We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burg Wernberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A pleasant stopover”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Burg Wernberg in September while on route to the airport in Munich. It was a very pleasant stopover. The hotel occupies a renovated 12th century castle, and while some of modern upgrades are a bit jarring, like the glass elevator, modern bar area and glass atrium breakfast/casual restaurant area, the rooms and interior hallways do convey a feeling - in a positive sense - that you are in a medieval castle. The room was charming, and, remarkably, actually had a screen on one window, pretty much a first in our European travels. The bathroom amenities were first rate. Our only minor criticism was setting of the casual restaurant (the gourmet restaurant was closed on the one evening we stayed at the hotel): it is in a long, narrow, glass enclosed "addition" grafted on to the side of the main building. It is quite sterile, particularly in comparison to the main restaurant which we glimpsed through closed doors.
The dinner service was a bit awkward, but the food was outstanding. If we are in the area again, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.

Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish



Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    39
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
220
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hmmmm. I am very conflicted about my stay at the Hotel Burg Wernberg. My sister and I were only there for one night.

We found the parking lot first and lugged our suitcases up the stairs to the driveway that leads to the hotel entrance.

The hotel is stunning. It has gorgeous grounds and the interior is furnished in a hip and spare way while still retaining small details that hint at its former life. Check in was somewhat smooth, but the clerk seemed a bit overwhelmed. She asked for us to settle in while she made copies of our passports and asked if we could pick them up later when we went to dinner.

The room was very pretty and we loved the half bottle of champagne.

When we stopped by the front desk to pick up our passports, she still had not made copies. However, she immediately made copies and returned them to us.

We had dinner in the Wintergarten which was nice. Again, we had have a few small lags in service (water/wine not being refilled as quickly as it should have been).

After dinner we headed to the bar. There was only one other patron in there and no staff. The candles weren't lit. It was odd. We had to ask the front desk if she could find someone to help us. Finally, our same waitress from the restaurant came up. But before helping us, she unloaded the dishwasher!! Eventually she took our order then disappeared again. We finally left without ever having been presented with a bill. When we checked out in the morning, we mentioned that we should have a bar charge but there was no notation of one.

I have to assume that since it was midweek it might have been understaffed. I would like to give this place another try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for taking your time to share your experiences with us.

Receiving feedback from our valued guests is most important for us, as it provides us vital information regarding the level of services we are offering.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind words and compliments towards our infrastructure.

On the other hand, you have mentioned in your feedback some facts, which went unfortunately not the way they should have and so we would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused. I assure you, that we will recapitulate every single issue in detail.

Nevertheless, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Wernberg-Koeblitz and we are already looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg.


Most sincerely,


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We came to Hotel Burg Wernberg, with our teenage twin sons, a few years ago. What we all remembered well was our gastronomic dinner in restaurant Kastell.
So, while in Bavaria again last month, we decided (as a couple this time) to return for 2 nights. Although the Chef is no longer there, the new Grand Chef Relais & Châteaux, Thomas Kellermann, is also excellent. We had another meal in the Konrads and it was very good.
We were upgraded to the 'Grafensuite'. The suite itself is a 'conversation piece'... stars on the ceiling at night.. At first you wonder if you had one glass of wine too many..:)
There were 2 separate small rooms and fortunately we had sunny days because, at the end of the afternoon, it is dark - and the furniture is also dark - and there is not enough lighting.
There is no air conditioning and it was hot, especially during the night. We could open the windows but it was still not comfortable for sleeping. The bathroom was modern, large, bright and well appointed.
We asked to visit the small chapel used for weddings and it was very beautiful!
Service was excellent. My husband forgot one of his favorite shirts and reading glasses - they quickly returned them to our final destination.
The village is very nice to visit and also a beautiful city nearby Nab burg (city with tradition and charm indeed.)

Room Tip: If you go during a hot season, discuss with them which room you would be more comfortable in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.
Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish



Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife, 16 year old son and I spent two nights in the Hotel Burg Wernberg in June, 2013. I recommend the hotel.

We had two rooms – the wife and I shared the Herzoginsuite, and our son had a standard room with a double bed. The Herzoginsuite was delightful, with plenty of comfortable seating in the living room, and windows on three sides. The lighting was good – one could easily read from two or three seating locations, and the bedside lighting was also good.

One note for those travelling with small children. While the Herzoginsuite has a separate areas for the bed and living space, it is all really one large room. So, unlike a true suite, there is no door separating the living space from the bedroom. That used to annoy me when we shared a suite with our son when he was younger, so beware.

Our son’s standard room, while small, was more than sufficient for a single guest.

We all found our bedding comfortable, and the linens were first class.

What made the Burg Wernberg really stand out for me was the service from the front desk. We only had one full day in the area, and I wanted to take a hike. Unfortunately, I could find no English language guides to the area. No problem. When I mentioned our interest to the front desk, the clerk immediately went to work and by the time our dinner was finished had printed out hiking maps for several options, and had produced a German language hiking guide (with excellent maps) tabbed with her recommendations for a hike. Bravo. The guide (and her recommendations) greatly enhanced the next day, when we enjoyed a fabulous 5 hour hike in the vicinity.

Another clerk came up with recommendations for activities after the hike ended – which resulted in some useful souvenir shopping for the wife. Hats off to the front desk, and to management for training the staff so well.

We enjoyed a meal in the courtyard the first night (the informal restaurant known as Konrads). The food was very good, and the atmosphere charming. Our second night we ate at Kastell, and had a memorable meal. I strongly recommend both restaurants.

A couple cautions:

First, the hotel has no air conditioning. This was the only hotel I booked during our 18 day stay in Germany that didn’t. Naturally, during the two days we were at Burg Wernberg the temperature was blazing hot – low 90’s (32-33 C)(the only time on our trip with such weather). So, our rooms were not as comfortable as I would have liked, although the Herzoginsuite benefitted from a very delightful cross draft once the sun set. Our poor son, whose room faced the setting sun, more or less sweltered all night. I can’t fault the hotel for this, but beware if you are travelling in the Summer.

Second, the hotel has a separate meeting facility adjacent to the castle. When there is a meeting, the large tables of meeting guests can overwhelm the restaurant staff. Our service at dinner the first night was a little slower than I think the hotel would have liked. It wasn’t a big problem, but I can imagine someone in a hurry being annoyed by it.

All said, though, I’d gladly come back to the Burg Wernberg. Just not in hot weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.
Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.
Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish



Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We just spent a couple of wonderful nights at this castle hotel which is about a 40 minute drive from Regensburg and just off a highway. The hotel is lovely - modern where it counts but still maintaining its medieval character. It was great just to explore the castle's nooks and crannies including just chilling in the library. The hotel is child friendly - with small touches like eg providing a small size robe for our daughter (it was difficult to persuade her that she couldn't wear it at all times) and a baby changing station even stocked with nappies. Would be fair to say that other guests were possibly not as relaxed to have a child in the restaurant even though our child is pretty good. Only slight quibble is that it would have been good to have had one or two child friendly options in the secondary hotel restaurant - but we managed to persuade our child that spatchcock was just chicken. The breakfast is sensational - with a fabulous and inventive buffet as well as hot options a la carte included in the price. Unforgettable experience that we will hopefully repeat in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for giving such a positive feedback.

In this context we would like to thank you as well for your compliments regarding our guest service and for our breakfast offer.

We would like to thank you once again for you warm words and for your stay at the Hotel Burg Wernebrg .

All of us, are already today looking forward welcoming you back in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

In the meantime, we are sending you the best wishes,



Yours


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I attended a wedding party there, so we used virtually every facility of the hotel. It was a great experience in a great setting, we had delicious food and the service was always effective and friendly. Beautiful castle!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel15667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg .


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

There are not enough great things to say about this hotel. The castle is stunning and the rooms beautiful. The staff takes great care of you from the time you check in until the time you check out. Ulte (sic?) at the front desk was incredible... As was everyone else. The rooms were spacious (for Europe) and quite comfortable. Bathroom was nice also. Nice places to sit outside and have a glass of wine.. Breakfast was also good although not included with the room price. Would definitely recommend for a weekend getaway..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroatiaSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm words regarding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear about your experiences made during your stay and we would like to thank you for your compliments for our infrastructure and our staff.

It is indeed our aim to spoil every single guest and to leave a long lasting memory.

Dear guest, we are looking forward welcoming you back at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and remain in the meantime, with every good wish.


Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wernberg
14.6 mi away
Landhotel Birkenhof
Landhotel Birkenhof
#1 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
159 reviews
19.8 mi away
Resort Die Wutzschleife
18.8 mi away
Panorama-Hotel am See
Panorama-Hotel am See
#2 of 3 in Neunburg vorm Wald
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hotel Brunner
Hotel Brunner
#1 of 7 in Amberg
73 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Glutschaufel
Hotel Glutschaufel
#2 of 2 in Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz
25 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwarzen Baren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Wernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Wernberg

Property: Hotel Burg Wernberg
Address: Schlossberg 10, 92533 Wernberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Wernberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wernberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Burg Wernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in a historic castle - Enjoyment of the highest quality.Burg Wernberg – is an exclusive hotel in a historic castle with a first class gourmet restaurant featuring the excellent cuisine of Thomas Kellermann, all under one roof. Located in the heart of the Upper Palatinate region and easily accessible from Munich, Nuremberg, Regensburg and Prague, gourmets and connoisseurs can dine lavishly in the restaurant, reside like royalty, relax or celebrate sumptuous events – all exclusively within the carefully restored castle walls. From a romantic weekend for two to a fairytale dream wedding of any size – at Burg Wernberg nearly everything is possible. Come and discover just how special variety can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Burg Wernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing