We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely "panoply" (armored uniform)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Burg Wernberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Certificate of Excellence
ATHENS
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A lovely "panoply" (armored uniform)”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had to attend a serious technical meeting the other day in Weiden (North east Bavaria) and having had enough of gray country side hotels we headed to Burg Wernberg for the night before. It was a long drive from Frankfurt a.M. airport to Wernberg with a lot of bottlenecks ("Stau") on the A3 and it was just after darkness came that we arrived on the Burg. The hotel is actually an old castle of probably 13nth century with all external facade preserved as much as possible as it was looking initially. Interiors are of a completely contemporary design with a crew maybe of the highest level of friendliness alongside professionalism. Cleanliness was at its best and the room had enough space (not usually the case for other as such castle hotels) whereas temperature was as it should be for a nice thermal comfort feeling.
The double espresso I had at the ground level bar woke me enough to continue further with draught local beer. The best surprise still was their restaurant which actually is an added "long corridor" structure on the outside of the castle wall as a Wintergarten (allowing sun to heat restaurant space - when there is sunshine ofcourse).
I had a large exquisite green salad (with more than 6 different greeneries and a tender sauce) as a starter with a salmon-trout to follow. the fish fillet was grilled and settled on a lovely bed of spinach-rice! A very fresh fish fillet grilled properly to a juicy result! Along side we had a low priced local white wine (maybe of their own doing) that was absolutely a proper go-together with my fish. I washed everything down with a lemon ice cream and a small espresso.
Our sleep was very calm as the bed cover was not exaggerated (mainly the case in many Central /north European hotels).
Our breakfast was as nice as our dinner. I mostly liked the sour fresh yogurt that smoothens my insides nicely.
The things I loved more: the 2 small statues on each side of the big terrace door near hotel entrance, representing 2 sleeping kids (with finger in mouth!) The fresh yellow/red rose in front of the bath mirror.
Do not miss this hotel if around the area...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KONSTANTINOS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.

Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish




Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    37
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
215
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuried, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Well, if you know one star Michelin Restaurants, you already know what great experience you can expect, with 2 star you are never sure you might already get into this experimental cuisine which some might love, but not me. I like excellent food but it still needs to be recognizable as such. I was NOT disappointed, very refined but not exaggerated.

We had a 6 courses menu and with the many "greetings from the kitchen we might have been at a total of 10, I guess.. more then enough over 3 hours time. Each of the courses where fantastic with excellent meat or fish and refined sauces with surprising combinations of spices and tastes, sometime difficult to guess but always very pleasant.

You will need to reserve your table otherwise no chance, even if this location appears quit remote from "civilization".

The wine lovers will also appreciated as they can read through a full bible of wines, where you can even find white Burgundy "Montrachet" if your wallet allows you ;-)

All in all it was an excellent experience and form a price per value perspective it was overwhelming. The service was fast without being to pushy, the details around the services and food where intent, the size of the courses where just right, I would have loved a bit of an extra sauce served separably to have had more chances to occupy my sauce spoon more intensively.

The Chef, Thomas Kellermann, came to visit our table with a small surprise, every guest got his personal signed copy of the menu printout and my wife got an other small gift upon leaving.

All in all it was a great dining experience that you should go for if you appreciate food. The location is also fantastic in an old castle, the rooms are nice, well equipped and their is even a small sauna fitted into the catacombs of the castle.

Getting the luggage in the hotel can be a bit tedious, as their are not many parking lots close to the Hotel, but a page with an electrical golf cart is helping you for the transportation, you will need to be fit enough to walk the last 100m up to the reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BavariaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.

Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish




Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 216 Burg Wernberg

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: 2-3 hours from Munich/Frankfurt and in a castle

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Rent a car. The closest airport is probably Nurenburg, about 60 minutes away.

TYPE OF ROOM: Deluxe (1 level upgrade from standard and a huge difference)

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Mattress is OK and sheets and pillows are of excellent quality.

LIGHTING: A bit dark in the room with adequate lighting in the bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Corner shower enclosure (common in Europe). Good water pressure and consistent temperature.

TOILETRIES: High quality, name brand.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel common area and room is very clean

A/C: NO AC in room and didn’t need. Opening the windows was adequate (even in the summer).

STYLE OF ROOM: Nothing special… a bit boring for being in a castle.

COMMON AREA: Nice but

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was very quiet but not all of the morning sunlight could be blocked (thin curtains)

FOOD: 2 star Michelin restaurant… even the food at the wedding was amazing. Breakfast is 18E and had a better than average selection of items but wasn’t impressed.

TV/INTERNET: TV seemed a bit small for the room and didn’t use. Internet is at no charge and had a good speed.

SERVICE: Service as OK at best

SUMMARY: We had a very enjoyable time but having stayed in a few other castles, we actually preferred the other ones more.

Room Tip: Our standard room had tiny windows and was very small. The upgrade was a huge difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and your positive comment.

We are pleased to read about your experiences made at our hotel and that your whole family enjoyed the stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz. Personal service is indeed close to our heart and we try to surprise each guest every day anew. It is great to read, that we succeeded.

At this point, we would like to thank you once again and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel came with no disappointments! The people working here are incredibly responsive, friendly, and helpful - literally every person we encountered.

The setting and upkeep of the hotel is also excellent and doesn't feel cheesy or overdone. Everything is very clean and refreshed.

The breakfast/coffee space is lovely and it is great to relax there outside on nice day.

We ate at Kastelle - their nicer restaurant and it was DEFINITELY WORTH IT!! The setting is modern yet comfortable, the food is inventive, and the service is excellent. I would also recommend the wine pairings with each course as they were unique and really complemented each dish. Be sure to make a reservation in advance though as there was only one seating and there are only 7-9 tables.

The bed is a little hard, and the bathroom a little small, but overall the room (with complementary mini-bar) is very comfortable.

Note - they have a nice sauna but no other spa/fitness facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baygirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.

Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish



Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had booked a two night stay at Burg Wernberg. Having settled in we decided to extend our stay, we liked it there: friendly, welcoming and efficient staff; nice, airy room (very small bathroom though); the very special atmosphere in this well-maintained castle on the hill with expansive views of the surroundings. But unfortunately it was fully booked….

Both evenings we had dinner at the castle. The first evening at the 2* Michelin fine dining restaurant “Kastell”. It was a memorable evening. There were two menus and you could either have all the courses or just a few. And the food was truly fantastic! The staff was very professional as you would expect it in a place like this but at the same time also quite relaxed which we liked a lot. The second evening we ate at the “Konrads”, simpler fare, but still very good.

If you spend a weekend there, you may come across a number of wedding parties. Some staying there, some just coming to take pictures with the castle and its moat as a backdrop.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zurich_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm words regarding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear about your experiences made during your stay and we would like to thank you for your compliments for our infrastructure and our staff.

It is indeed our aim to spoil every single guest and to leave a long lasting memory.

Dear guest, we are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and remain in the meantime, with every good wish.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

just what a spot on place
staff 10/10
room 10/10
food 10/10
atfer along trip from the midlands ,just great !
thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was in Burg Wernberg with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed our stay. We booked the great day package, We got snowed in and it felt like a fairy tail castle, Room was spacious and had huge widows for a middle aged castle. We also had dinner at Kastell where the fish dishes were defintely the highlight. I enjoyed the food though I already had better and was somehow expecting more from a 2 star.
Bathroom had a huge bathtub so we drunk enjoyably our bootle of sparkling wine.
Service was very attentionate and let the moment feel very special,
A truly nice stay to relax from stress at work.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrbsqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wernberg
14.6 mi away
Landhotel Birkenhof
Landhotel Birkenhof
#1 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
151 reviews
9.5 mi away
Klassik Hotel am Tor
Klassik Hotel am Tor
#1 of 9 in Weiden
87 reviews
18.8 mi away
Panorama-Hotel am See
Panorama-Hotel am See
#2 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hotel Glutschaufel
Hotel Glutschaufel
#2 of 2 in Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz
25 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwarzen Baren
10.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Schwarzenfeld
Hotel Schloss Schwarzenfeld
#1 of 1 in Schwarzenfeld
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Wernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Wernberg

Property: Hotel Burg Wernberg
Address: Schlossberg 10, 92533 Wernberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Wernberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Burg Wernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in a historic castle - Enjoyment of the highest quality.Burg Wernberg – is an exclusive hotel in a historic castle with a first class gourmet restaurant featuring the excellent cuisine of Thomas Kellermann, all under one roof. Located in the heart of the Upper Palatinate region and easily accessible from Munich, Nuremberg, Regensburg and Prague, gourmets and connoisseurs can dine lavishly in the restaurant, reside like royalty, relax or celebrate sumptuous events – all exclusively within the carefully restored castle walls. From a romantic weekend for two to a fairytale dream wedding of any size – at Burg Wernberg nearly everything is possible. Come and discover just how special variety can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Burg Wernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing