We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
155
13
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
13
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very special place cathar castles chef tom wonderful place kind of place delightful experience set menu surrounding countryside whole experience fell in love out of this world in season swimming pool high ceilings hidden gem course meal house party
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed here for 10 nights in the summer and absolutely loved it!!

The L'Abbaye itself is totally authentic; beautiful rooms, gardens and grand rooms.
Dinner is served in the outdoor courtyard in summer which is a delight!
We totally spoiled ourselves and eat here for the 10 nights!! - Still on the diet! :)

The wonderful chef and his lovely wife Colleen spoiled us with such beautifully presented food (tasting menu) and such lovely service. They ensured no repeats of the menu which was so thoughtful of them!! All dishes were excellent - perfect portions - no skimping/ plenty of bread and a delicious and well priced wine menu!
There is also a more expensive wine list if you feel the need!

Peter and Katie were very welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as they possible could! The surrounding area is beautiful - plenty of outdoor activities.

All bedrooms are so perfectly proportioned with lovely commanding views over the valley and garden. Rooms have different bathroom offerings, so check with Katie in case you have special requirements. The bed itself was very comfortable and ensured an excellent nights sleep.

Breakfast is delightful on the patio or inside with plenty of offerings - delicious yogurt/fruit/cheese/local jam/bread and cereal. Plenty to choose from.

There is a serenity about this place - so calm and removed from life!
We cannot wait to return again!!
Thanks for a lovely stay and well done to all the team!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent! - the only difference is in the bathroom size. Some beautiful suites if you want to splash out!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank comfortfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

As soon as you enter this amazing place you start to feel the calm and peaceful ambiance and then you walk into the most beautiful dining room (it was a touch chilly for dining in the cloisters). Drinks on the terrace with fab views was also pretty good! The meal was superb and as each course arrived it just seemed to get better and better - although the foie gras course was one of our favourites, closely followed by the veal and spiced mussel veloute. The young waiter was just so good at what he did; attentive without being intrusive. We loved everything about this very special place and will return as soon as we can!
Thank you Peter and Katie for a special evening - you have everything just so right.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This is our 3rd trip to Chateau de Camon, although we were surprised to find that the last time was in 2008-had we really left it so long? The good new is that it really hasn't changed a bit. Peter and Katie are still the most wonderful, thoughtful hosts. Thomas is still doing an excellent job in the kitchen and the village and surrounding countryside offer a beauty and tranquility that it's hard to find anywhere else. The setting is a beautiful, old abbaye-chateau. Each room is individual and ageing in an elegant and ran tic manner-perfectly imperfect and 'lovelorn'. The grounds are peaceful, tranquil and the views from the terrace,(perfect for both breakfast and pre dinner drinks)are truly spectacular-soft hills and woods and the Pyrenees in the distance. Dinner is a wonderful 5 course affair and your hosts also have a lovely wine list featuring local specialities and some unusual grape combinations.
The atmosphere is so friendly and relaxed and we made some lovely new friends. This visit.
We definitely won't be leaving it so long next time!

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We were shown to our room quickly in the 1,000 year old monastery. A large room on the second floor that could be a suite if needed, it was comfortable with lovely views over the valley and complete bathroom. The Abbey is a chambres d'hote and as such can come with dinner as well as breakfast. Only one dinner menu is available and a maximum of two dozen or so guests can be served. The chef does an excellent job! Our pescadarian diet was accommodated with ease. The Abbey is owned and managed by a couple. Peter, the husband, was very, very helpful in suggesting a days sightseeing trip even providing maps and guide book and also at breakfast, as he always serves breakfast. The staff is service oriented and efficient. The only issue we found disturbing was the menagerie in the room; bat, squirrel, spiders.

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm your travel arrangements
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Evening dinner in the courtyard of this very special restaurant with friends. From beautiful aperos on the terrace to after dinner coffee just as I like it, I could not fault the service, food or gorgeous setting. Five wonderfully presented, delicious courses, all served discretely and with just the right amount of time in-between each dish. A memorable meal and worth every penny.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank nina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews