We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week of hell at the Sivila hotel”
Review of Sivila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sivila Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Been back just over a week from probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in abroad! Have read all the recent reviews and agree with them all. Food bad, certainly not up to the expected standard of the 3*+ we were told it was, never heard of the term "all-inclusive light", think they just made it up to make extra money from the guests! We arrived in the early hours of the morning on Sunday 15th July, and were very impressed with the big spacious light and airy reception, had a drink at the bar (which we had to pay for), then went to our room- what a dump!! We were on the ground floor, room 7. Big room, 3 single beds for 2 of us,with a fridge that actually worked, bathroom looked like a "before refurbishment" one, with a tatty shower curtain like one you can buy from a £1 shop. When we arrived there were ants all over the room and bathroom, even crawling over the sheets and pillows- yuck!! Had to do a mass killing spree even before I dared to get into bed! Tried to have a shower, but found the water was freezing cold. Actually, our shower was almost always cold, except sometimes there was warm water for about an hour between 5.30-6.30 in the evening. One evening there was no hot water at all! We subsequently found out that the room next door had hot water all the time, so how does that work?? Outside our room we had a small table with 2 chairs, but near to that there was a permanent pool of green stagnant water, which we were told was from the air conditioning unit in the rooms above us. It made the marble slabs outside our room very slippery, but this water was never brushed away so just got bigger each day. The open air room we ate all our meals in was not nice, and was open to all the flies, and when the metal covers over the food containers were removed so you could help yourself (think of school dinners) often the flies swooped onto the food. More yuck! Table cloths were only wiped down after meals too, no nice clean white cloths replaced for the next meal. One evening meal, the only dessert was a tray full of red apples on individual saucers, not very inviting. The usual waitress was very helpful and cheerful, how she remained happy, I will never know! We had a couple of so called "power cuts" in the afternoons when we had tea/coffee and cakes, meaning there were no drinks from the dispensers behind the pool bar, or hot drinks either. Amazingly, the electricity came back in time for the dinner though! Talking of electricity... the man who did all the DIY came to replace a light bulb in the outside light next to our room, I told him our light wasn't working either. He took the lampshade off and discovered no bulb there. Aha he said, went to replace the bulb with a new one, and nearly electrocuted himself! A big bang, his screwdriver flew out of his hand, and he almost fell off the chair!! This fused all the lights in the nearby rooms, so we decided not to try to replace the bulb again. Ther had been a fire in one of the rooms a few days before we arrived, and I'm not surprised as the electrics were a death trap!!
The pool was ok, but nowhere near enough sunbeds for the guests, these were not stacked up and the area hosed down at the end of the day, subsequently, people left towels overnight on "their" beds, meaning some always got a bed, and others never did. I thoght this practice was reserved for the Germans, but we were all from GB I think. One night someone apparently took all of the towels off the beds and put them in a pile somewhere- obviously had had enough of this mean-spiritedness regarding the sunbed exclusive rights some people displayed.
The area around the hotel was also very run down, and had the air of a village that had definitely seen better days. A supermarket opposite was boarded up, as were other places nearby. You were really stuck in the middle of nowhere, and the little local train only ran on 1 night whilst we were there, and we were told it was broken. There was a lovely cafe opposite the sea, and we had breakfast there 1 morning just to have a change from the usual mini frankfurters and flat omelettes and pale beans that were offered every day! However, it was a good 15 min walk to the sea, and in the blazing 50*c heat, not very pleasant. I believe the walk to the bus stop the other way was even further, so we hired a car for 4 days as I have limited mobility (had a knee replaced in March and am waiting for the other one in a few months), so felt there was no option but to do that, which also meant we could get away from the terrible hotel! We saw most of Rhodes in 3 days, a beautiful island, esp on the west coast, with some amazing beaches (most were shingle) and beautiful blue,calm, warm water to swim in.
We decided to leave Sivila Hotel 2 days before we were due to come home, and joined a couple of others at the Lutania Hotel in Kolympia nearby. Wow- what a difference!! Real 4* luxury, proper all-inclusive food and drinks, beautiful meals and loads of choice too. They charged only 130 euros for 1 night and 4 meals, and an extra 24 euros to keep our room until 7pm. The manager actually apologised for our experience at the Sivila, and offered a discount for next year with them if we wanted to return. We also saw some local Greek dancers too- the 1st bit of entertainment we had had all week!
On the positive side, all the other guests were very friendly at the Sivila, although our main topic of conversation was undoubtedly our bad shared experiences there! We were told it used to be an old people's home, but the management had quite clearly tried to turn it into a money-making scheme on the lowest possible budget, with poor accomodation and food. We paid almost £900 for our holiday too, not exactly cheap, so we should have had a better experience than we did.
I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone else, unless a total overhaul was done.
Sorry guys, left quite a bitter taste in the mouth this one! Oh yes, forgot to mention that I also got eaten alive by the mosquitos and had to go twice to the pharmacy to get expensive lotions to ease the pain and itching.The scars have only just gone too!

Room Tip: Don't think there were any good rooms in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank jayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

when booking a break for my 14yr old daughter and myself the all inclusive choice was limited as we booked with only a couple of weeks to go.We opted for the Sivila in Afandou which as it turned out was all inclusive light, this was ok for us but other guests were not happy with this arrangement, many saying that it was not mentioned in information they had read.
On arrival to the hotel we had booked an up graded room!! with twin beds and a garden view but unfortunately we had a double bed and a view over the carpark and above the outside veranda where people gathered at night to drink(QUITE LATE). When we realised this on arrival we asked to be moved but they said they were full and to return in the morning and they would see if they could move us, which they did do but we still felt a little put out.
The rooms were basic but clean as was the rest of the hotel and pool. Food was exceptable with some days better than others, a few more desserts would have been welcomed but service was with a smile especially by the lady who served us our drinks by the pool all day.
The hotel is very isolated with the village of Afandou being a 10-15 minute walk and Kolumbia a 45minute walk,although you can use taxis. The beach is a 5-10 minute walk but we found this a little disapointing as it had shingle and pebbles by us although i believe it may have been better further up.
There is no entertainment laid on at the hotel ,so this could do with some improvement especially if they want to attract families.
A visit to the old town of Rhodes i would reccomend especially if you wish to do a little gift shopping and a meal by the harbour to finish.
Our holiday was made extra special and enjoyable by the new friends we met so thankyou to Karen,megan,Lindsey,Ros,Jamie,Emily and their grandparents .
Would i reccomend this to anyone probably not but i would not advise anyone not to go either,the only consolation forus was that we did not go to the golf view hotel or the Rodos hotel as they looked!!! worse when we collected people on the way home.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Me and my friend stopped at the Sivilla for a week in July. The whole experience was awful...we were checked in at 3am by a very unfriendly man. Air-con was an additional charge of €56.00, however when booking this was not in any of the small print, whilst there we had a heatwave...53* and no air-con is not a pleasants night sleep. We had ants invade the room on two occasions, once in the bedroom and once in the bathroom, when we asked for the room to be sprayed the second time we were told that ants are normal in Greece and we had nothing to worry about, when we insisted that they did something about it we were told it was perfectly normal for ants to be living in the bathroom and she didnt see it as a hygiene problem, even though they were crawling in our toothbrushes. The food...well if you are wanting to loose weight this is the place to go, we survived off lettuce and feta cheese for 7 days, in the morning there was a choice of breakfast including warm yoghurt, bread with flys buzzing around for toast (1 toaster for the whole hotel...and even that didnt work properly), mini hot dog sauasages were sometimes on offer...dripping in oil and occasionally we had the privaledge of fresh fruit. Lunch and Dinner were equally as discusting, food was not even presented nice, watery smash potatoe slopped in a silver tin with flies buzzing around is not my idea of a holiday dinner...no basic food such as chips on offer either. Drinks are not all inclusive, watered down warm wine and watererd down local beer was on offer at lunch and dinner then served at the bar until 10.30pm, no spiris are included in all inclusive and are overly priced. Soft drinks include Rola Cola and Fizzy watered down orangeade...yuk! There was a powercut...twice whilst we were there too so warm water was on offer all day! There was no entertainment at night...just the same 15 songs played over and over again. There is a small bug fested play area on offer to the children but this is away from the bar and not ideal for the children to play in alone. The whole hotel is just appauling and during our stay we were not the only people to comment on it, one couple actually paid to move hotels for their 2nd week. When we booked it was stated that the beach was a ten minute walk away...well yes it is but it is a pebble beach with no tourists, eary and secluded. It also said town was a short walk away...incorrect, we paid €10 in a taxi to get into Afandou Centre. We spent over €200 in taxis as there is nothing in walking distance, one night we walked down the beach and when we walked home it was dark...we ran the whole way home as there are no street lights or pathments. We were also told there was a free mini train - this was out of order and there was no alternative offered. No rep visited the hotel throughout our whole stay. How this place gets away with it I dont know, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would not return if someone paid me too. Hurrendous!!

...on the plus side there were some friendly helpful staff. The handy-man (romanian happy chappy) was extremely helpful and couldnt do enough for us and also the bar man in the day round the pool was friendly and helpful. And the cleaners...they did a good job too!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank GracePattinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

just come back from one week stay at silvia, i have exactly the same to stay as bedlum beds, the staff where greedy and made rules up as they went along,the food was like school dinners you end up spending twice as much money as i refused to eat any food after the second day i physically felt sick! when challenged the hotel about the inclusive drinks as we had an intinery from our tour agent stating what we have been sold they rufused to beleive that we had been given this and shoved us away from the reception, the lady at the pool bar and housekeeping staff where fab, if you do end up here take some cds as they are in desperate need to new ones after playing the same ones day in day out with terrible language on, ( not suitable for children) the pool was very big but had to be up early for the beds as they would be gone by 8am, the weather was great and thats all they had going for them, no entertainement and no greek night as promised.

the little village of afandou was perfect about 25 minute walk and have everything you would need, recommend the four seasons restaurant, mikes bar and people bar in the square and sergios, we eat and when there most days and even used one of the 2* hotels pool with people we met and that hotel would blow the sivila out of the water and its a 2*.

Would also recomend taking the bus / train to falaraki and rhodes town. Aslo be warned that the government tend to turn the electricity off sometimes and this could last up to 30 minutes, whilst we were having food we where sat in darkness while the staff run around for candles.

overall Waste of money and will be sour of this holiday for a while.

On journey home left us feeling exhausted as we felt everything was a battle and couldnt wait to get home, if this hotel had self catering option but was in a built up area not in the middle of no where then it would be great, has a lot of potential but nothing is being done.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank saml20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I recently stayed for a few days at the Sivila, and had a wonderful time! The internet site I used for my booking stated that the hotel was on a LIGHT all inclusive basis, and specified that local beer/wine was served with meals and in the bar from 7 - 10.30pm free of charge. Those were the only limitations, and everything else was free. I feel that if other travellers had been provided the correct information about the basis of their accommodation, it would have been less disappointing for many of the people who have written reviews. The food was good and varied with plenty of choice at each meal, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Everywhere that I saw was spotless. The air conditioning charge was payable locally (again, not always made clear in the description of the hotel) but was reasonable, as I heard from other holidaymakers that it was up to 10 euros per night in other hotels. The hotel is in a relaxing area, only 10 minutes stroll to the beach, and there are a couple of lovely tavernas there. Sadly, because the local village "road train" was not running, it did mean that a visit to the village was a 25 minute walk away, but still worth the effort if you want to see Afandou.

I would happily return to the Sivila and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We did book last minute, at a discounted price. So we didn't expect to get luxury. However as it turned out we didn't get as good a value holiday as we expected.

The Hotel actually has a great deal of potential, and most of the staff are brilliant. However it appears that most of the problems seem to be down to poor management and greedy owners.

For a smaller hotel the facilities are fine, and the rooms are ok. The towels and sheets are changed daily, and the cleaners are excellent. Although my wife spilled some makeup on a couple of towels by accident. The manager then demanded 25 euros to replace what he described as brand new towels. Well there is no way they were worth 25 euros for one hand, and one bath towel. And when I challenged him, he admitted that they weren't new, but were bought for the begining of the season. So I suggested that he try washing them, and then if the makeup didn't come out, that I would want to see an invoice for the actual cost (I actually supply hotels, and I know that they don't pay much for towels). What they should have done is made us aware that if the makeup didn't was out, that we may have to pay towards the cost, rather than having a row with guests in the reception. I can only assume that the makeup did wash out, as we didn't hear from the manager again, not even an apology for his behaviour.

Now on to the food. It was actually worse than I remember school dinners being. There was very little choice, so it was a case of select what was edible. On some days this wasn't much. And before any of you think that I am one of those people who goes abroad, and wants English food, that couldn't be more wrong. When I go abroad I want to eat traditional local food, not cheap, low quality slop. It's as if they want the guests to eat out, so they put them off.

Another word of warning if you decide to stay at the Sivila. If you turn up within 20 minutes of the meal time finishing, there will be very little left. And there is no chance of going up for a second helping, as they clear it away bang on the end of the meal time.

There are no all inclusive snacks available. The drinks are only available at certain times, and there is only beer wine and soft drinks on the all inclusive. Tea and coffee is only available at breakfast, and for an hour or so, mid afternoon. There are no spirits available on all inclusive (not even local drinks).

The pool doesn't seem to be very busy, but this is probably because most people go out, rather than stay at the hotel as many people do with all inclusive. Although there aren't anywhere near enough sunbeds for the few people who are there.

As other people have said, they charge 56 euros per week for air conditioning. And you really do need it. And they charge 50 euros per week for wifi.

It seems that the owners of the hotel spend as little money as possible, and then try and get more money out of you any way they can.

On a good note, the towns of Kalymbia (I think that's how you spell it), Afandou, and Falaraki, are only a short taxi ride away. And the very long (and quiet) Afandou beach is about 15 minutes walk away. But there is nothing else near the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Deegan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hi,just come back yesterday from one week stay at Sivila in Afandou a trip for myself and my 13 year old daughter. The transfer bus drops us off at the end of the road, why it cant drive up the road and drop us in front of the hotel is a mystery.I ran up the road as i wanted to get checked in first so i get the best room. The lobby is pretty and we checked in without a problem and quickly. We were on the first floor overloking the pool. The room was clean but old and tatty to be fair. The bed was comfy,i had requested 2 singles but got a double. The pillows were lumpy. There was a socket high up on the wall, i later understood that is where at one time a tv must have been,no longer a tv in our room.We did however have a large fridge, i dont think it needs to be that big really, i wasnt planning a huge shopping spree andwe had a two ring cooker and sink in the room. a cooker but no pans, ketttle or knives or forks, whats the point really. Had i had a pan i could have cooked on the hob actually from the bed the room was that small. The picture they show on the internet of the pretty bedroom was obvouisly taken at another hotel as no one knew anyone who had seen the 'special' room. The shower curtian did nothing to stop the water going all over the bathroom floor, may as well been a wet room. Maid came most days i think and made bed and towels. Dogs barking in the early hours driving you nuts and one night im sure the fire alarm went off, but i couldnt be bothered to move i was sleepy from the dogs keeping me awake and figured that if there was a real fire i could get down from the balcony no bother. The staff were all nice, the soft drinks in the main bar were nasty, selection of drinks very poor for all inclusive,beer,wine or soft drinks only.the food was not too bad to be honest, a larger selection would have been nice, it would have taken longer than a week for me to starve there for sure.Lots of pork but they could not seem to fry any for breakfast in the morning. Beans at breakfast terrible, hot dog sausages and egg.Feta cheese and salad available all the time. The breakfast was indeed the worst meal of the day. One tiny 2 slice toaster for the whole hotel to use, and even then it was crap. No entertainment at all on in the eveing. The pool was clean and nice temperature. The mini train only ran a couple of nights but to be fair this is not the hotels fault, Afandou town run this and the reason it does not run all the time is they cant get a full time driver, so if your looking for a summer job head on out and drive the train, they are desperate. Nowt to do in Afandou and a good 25 min walk away. Kolumbia was a nice town and worth a visit but again 50 mins walk or taxi for around 10 euro, take the taxi option ! Catch a bus from Afandou to Rhodes for a couple of euro, that was a nice night out. It would have been a poor holiday and very boring had we not met some lovely people, special hello to Elaine and her pretty daughter Hope, and not fogetting Ros, your funny man and lovely Linz, you all made our holiday very special.I wont ever forget the ladybird and i really do think it is not as hot today as yesterday xxx Keep in touch girls. xxx to conclude, would i go back here, no i would not, would i reccomend it, no i would not.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
1 mi away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
0.5 mi away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.7 mi away
Afandou Sky Hotel
Afandou Sky Hotel
#12 of 18 in Afandou
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
147 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grecian Fantasia Resort
Grecian Fantasia Resort
#54 of 70 in Faliraki
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivila Hotel

Address: Afandou Beach, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: £26 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sivila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a total of 55 comfortable rooms, which can accommodate between 2 and 4 people (depending on the type of room booked). Fridges are available on request (with a local charge) and all the rooms have a telephone, air-conditioning (with a local charge), daily house-keeping and either a private balcony or shared terrace.Please note that free air conditioning is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sivila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivila Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing