logis de l'Ecu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Logis de l'Ecu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montbard
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very shabby and overpricced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I would agree with other comments here about being tired and overpriced. The room was a gaudy mix of colours and the whole hotel look faded and shabby (as opposed to antique or cosy). Cupboard doors were broken, the shower door nearly came off...The woman at reception was the least friendly person we met on our whole trip (not terrible but not exactly friendly), the place cost nearly double that of other (fabulous) B&Bs we stayed at in the same week. And where other (fabulous) B&Bs included great breakfasts in the price, this hotel did not. We decided to escape the hotel and go out for some drinks and food - it was Saturday night and we had been really forward to this - but when we went out EVERYWHERE in the town was closed. We ended up eating crisps in our room. I can't think why anyone would want to stay in Montbard for even one night and this hotel certainly didn't help!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryko26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
7
53
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed in a double for one night for 80 euro. This is more than I like to pay for a hotel but there simply not many options for Montbard. We walked from the train station to the hotel in about 15 minutes. There was a Casino supermarket on the way as well as other smaller food shops.

The room itself was small and clean with a comfortable bed and a fridge with the usual overpriced minibar items. The bathroom was FANTASTIC: large, fancy, and with a super-duper shower. Ahhhhh, a relaxing way to end a long day on my feet. There was even a bathrobe.

We came to Montbard specifically to see the Fontenay Abbey and the hotel staff graciously called a cab to take us there.

The room was warm (appreciated in March) and had free wifi in the room. The building itself is old and really cool looking with lots of character.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

The hotel is rather quaint to put it generously. The stair and landing carpet is so old it has turned to a vague mud colour. Navigating the top floor is hazardous for people of normal height as the roof joists intrude. The room was small and awkwardly shaped. Breakfast is not included. Staff were perfunctory. The character of the hotel may appeal to some people but overall it is well below the standard of more modern budget hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricardoshedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

My wife and I stayed here for one nite in late October, 2007; we chose it from a prior positive review in TripAdvisor. We loved the hotel, especially the fantastic French dinner our first evening in France; the staff was very helpful; we spoke some French which was helpful since their English proficiency was untested; the breakfast also was well worth the 10 euros price; the room we had was well furnished and had great atmosphere; the hotel itself dates back to the 17th century; the location is not too far from the rail station, and we found a local taxi service run by a nice couple originally from Montenegro who provided an informalchauffeur/tourguide service the next day. I would definitely stay here again, and the town itself is worth the visit, especially if one goes out to visit the Fonteney Abbey.

  • Liked — Great Atmosphere in entrance area and in room; meal service excellent
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2007

Stayed at this hotel on way fron Dieppe to Anncey (too far for one afternoon motorbike riding) Phoned at 8.00 to say we'd be late and got there at 10.45, they waited for us and were helpful considering they probably wanted to lock up.
Central location in this small town and a nice French man showed us the way to the hotel from the railway station, the map they use isn't that helpful, but that's France for you.
Good size room and nice breakfast, if they hadn't have waited for us we would have been in a right mess. All in all a success, but won't ride that distance in an afternoon / evening again.

  • Liked — clean and tidy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightonBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbard
9.3 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#2 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#1 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ibis Avallon
Ibis Avallon
#1 of 3 in Magny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Marmagne
Le Marmagne
#1 of 2 in Marmagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse 79
Hotel de l'Ecluse 79
#1 of 2 in Ancy-le-Franc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis de l'Ecu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis de l'Ecu

Property: Logis de l'Ecu
Address: 7 rue Auguste Carre, 21500 Montbard, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Montbard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montbard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis de l'Ecu 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Logis de l'Ecu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ecu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing