We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old fashioned hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Roches Rouges
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Piana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A touch of ancient days rests in this hotel. A bit old fashioned, but With charm and a marnificent wiev from the terrace. A bit far to the beach, but interesting winding road down there if you are not scared of steep hills. Nice, clean bathroom.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the west side, for the wiev!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Roches Rouges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed there two nights a week ago. Beautiful location on top of the hill in Piana, a large terrace where one can enjoy a drink or two while watching the sun melt into the sea... Rooms are basic but clean. Staff was friendly and professional, always pleasant. Owner was also very nice and friendly at first and throughout stay. However, when I checked out, she was openly scolding her employees, not bothering to say Thank You or even Good-bye, just handing me the bill. Too bad, another person who does not worry about return business or lack thereof.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

2 couples in our 60s stayed 4 nights here on recommendation of friends. Despite email in January, there was no reply so we could not get sea-facing rooms. First impression of the rooms was fairly poor. Very hot on arrival, old furnishings, orange bedding, no refrig in the room, insufficient power points. But the rooms are huge, high ceilings, lots of space. Bathroom good. But the best part is not the rooms - it's the terrace and the dining room and Mme Mady!! This place is magic with sunset drinks on the terrace. The demi-pension dinner is fantastic every night. Mme Mady is gracious, informative (speaking French is a good idea) and very helpful. The area is sensational and we had an absolutely stunning 4 days including day trip by local bus into Ajaccio, boat trip around the coast from Porto and a trip to the nearby beach where Mady's son runs a wonderful restaurant serving delicious local seafood. The drawbacks of the rooms were soon forgotten.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is preferable but garden facing is OK too. It can get very hot during the day in s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Four of us were accommodated in a triple and double room adjoining with an ensuite shower room, clean and adequate for cyclists! Furnishings basic. Fabulous views from our second floor room overlooking the terrace and sea view. Downside was the noisy wooden floors which sounded like the floor above were moving house late in the evening when we were trying to sleep! Receptionist was happy to keep us waiting on checking in and more interested in her telephone conversation. Breakfast was simple, continental help yourself - we took our own muesli to supplement it. Ate out in Piana so couldn't comment on the restaurant. Piana village only 5 minute walk and plenty of choice for eating out.

Room Tip: Go for top floor so don't have noisy people above you!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My wife and I stayed for a short week in this place last july, returning to where we had spent two full holidays with our grand daughters a few years ago: The hotel is a 100 years (about) old building, with the most beautiful terrace on the island, looking west, where having a drink before dinner and just before sunset is a unique experience. Beakfast in the same surrounding (without the sunset of course). The dining room is magnificently situated, also facing west, and the food is more than good. Our room was in the ground floor, and very clean and comfortable. The manager of this place is Mady, known all over, absolutely charming, and gentle and helpful, running the place with an iron fist; the other personnel was young and smiling. And the hotel is at the doorstep of "Les Calanques de Piana" a Unesco world heritage.
The place is about 10 km from a marvelous beach where mady'son runs a lovely restaurant 30 meters from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed for a day and a night during the summer this year and we had a wonderful clean (very clean) top floor room with a sea view (obligatory).
A little noisy occasionally due to the classic wooden floors but nothing to keep one awake at night.
Romantic, nostalgic with fantastic views.
Beautiful terrace for pre-dinner aperatifs... the changing light across the bay was unforgettable.
This is a classic well-run hotel captures one's imagination of luxurious carefree years past.
Stay there for at least one night during your trip to Corsica.

Room Tip: Sea view and higher floors are a must to get full enjoyment.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed with a friend i July 2011. We were immediately stricken by the charm and the tranquility of the place. The views, ambience and food are its best assets. The rooms were not modern but more than good enough, bathroom clean and nice - but the communal areas including the terrasse is what makes the place stand out. Very good value, we paid the same as for a forgettable hotel in Porto nearby, Les Roches Rouges on the other side will stand out as one of our best memories from our 4 week stay in Corsica.
Will also recoomend most highly to go for a boat trip in the Scandola area close by. Porto was more of a disppointment du to very touristy streets etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasminkoriander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Scandola
Hotel Scandola
#1 of 5 in Piana
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Rosso
Capo Rosso
#2 of 5 in Piana
474 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capo d'Orto Hotel
Capo d'Orto Hotel
#1 of 15 in Porto
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Vista
Hotel Bella Vista
#3 of 15 in Porto
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Calanches Hotel
Les Calanches Hotel
#5 of 5 in Piana
43 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#4 of 15 in Porto
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Roches Rouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Roches Rouges

Address: route de Porto, 20115 Piana, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Piana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Piana
Price Range: £123 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Roches Rouges 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Les Roches Rouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Roches Rouges Piana
Les Roches Rouges Hotel
Hotel Les Roches Rouges Corsica/Piana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing