We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau de Reignac
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I booked this hotel as a birthday gift. In fact there has been a surprise, but not a pleasant one!

We were very disappointed - the hotel is rather a below avarage B&B than a "luxury Chateau-hotel". We visites Les chateaux de la Loire for a week or so and it was our worst experience - all guestrooms and 2 stars hotels we stayed in were to a great extend better for less than a third of the price.


First and foremost it was DIRTY! Our room was the one under the roof, a Prestige room, but not only it wasn't worthy of its name, it was disgusting. Especially the "cleanliness" of the bathroom. Actually we haven't had a bathroom, but a bath in one end of the room separated by a glass partition. The bath itself was quite dirty, as well as the floor around it; the washbasin a little less.
The bed was big, but not very comfortable. No duvets (for a 4 star hotel!), but old and smelly blanquets. That was my general impression of the room - a bit icky.

On a positive note - the dinner was correct. The person doing the check-in, carrying the luggage to the room, serving the apero and then serving the dinner in the restaurant, was nice and friendly, even though obviously overloaded.

In a nutshell do not have big expectations and don't believe the misleading (and BTW very well done) web site. The value for the price it is definitely not worth! I consider myself lucky not to have taken one of the advertised packages - Romantic escape or Charm, luxury and beauty, as I've initially intended to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    36
    7
    16
    7
See reviews for
36
100
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this superb Chateau for one night and had dinner there. It was without a highlight of our trip to the Loire Valley. Our room was spacious and very well appointed with excellent wifi.
Our host made us feel like royalty and our dinner, while simple was very well presented.
We had a pre dinner apertif which was excellent and it set the tone for a wonderful evening.
Brealfast was again very well presented and a wide range of choice was offered.
As the area is vast and offers many other opportunities, its unlikely that we will return, but who knows, maybe we will and I am sure we will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Perhaps ring in advance or email
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the chateau. The rooms were huge, the bed comfy, gorgeous bathroom and fabulous food. Who could want more? Great location for exploring the Loire Valley if you have your own car. Cute little village to walk through with a nice little bakery serving the freshest pastries. When we arrived however the lady at the desk did not provide us much information about where/when things were in the hotel. We had no idea where the breakfast room was and I'm pretty sure we missed out on a few things. The staff were accommodating when asked though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife, daughter, and I had a magnificent one night stay at the chateau. Upon arrival in early afternoon, we were shown to the rooms by the friendly staff, who directed us where to find lunch. We spent the afternoon on the beautiful patio next to the room. We went to the sitting room for aperitif and then enjoyed an excellent meal at the chateau dining room. The food was delicious, and we enjoyed a bottle of local wine. The building, grounds, and room were all one could hope for. The room was warm and beautiful and incredibly decorated. It was like spending a night in the 18th Century. One of the most memorable stays of my life.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suite, which includes the Lafayette room. This was beautiful, with its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely one night stay at the chateau but were a bit disappointed on a couple od things.
1) we were the only guest in the chateau therefore we felt a bit out of place and while the welcome was fine we were under the impression that we were in the way
2) it was a cold evening and the heating was not on. So when taking a bath or even shower, it would have been good to at least have some towel gown especially when going from the bathroom to the bedroom
3) we booked the romantic evening which included the evening meal, while the food was good it was not outstanding and for the price was nothing special. We were supposed to have a selection of local wine during the meal and we were given one wine for the whole meal.

Overall while we loved the castle we do fell as we were the only guest we certainly did not get the experience we were looking for. However the room was lovely and the waiter in the evening was very welcoming.

Would I go back! I am not sure unless I knew that the chateau was a bit more full.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ariane122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Having been guests at the Chateau de Reignac several times before, we decided to have our joint 50th birthday celebration with a group of our closest friends here. It was the right choice - we all had a truly fantastic time and we cannot thank Erick, Francoise and all the staff enough for making our weekend so perfect. Francoise helped enormously with the preparation. Getting all 14 of us booked into our chosen rooms, the birthday cake and a river cruise to the nearby Château de Chenonceau. They made us all feel so welcome and at home in this enchanting place. All the rooms are unique and inviting and each has it’s own twist of french elegance. There is a relaxed and romantic atmosphere, making this chateau a wonderful place to get away from it all. We love it here, for us its the perfect getaway, and will hopefully be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenandJane1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful building. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. We had a very pleasant 2 nights. The staff were very friendly and always willing to assist.
The dinner was to be savoured. A delicious 3 course meal with local wine.
Very charming place and would stay again if I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reignac-sur-Indre
10.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
11.1 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
466 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
556 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
9.8 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Reignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Reignac

Property: Le Chateau de Reignac
Address: 19 rue Louis de Barberin, 37310 Reignac-sur-Indre, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Reignac-sur-Indre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reignac-sur-Indre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Reignac 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Val de Loire, this former property of marquis de Lafayette is a unique experience. Château de Reignac invites you to take part in the relaxed rhythm of the XVIIIth century French aristocraty lifestyle, full of refinement and carefreeness. Inside the château, along the alleys, near the chapel, one walks side by side with the memory of the famous figures who lived there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chateau de Reignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Reignac Hotel Reignac-Sur-Indre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing