We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairy tale romance, relaxation and refreshment....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau De Rigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau De Rigny
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gray
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fairy tale romance, relaxation and refreshment....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Arrived in the late afternoon on a beautiful early spring day...overwhelmingly beautiful grounds, immaculately kept.... naturalized primroses, daffodils and violets peeked out of beds and the lawns...swans stretched their wings on the banks of the Saone and the sound of water running over the spillway was a melody to lull you to sleep....The room we had was at the top of the hotel showing the original beams of the 18th century architecture.... It had two double beds, two huge windows on either side of the house that opened wide, a room with separate toilet from other bathing room with a stand alone shower and HUGE two person tub....The room was immaculately clean! Breakfast was wonderful...I had to stay a bit longer then we had our room due to my husbands work schedule and there was no problem with my enjoying the grounds and reading in the sunroom and on the terrace.... Everyone was so very kind and helpful....This is a romantic retreat, a restful respite for a business man or a destination for pure relaxation...Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you don't mind carrying your suitcases (no elevator)...get the rooms at the top! Beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    55
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
84
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I suppose it was fortunate that our usual stopover (the Chateau de Germigney) was shut so we were forced to find a new watering hole!
We were very happily surprised from the email reservation (very efficient) to the room (very comfortable), we were in the Pavilion which meant we could open our french windows and walk our dog easily.
The Park and its lake are lovely bordering the imposing river Saone and it must be even more delightful in the summer with swimming pool and drinks outside.
Dinner was absolutely delicious with a very efficient and friendly service and a most "sympathique" owner who whilst keeping an eye on everything was fun to talk to. It was also good to see every table in the restaurant occupied.
Breakfast was very nice in the Conservatory lit up by the morning sun and more than adequate.
There is quite a lot to see around (as explained in the book provided) .
Our bonus was that it reduced our journey from Calais to our Swiss destination by a good hour!
So a very good find for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 beds to make sure they are large enough if you like king size. The owner advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank banquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overijse
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

perfect stay. We where here already years ago and enjoyed it.
This time not a superior room, but the standard, that was also spacious and had a
beautiful view on the Saone. Even when the weather is not so good, it is a
wonderful situation. Dinner ok. service friendly. No problem for our
king charles and no pay extra charge for the little dog. A romantic stop on our trip from Cannes to Brussels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ferminablauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

This a true Chateau hotel, very peaceful, impressive manor building, charming park, interior decoaration to match. Similarly the service is very correct and formal, however the manager is more forthcoming. Dinner was good, not exceptional,

I will not comment on the room, but for the right reasons. I had booked well in advance a single night standard "Caractere" room. Upon my check-in, because the hotel was so busy, I was upgraded, at same price, to a sort of magnificent Louis XV style suite, far more expensive normally. Obviously that would colour my impression too favourably, still a nice gesture on their part.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clermont l'herault
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We spent two nights at the Chateau at a wedding ceremony with lots of family and friends.
The weather was not kind to us but M.Maupin, the owner, and his staff made up for it with their kindness, friendliness and unfailing courtesy.

The Chateau is so beautiful and the grounds, on the banks of the Saone, are spectacular, with a lovely pool and tennis courts.
The restaurant was superb and the service impeccable.

The staff were ever present but not intrusive

A wonderful place for a tranquil break. Well worth a visit.

We stupidly left a wallet with passports and cash in the room when we left and M. Maupin was an absolute star. He replaced the cash with a cheque for security and arrange to courier the wallet to us the next day. Truly impressive service.
We will return!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davidbatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

This hotel is best experienced in summer when you can take full advantage of its beautiful setting. We have stayed twice, both times in late summer and found it peaceful, un-crowded and good value for money. The service is very French, a little formal at times, but you are staying in a chateau and this is part of the ambiance. Though difficult to find without a Sat-Nav (the directions can be hard to fathom) it's well worth the detour off the motorway as this charming 18th century house and with its well-tended parkland, pond and stream, is a haven of tranquillity.

The pretty restaurant offers a good menu choice with everything we tried being competently cooked and beautifully presented. Restaurant staff are welcoming and friendly and our waitress spoke a little Engish, but a knowledge of French food terms is useful as the menu is not translated into English.The restaurant is popular so it's best to book in advance.

As well as the lovely mature gardens bordered by the river Saone the hotel has an excellent outdoor swimming pool, set in a sun-trap terrace away from the hotel, with plenty of sunloungers and adequate shade if needed. There is also a tennis court tucked away in the trees.

Rooms vary in size and price - we stayed in a 'Chambre de Tradition' overlooking the park - clean, beautifully cool and quiet at night.The rooms in the chateau itself are quaint and quirky - don't expect spa-style bathrooms, flat screen tv's and bathrobes - the decor is charming but a little faded, the floors un-even, the antique furniture mis-matched but interesting while the ancient plumbing just about copes - this is somehow all part of the charm of the place, a little like stepping back in time. We would definitely reccommend this hotel if you want a peaceful country break.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panoramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Just back from night at Chateaux de Rigny. We received a present of a smartbox and chose this hotel based on hotel reviews. We stayed in room 28, the portraits room. It was very spacious and nicely decorated. Dinner was foie gras, filet de biche and great wine. The main chateaux house had a great open fire which set a lovely atmosphere. The staff were friendly and professional. Overall a great stay. I would recommend this for a nice relaxing getaway from lifes stress.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gray
18.4 mi away
Chateau de la Dame Blanche
10.2 mi away
Hotel Pinocchio
Hotel Pinocchio
#1 of 1 in Gy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
15.9 mi away
Le Bourguignon
Le Bourguignon
#1 of 3 in Beze
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sauvage
Hotel Le Sauvage
#1 of 34 in Besancon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel le Relais
Hotel le Relais
#2 of 3 in Beze
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Moulin A Epices
Le Moulin A Epices
#1 of 1 in Chargey Les Gray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Rigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Rigny

Property: Chateau De Rigny
Address: 70 rue des Epoux Blanchot | Rigny, near Besancon, 70100 Gray, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Haute-Saone > Gray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De Rigny 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau De Rigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Rigny Hotel Gray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing