We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“typical provincial 3* hotel”
Review of Logis de l'Ecu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Logis de l'Ecu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montbard
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“typical provincial 3* hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The evening meal in the restaurant was superb, staff - probably the owners friendly with english not a problem. The room though was a bit basic, clean, no complaints and quite ok for a 1 night stay. For me it is fairly typical of many family run hotels in France.
An easy walk from the train station, taxis' might object because it is so close. Cost at 74 Eur a wee bit steep for what was on offer.
It is old building so some compromise is needed on your expectations ,I'd rather stay here in the centre of Montbard than in chain on the edge of town in a modern building.( I dont think that option exists)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricc099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
7
54
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A glimpse of provincial France. A 17th century building with narrow and occasionally uneven and creaking corridors. Some of the rooms have been renovated so are large & comfortable but no frills. The corridor to our room was not well lit but one could imagine the generations who have used it but overall a slightly run down feel. Booking via email went smoothly and including a minor change to our dates and the arrival was quick and efficient - despite us trying to use our very basic French!

The highlight of our stay was the meal - the fixed menu was superb and for value, one of the best meals we had in our 3 weeks. Care and attention to food is clearly a priority here. Full of locals which is a good sign although on our night more staff would have helped as it did take some time. But highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank easytraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was a first night on our cyling holiday along the Canal du Bourgogne. It was difficult to stop outside the hotel in our car as it is on a narrow street. There was secure parking in a lock up garage nearby but it was very full. While we cycled we were able to leave our car in a nearby farm barn. Though the hotel was in need of redecoration our room was large and ensuite. The french style breakfast was good. The staff were quite helpful but we needed our French! Montbard did not have many restuarants open on a Sunday night so it would be worth looking into where to eat before you arrive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We found this hotel to be far too expensive for the services it offers. It is a 17th century building but you wouldn't know once you're inside. The decoration was shabby and in dire need of a make over and we didn't feel welcome. We asked twice (in French - no language problem here) how to connect to the Internet but never got a meaningful answer. Fortunately, we only spent one night there. However, our bed was reasonably comfortable, dinner was delicious (the only restaurant in town apparently) and pets stay for free.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions now and love the character of all of the rooms I have used. The fact that it is a 17th century building means that all of the rooms are very different. This is why I like family run hotels in France. The bathrooms are very modern and tastefully renovated to blend in with the character of the building. The rooms are very clean and equipped with mini bar, tv and telephone. wifi access is free.
Good buffet breakfast and staff were very helpful and attentive.
Highlight of the stay was dining at the hotel restaurant. Fantastic 3 course set menu for €22.00. worth a visit for the food alone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycletourleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just fine, older property, comfortable and as advertised. Typical of older small hotels in europe, just go with it. Big modern bathroom and free wifi. Montbard is tiny and the restaurant was the only one open in town and despite my reluctance to eat at a hotel restaurant I have to say it was one of the finest meals I have had in four weeks in France. Try the escargo wrapped in cabbage leaves! Bon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewdelFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I would agree with other comments here about being tired and overpriced. The room was a gaudy mix of colours and the whole hotel look faded and shabby (as opposed to antique or cosy). Cupboard doors were broken, the shower door nearly came off...The woman at reception was the least friendly person we met on our whole trip (not terrible but not exactly friendly), the place cost nearly double that of other (fabulous) B&Bs we stayed at in the same week. And where other (fabulous) B&Bs included great breakfasts in the price, this hotel did not. We decided to escape the hotel and go out for some drinks and food - it was Saturday night and we had been really forward to this - but when we went out EVERYWHERE in the town was closed. We ended up eating crisps in our room. I can't think why anyone would want to stay in Montbard for even one night and this hotel certainly didn't help!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryko26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbard
9.3 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#2 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#1 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel des Cymaises
Hotel des Cymaises
#3 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hotel Sylvia
Hotel Sylvia
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-sur-Seine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ici M'aime
Ici M'aime
#1 of 1 in Rouvray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Beursaudiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis de l'Ecu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis de l'Ecu

Property: Logis de l'Ecu
Address: 7 rue Auguste Carre, 21500 Montbard, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Montbard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montbard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis de l'Ecu 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Logis de l'Ecu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ecu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing