We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”
Review of Sivila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sivila Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I went in September we had a late flight so arrived early hrs of the morning ,we got dropped of at the hotel and the receptionists was very pleasant booked us in nice and quick and told us were are room was just before we went to go up stairs he went out the back and brought us some sandwiches which the kitchen had made us as the new we was coming in on a late flight ,now that's what I call service . Ok for the hotel the rooms are clean and tidy ,the restaurant is out side self service we found something to eat every night even though overs were moaning about the food but as we said if you want 5stars food don't go to a 3 star hotel,and yes there are cats about but that's a foreign country for you they do there best to keep them out but we all know cats if they want in they will ,they do ask you not to feed them to encourage them but there's always people that do .the pool is always cleaned in the morning and in the evening and around the pool is clean and tidy the pool bar is open between 10am and 5pm and they serve tea and coffee with these great biscuits they make in the afternoon . The beech well that's about a 10 minute walk out the hotel there's nothing down there other than loungers that you have to pay for I was quite happy with my towel .there are a few restaurants along that road but couldn't tell you what there like . There's a little shop on site that you can get ice creams bottles of drink and other bits glasses towels etc. So basically What I'm saying is don't book this hotel if you want a 5 stars we had a great time and will be going back .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife towards the end of the summer season and can honestly say we had a fantastic time the hotel was lovely the room that we had was spotless very clean with good air con and nice warm or cool shower and the bed very comfy with linen and towel Change every day.the pool area very nice and spacious with a very good choice of sunbeds and parasols with nice clean pool to cool off in the very warm agean sun and pool bar with an excellent choice of drinks menu and cool cocktails and varied choice of snacks . The restaurant was nice and comfortable with nice cool air con and the food excellent with a very good varied menu to suit every palate. Just a short stroll from the main beach and many bars and restaurants that afandou has to offer . And the staff and management were exellent nothing was too much trouble and they did everything to make our stay here a fabulous one will definitely be back in 2014 for sure and hopefully for many years to come .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iandavidbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had a lovely stay at this friendly hotel,all areas of the hotel was clean & tidy,5* friendly service,in a good location,within easy access for the resort center & other parts of the island,would go back and stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Minimac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

went here a while ago - but my husband and I still laugh about it now. We can actually laugh about it after so long!

Middle of nowhere, filthy hotel inside and out. pool awful, cats everywhere, the same food constantly, cockroaches - spend a little more and go somewhere else

the management are sneaky and I saw them shouting at people who dared to complain at the top of their voices!

dont let the new modern reception deceive you. was a care home previously and things are still dying there.

Room Tip: dont go in first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jilly123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotrillis, Executive Chief at Sivila Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We take very seriously, all the complains has to do with our hotel. We are always working, to make our servises better and better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly, I am not one to moan and are merely offering some facts from my family holiday (2A+2C) August 2013, hope this will assist those whom are considering a stay at the Sivila.
Hotel: Generaly on appearance the hotel looks clean & tidy, the reception area looks very modern and gives a good first impression. However, our room was outdated and need of a good scrub out / makeover, the stained doors / mirror was never cleaned during our stay, squashed mozzi's on the walls & ceilings from previous visitors, light shade full of dead fly's, etc..mosquito's a big problem particularly around the main bar area, one fellow holiday maker was quite bad with 18 bites just on one leg. Air con is a neccessity particularly in August and was a rip off at 98 euro's for the two weeks. No one ever cleaned the poolside tables, removed the full ashtrays left by others of a night. We constantly had to go to reception for toilet rolls and clean towels, also it took a week of daily moaning before we got a TV as the reception kept advising the man was on route to fix ours. so the kids could at least watch something.
Entertainment: During our 2 week stay their was one nights entertainment, a greek night with some greek dancers, strangely this coinsided with one of the staff / relatives birthday.
Staff: generally nice people, however I got the impression they would only do the minimum what they got paid too.
Food & Drink: My children eat nothing except when chips or pasta was available, I tried most things but ended up eating out most of the time, the food was repetitious and bland, the desert was water melon every day except our last when some scabby peaches were available. The drinks was fine no problems here.
Locality: Middle of nowhere, 15 minute walk to the stoney beach and 25 minute to the the town of Afondu. The local train which cost 1.80 euro's each was broken for our second week, we therefore hired a car to save on Taxi fares, this give us a bit more freedom from the isolation and subsequently made our holiday.
In Summary: This hotel would probably suit laid back people on a tight budget who are happy to laze around the pool / bar day & night, certainly nothing to enterain families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DanielleB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Me and my friend got back from this hotel this morning and we were so disappointed!! the 1st bedroom we had was awful the shower was dirty so complained and got moved to another room but wasn't much better, beds were ok but hard and the pillows were lumpy. The food was rank! so had to order pizza or go in to faliraki town to eat, limited drinks in the all inclusive no local spirits so if you wanted vodka, Bacardi and other spirits you had to pay! No entertainment like it says they only have it if hotel is fully booked and you have to ask for it. Had to pay 49 euro for air con for the week and 25 euro for Wi-Fi. Its in the middle of nowhere so you have to get taxi to most places, taxi price in the hotel to faliraki said 10 euro but taxi drivers charged 12-15euros.
Worst hotel I've ever been to and would rather stay in a premier inn!!!!! But apart from all that me and my friend had a lovely and relaxing holiday and drank lots of beer. The bar staff were lovely and friendly, just a shame it wasn't in a better hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

me and my boyfriend recently returned back to the uk from stopping here for ten nights. After arriving at the hotel we got put into a room that was more like a box room. But after moving rooms after an unrelated incident the room was much better as was cleaned daily by a friendly maid. The bathroom doesn't have a proper shower and floods the whole room, but wasn't a problem.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly especially the bar man and the women who works in the daytime for breakfast and lunch service. However, the blonde women who occasionally turns up at reception is very unfriendly and my advice is to stay away from her.
The food was the biggest disappointment, very bland and not a lot of choice compared to other all inclusive hotels i have stayed in therefore eating out is recommend. The restaurant is the same outdoor restaurant for all deals including dinner where you have to scrape your own plates after the meal. And the drinks on offer is restricted to what you can have fine if you like ouzo,brandy or larger. Mozzys are a huge problem at one point i counted 33 on me so take spray,cream etc

Rhodes is a lovely island with alot of things to see and do and i would recommenced getting a car as i have said the hotel was used mostly as a bed for the night.

.

Room Tip: upgrade to a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank abi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
2.4 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#17 of 34 in Kolimbia
682 reviews
2.3 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lutania Beach
Lutania Beach
#19 of 34 in Kolimbia
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Niriides Hotel
Niriides Hotel
#22 of 34 in Kolimbia
197 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivila Hotel

Address: Afandou Beach, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: £26 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sivila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a total of 55 comfortable rooms, which can accommodate between 2 and 4 people (depending on the type of room booked). Fridges are available on request (with a local charge) and all the rooms have a telephone, air-conditioning (with a local charge), daily house-keeping and either a private balcony or shared terrace.Please note that free air conditioning is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sivila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivila Hotel Rhodes/Afandou, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing