We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europa Park trip”
Review of Hotel am Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel am Park
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Rust
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Europa Park trip”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Rust - Germany on Tuesday 28th May 2014. We had never been there before and hadn't booked anywhere to stay. Our plans was to go to Europa Park on the Wednesday. We parked at the main entrance to the park & could see a hotel across the road. We looked at the reviews on here then went in. A room was available and a good price quoted for two nights for my Son & I. The room was very pleasant well decorated / furnished and clean. It was of very good size as well. The breakfast was very good and we went to the Italian restaurant within the hotel both evenings we didn't try the German restaurant. The hotel also have tickets available for the park so you don't have to Queue to get these plus also you don't have to pay to park. There were a couple of negatives 1/ The tv had loads of channels, but only channel in English - BBC world news. 2/ wifi had good signal, but every device needs a different code and you are forever having to type the code in as it drops off.
The positives definitely outweigh the negatives thought.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    64
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
96
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel am Park - when going to Europa Park this April. The hotel is actually closer to Europa Park than the park's car park! That's how convenient it is! The rooms are very basic but clean, mine was a little too warm but it was still ok. The breakfast is very basic, a few croissants and bread rolls, some cheese, ham, cereals, yoghurt, tinned fruits salad… nothing to write home about but it was fine.

My only bad experience was the hotel's Italian restaurant - if you decide to eat there - I highly recommend you reserve a table in advance! We only thought of it at 8.15pm after we were finished and were told we had to wait until 9 - fine, we hadn't reserved. So we turned up at 9, I had to wait about 5 minutes before one of the waiters would actually greet me then we were asked to wait at the lobby while they prepare a table. Then they forgot about us. 15 minutes later I went to complain as we had 4 young children etc etc - I got a "yes yes we're coming" type of reply. Eventually we got to eat around 10.15. The food was fine - you can't go wrong with a pizza but the restaurant was packed and they don't handle stress well. If traveling with young kids I recommend you eat in the park around 6.30 take a few last rides before it closes and get the kids back in time for bed! It's what we did the second night and that worked well for us.

Otherwise the hotel has plenty of parking spots and are very good about letting you leave the car there before and after check-in/check out.

It's a good spot and I will go back but If you want something fancy you could pay twice or three times the price and stay in one of the park's hotels. I'd still go back there next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Let's start with the conclusion right away: Ibis-like Hotel almost for the price of a Sofitel.

The staff obviously knows that you don't have much of a choice anyway if you really want to be right next to Europa Park's main entrance. As a result most of the hotel crew behave like Shakespeares's "highly fed and lowly taught" characters (google it, and you will know what I'm referring to). Exception was Mario, very kind and helpful :)

The room is on the small side, it's noisy, the bathroom is basic although functional, the beds are old and creaky, toilet paper is of the cheapest kind, breakfast reminds you of school canteen, and I really, really, REALLY don't want to know what creepy creatures live in the floor carpets.

Surprisingly the German Restaurant was ok, the Winerschnitzel was decent, and reasonably priced. Unbelievable.

Let's face it, a hotel like this one would never survive if it weren't for Europa Park 50 meters in front of it and people not able to afford 250EUR+ night "official" resort hotels (the Bell Rock is fantastic, but expensive...).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenibleMaisJuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rust hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed at the theme hotels at Europapark, but also independent hotels around other parks in Europe and the US. For Europapark would definitely both stay again and recommend. This is a typical no frills guest house type of establishment but the rooms are large and clean and we found it to be a much more sincere offering than the theme hotels. Despite other reviews, we found the staff could not do enough for us with the service being excellent for my wife and i but as importantly our daughter an dog, treating us as friends. Location is opposite the main entrance to the park and car parking is good.

Room Tip: Given proximity to park get a rear facing or third floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We went there for one night before Europapark. The hotel is looking much better from outside than inside. Well decorated, restaurant as well, but the service is really bad. It's obvious that the personnel is not looking to make your stay as much pleasant as possible. They give you the minimum of minimum... Just the boss is giving a good impression and welcome. But anyway, in this area, certainly one of the best plan found so far.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plzen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is very average comparing to price. The only deal is amazing place, which is directly in front of the entrance to the park. Furniture and carpets are little dirty, bathroom is old fashioned. We were satisfied with service and stuff, which was great. If you dont mind spending such price for hotel bellow average, this is the deal. If you want luxury place and you dont care about few hunders meters by walk, choose more luxury hotel. This is very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blechaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This place was an absolute pleasure. The Service was excellent. Accommodations outstanding. Truly lives up to its motto - "You arrive as a guest, but you leave as a friend." I highly recommend this hotel. Plus the surround town was so welcoming. Rust, Germany is difficult to get to. But once you are there, you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rust hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel "Colosseo" Europa-Park
0.6 mi away
Apollon Hotel
Apollon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Rust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Andante
Hotel Andante
#7 of 21 in Rust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kosel
Hotel Kosel
#8 of 21 in Rust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel "El Andaluz" Europa-Park
0.7 mi away
Hotel "Bell Rock" Europa-Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Park

Property: Hotel am Park
Address: Austr. 1, 77977 Rust, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Rust
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Rust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Park 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel am Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Park Germany/Rust

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing